Posting your rating...
Don Q Oak Barrel Spiced rum

Don Q Oak Barrel Spiced

Puerto Rico | Spiced

6.2/10
21 ratings
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
5
7
5
2
1

Rate Don Q Oak Barrel Spiced

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

21 Don Q Oak Barrel Spiced ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by Harrie from Netherlands with 91 ratings

Previously I only tried some spiced concoctions from Captain Morgan and such and they never made me any happier but I thought (inspired by Paul B) to give it one more go. But this time as dry as possible please and with some real rum in there, not some vanilla-sugared flavoured vodka.

So I found this one (a nice deal at €20) with for at least 3 years aged rum, real spices and at just 9 gpl. Oh, and an ABV of 45% so it seems serious enough.

The nose is rather sweet, with mostly vanilla, fudge and some cinnamon and a hint of oak. On the palate you notice the higher ABV, spices like cinnamon, nutmeg and a touch of cloves. The vanilla is a bit much for a young and rather light-bodied rum so I think some is added as well. There is a little smokiness from the also present oak. It ends with a mocha/dark chocolate and spiced caramel. A peppery touch stays also present for quite a bit. Despite the 45% it goes down easy enough but it is a bold rum for sure.

For a spiced rum it is truly nice but spiced rum? I don't see me sipping this all night (even at 9gpl just a tad too sweet) so it is a rum for one or two shots after a winter stroll instead of the glühwein/vin chaude or an old tawny porto I would normally take. Nice addition but at the €30 it normally goes for I'd rather spend them on anything from Foursquare or such. But by far the best spiced rum I tasted, that is certain.

Ffffff

Posted almost 3 years ago by Awinash from Netherlands with 17 ratings

Burn. Burn. Its a like the roof is on fire. Mag ik schelden? Burn m*thf****

Ffffff

Posted 29 days ago by Demami from United States with 10 ratings

Can’t complain. Good spiced rum. Love Puerto Rican rums and this is a classic

Ffffff

Posted 2 months ago by Sjonniej87 from Netherlands with 9 ratings

This rum surprised me. Reviews gave me an "ok" expectation, but the taste was much better.

Drinking this on the rocks is a bit heavy for me. Cant handle alcohol in its purest form. Mixing this gives me a great taste of smooth rum. No chemical reaction, just a fine rum with good taste and a good aftertaste.

Would buy this more often as a decent replacement for "drinkin rum"

Small 20210626 215844

Posted 3 months ago by Robindv5 from Netherlands with 8 ratings

Voor de prijs een lekkere rum, niet te speciaal, iets brandend in de afdronk

Ffffff

Posted 7 months ago by littonsteve1 from United States with 22 ratings

Of the rums I have tried this one may be the best. Smooth and flavorful with not to much spice or that nasty twisted face you make after a drink of some of the others. I would defiantly buy again and may try some f the other Don Q rums.

Ffffff

Posted 10 months ago by WW from Netherlands with 37 ratings

In a rum tasting with 3 spiced rums, this one ended at the Bottom. The nose and smell are verry good, however tastewise we prefered the Bayou spiced and Ron de Jeremy hardcore spiced over the Don Q spiced.

Small sn%c3%admka

Posted 1 year ago by Miroslav from Slovakia with 40 ratings

Toto nie je môj typ rumov, veľmi aromatický pre mňa nezaujímavý, podobný Dzama

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by MichielV from Netherlands with 28 ratings

With 45% alcohol the Don Q Oak Barrel Spiced from Puerto Rico is a strong rum. With a beautiful golden colour, I had high expectations. It smells very heavily of vanilla, and you know it contains 45% of alcohol by smelling only. The taste is a little less overpowering. Again some vanilla in your mouth. Disappointing that the oak (the taste you would expect judging the name) is not identifiable that much. Good aftertaste, nothing to complain about that. The aftertaste is way more subtle than expected.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Willem from Netherlands with 18 ratings

Neat, spiced rum, sweet. Good for a cocktail. Aftertaste bit sharp, but sweetness and wood are recognised also.