Posting your rating...
Don Q Oak Barrel Spiced rum
Don Q Oak Barrel Spiced rum

Don Q Oak Barrel Spiced

Puerto Rico | Spiced

6.3/10 (13 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
2
4
4
2

Rate Don Q Oak Barrel Spiced

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


13 Don Q Oak Barrel Spiced ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

C705da0a0eea6bb121f86647f4c8566a.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 2 years ago by Vinesh from Netherlands with 19 ratings

The 5% additional alcohol really matters, as it maken the rum too strong for my liking! Although the taste is not that bad ...

1ae35b2313b2f06a2537b69d812243e4.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 2 years ago by Awinash from Netherlands with 17 ratings

Burn. Burn. Its a like the roof is on fire. Mag ik schelden? Burn m*thf****

9e2e4ecfc3d632e1f32e9bcfb9f4f43b.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 26 days ago by Willem from Netherlands with 9 ratings

Neat, spiced rum, sweet. Good for a cocktail. Aftertaste bit sharp, but sweetness and wood are recognised also.

79b08f24a6e277cccacb2485e88e1ccc.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 2 months ago by allredb from United States with 11 ratings

I bought this on a recommendation but could never learn to like it. Too strong for my liking along with a lack of spice flavors. One and done.

37888dc4222fcd1104aab5e202358377.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 5 months ago by Bob from United States with 72 ratings

Lots of vanilla and spice with a good quality base rum behind it.

7e768fed8971e2682c6ea097a0f3e76b.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 6 months ago by Brian Casali from Italy with 13 ratings

Sweet one, the taste is a little bit flat but recommended to most of sweet taste lovers

263c980652ee097ee64c3dd1d3d0258c.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 9 months ago by Tony Sanders (PREMIUM) from United States with 46 ratings

Brought over by friends so don’t know price point. Not bad, with vanilla aroma and forward note. Mixed well and better than any I have tasted.

5b2b7f5e78868cc8cea2bf30221446fe.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 11 months ago by Daan from Netherlands with 56 ratings

Actualy i dont realy like spiced rum. Though this one is guite alright. Big vanilla taste and a good oak nose.

06e775de3ea659802819e69660ac783b.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 1 year ago by je_farley from United States with 103 ratings

Wonderful aroma that disappoints on the tongue. A bit sharp as a sipper and there is no depth in taste. Okay as a mixer but other spiced rums have more body with the spice adding to the overall flavor, not just sitting on top.

F342a5e5c582d3ca729df9959c199761.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 1 year ago by Joola69 from United States with 2590 ratings

Enjoyed a bottle of Don Q Oak Spiced Rum while vacationing in Las Vegas. Unique bottle and label design. Very light golden color. Pure alcohol and plenty of oak, spices, pepper and vanilla to the nose and palate. Strong burn at the end being so dry. Mix this up with your favorite soda.

61ed3a196a5a4359a40670104e6148e1.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 2 years ago by Paul B (PREMIUM) from United States with 310 ratings

This is the most expensive of the three spiced rums that I tried today. It tastes like pepper and oak, with vanilla and caramel. It is like they added pepper to a cask of their Single Barrel 2005, which basically ruins that very good rum. If you like pepper on the tongue, you will love this one.

This may now be my top rated spiced rum (which I usually don't care for), but it just barely beat the taste of El Dorado Spiced Rum, which I also tried today. All three were tasted side by side neat in Glencairn glasses. Both can be enjoyed neat, on the rocks or mixed. The Cruzan 9 Spice was the third new one and cannot be enjoyed neat. However, at $30 for this one versus $16 for the El Dorado, I have to give my best buy recommendation to El Dorado.