Posting your rating...
Cadenhead's Classic rum

Cadenhead's Classic

United Kingdom | Aged

6.8/10
14 ratings
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
2
3
1
4
3

Rate Cadenhead's Classic

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

14 Cadenhead's Classic ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Frederick Lussier from Canada with 127 ratings

Assez costaud et ruff avec son 50% alcool. Nez épicé et caramel. Type whisky. Manque de finesse et de complexité pour un rhum de ce prix.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by piratejabez from United States with 325 ratings

A 5-year-old blend of rums from Barbados, Guyana, Jamaica, Panama, and Trinidad. 50% ABV. A: Dark (uncolored) with bits of sediment from the welcome lack of chill-filtering. N: salted caramel, oak. Bananas and mangoes. Hint of funk. P: Same as palate, along with some cola (spices?). This rum's got some bite. The youth shows here, but it's not at all unpleasant. Delicious freshly poured, but responds well to 15+ minutes breathing. Warming. F: medium-long; astringent but lingers for a while.

What a lovely rum. In my opinion, this bottle just about represents the epitome of blended rum. The Platonic ideal "rum." It's got everything you want and expect from a rum: natural dark color, rich caramel yet not sugary, hint of funk and brine, oak, presumably tropical + continental aging, admirable strength, and it's well-suited to mixing or sipping. I do think it's a bit overpriced considering its youth ($50 in the US, when I think it should be closer to $30–35; so I won't be mixing it in more than a Daiquiri or two), but I can't argue with the quality. This may be my new "desert island" rum...

8+, 9-

Ffffff

Posted 8 months ago by JGiralt from United States with 84 ratings

Smooth toffee, marshmallow, and oak palette. Beautiful golden amber hue.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Jonte Json from Sweden with 110 ratings

This is a great blend of Guyanan rums, with a wide palate

Ffffff

Posted at Pizza Amore almost 4 years ago by Alex from United Kingdom with 2 ratings

Good blended Caribbean rum from Cadenheads.
Bottled at 50% needs time to open up but full of dark toffee, demarera and tobacco notes. Water brings out some fruit compote and stewed apricot..

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by Paul from Australia with 127 ratings

this rum is powerful and smooth. it has a powerful punch to it but remains smooth at the same time.
great little sipper

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by Aylesby from United Kingdom with 8 ratings

Label says 6 year old blend from five named islands and 50% proof. No CF and the only adidive is water. Strong in flavour and I like some ice to reduce the burn. At £30 from their warehouse its good value.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Quintin from United Kingdom with 63 ratings

It's dark colour and deep molasses aroma stands out even when mixed with ginger ale or coke. It's a bit harch to be sipped smoothly, but brings a dry molasses, wood and nutmeg taste to the mixture. Very flavourful and rich. Would like to find the older varieties from the same maker.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Pascal from Canada with 192 ratings

Un goût de whisky et et scotch plus que l’égout du rhum. Différent et j aime.

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by Threepwood from United Kingdom with 87 ratings

An alright rum, nothing special, yet I had to pay quite a lot for a bottle. I'm sure if you can get this for cheap it's decent enough, but I won't be buying another bottle

Ffffff

Posted 2 years ago by Chet from United States with 192 ratings

Well...... put on your cowboy boots this stuff has a kick. This is a rum purest rum, no artificial flavors or back sweetening. At 50%ABV it has some kick, typically for a rum of this strength i can still drink it neat, but i put on the wifes pantyhose and added a few drops of water which in truth opened up the grog. Has a great nose, decent mouth but the finish will burn thru platinum. Good yes, great no but for $60 uhhh i would pass.