Posting your rating...
El Ron Prohibido Gran Reserva 15-Year rum

El Ron Prohibido Gran Reserva 15-Year

Mexico | Aged

6.3/10 (37 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
3
4
10
13
6

Rate El Ron Prohibido Gran Reserva 15-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


37 El Ron Prohibido Gran Reserva 15-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Arno from France with 14 ratings

Excellent rhum mais à peine meilleur que la version en 12 ans d'âge. Un peu déçu sur ce point.

Ffffff

Posted 3 months ago by Mike (PREMIUM) from Czech Republic with 130 ratings

Well... nothing special. Aroma is good with flavours of vanilla, nuts and plum. But in mouth is not that good. Rum lack of complexity and has almost no body.. it is smooth but It is all.. weak flavours of vanilla, wood and coffee and very strange finish wchich taste like tequila.

Ffffff

Posted almost 3 years ago by Vlado from Slovakia with 51 ratings

Veľmi tmavý rum vo fľaši, skoro až do čierna, po naliatí do pohára pôsobí trochu svetlejšie, ale snáď ani 50 ročný rum nedosiahne takúto farbu...určite ho majstri v Mexiku ničím neprifarbili...=)...vôňa rumu je príjemná nasladlá, náznak vanilky, oriešky, sušené slivky. Chuť podľa môjho názoru výrazne zaostáva za arómou. Niečo mi tam nezapadá na záver a v dochuti. Asi je na mná príliš horký alebo trpký. Výrazné drevité tóny, káva a mandľova horkosť. Niečo podobné ako mladší 12 ročný El Ron Prohibido, aj keď o triedu lepšie. U mňa je toto kategória mixer.

Ffffff

Posted 3 months ago by Pacorro from Spain with 43 ratings

Tengo que reconocer que me ha gustado...la suavidad con que entra el sabor que daba y el golpe de los 40 grados, cómo dice la etiqueta los barriles de cómo dulce se notan , seguro que compraré el de doce y la verdad por 19'95€ pues hay que disfrutar antes que el desastre nacional me alcance

Ffffff

Posted 3 months ago by Passie from Netherlands with 51 ratings

Not my cup of tea. Sweet with notes that looks like stroh rum.

Ffffff

Posted 4 months ago by Rasmus from Denmark with 137 ratings

Having tried several rums from Mexico over the years, I can almost certainly proclaim, that they are not to my taste. I have tried the 12-year from this brand and did not care for it, so I had little hope for its big brother

Nose: Raisins, prunes, brown sugar, caramel and vanilla
Taste: Raisins, chocolate, vanilla, caramel and honey with a very sweet and sticky aftertaste
Overall: This is once again a below average rum from Mexico. It is slightly better than its younger brother, but it is way to one-dimensional and sweet for me. Mexico should really stick to making tequila.

Ffffff

Posted 5 months ago by Pepperman from Germany with 18 ratings

What is this? A rum? Really?
Nose of full sweetness, but then: coffee? Salty toffee, light spicy bitterness. Ripe fruits. Thrilling combination.
Palate: vanilla, coffee, light leather, oak and sweetness.
Long finish with pepper, spices, coffee and fruity vanilla.
Very interesting rum, never had one like this before.

Ffffff

Posted 6 months ago by Jaydee01 from Germany with 25 ratings

Große Erwartungen wurden enttäuscht. Im Cuba Libre sehr mild und wer es wenig spannend mag...okay. Pur getrunken wich mild einem hölzernen fast muffigen Geschmack.

Ffffff

Posted 6 months ago by zaks from France with 40 ratings

Doux et agréable à boire, il est sur les arômes de café et caramel.

Ffffff

Posted 7 months ago by Martin Wicke from Germany with 17 ratings

Found it tough to figure out the taste as it is quite neutral, rather on the sweet side of rums.

Ffffff

Posted 7 months ago by Philinarium from Russian Federation with 25 ratings

В аромате - карамель и лёгкие нотки ванили и чего-то фруктово-травянистого (гвоздика?), спиртуозность низкая. Во вкусе доминирует как будто сливочная карамель, спиртовое жжение присутствует, но быстро сходит на нет, уступая место послевкусию - опять же карамели с травами. Сочетание сладости жжёного сахара с пряными травами и небольшой спиртуозностью даёт интересный эффект - ром сладкий, но не приторный, мягкий, но с характером - каким настоящий ром, в моём понимании, и должен быть.

Aroma: caramel as the main element, some notes of vanilla and smth fruitty and herby (carnation?), spirit harshness is low. Taste is dominated by butterscotch-like caramel, spirit is present as well, but it disappears quickly and yields to the aftertaste - again caramel with herbs. This combination of burnt sugar with herbs and some spirit harshness gives an interesting effect - the rum is sweet, but not too sugary, smooth, but has a strong character - for me thats what a real rum should be.