Posting your rating...
El Ron Prohibido Gran Reserva 15-Year rum

El Ron Prohibido Gran Reserva 15-Year

Mexico | Aged

6.3/10
45 ratings
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
3
5
12
17
7

Rate El Ron Prohibido Gran Reserva 15-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

45 El Ron Prohibido Gran Reserva 15-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Small 20201218 210910

Posted at The L Garage almost 4 years ago by Canadian Captain from Canada with 62 ratings

Cool looking bottle, though the writing is all in Spanish. Nice real cork stopper.
First glance - dark, looks like a strong molasses rum. Slow, thick legs on the glass. Nose ... Odd. Hints of banana bread (though *not* bananas). Something harsh, like an astringent. Slight smoke. As always, I start neat First taste is harsh. This is not a smooth, easy sipping rum. A little more air, and it's still strong. Not strong of alcohol though, it has a very unusual taste. I think it needs ice. A little chilled, after the ice has melted a bit, and it softens up considerably. I can still get the hint of banana bread, and a little more sweetness. A little easier drinking now. But there still something odd, I wonder what this was aged in? Does not seem like oak. It has a very sharp after taste, and seems much more raw than 15 years of Solera aging would suggest. (Perhaps that is just marketing, and not the real age?)
Mixing this into a rum and coke, whatever bite it has is still there. There is an underlying taste to this that I can't identify, and it is very prominent. Not overwhelming, but definitely there.

When I started this review, I gave it a 5. I've since dropped it to a 4. I'm not impressed, for the price it is underwhelming, and I don't particularly enjoy it. If I could have tasted it first I would not have bought the bottle. If you could find the right mix (perhaps Ginger beer?), this might be salvageable. I'll have to keep looking though.
Not great neat. Drinkable on ice or with coke, but not great any way so far.

** Another update. I figured I'd give this another try. I really can't get into it. It's not so bad that I won't finish the bottle, but there's a smell and taste of something harsh in it. I've dropped my rating to a 3.

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by Mike (PREMIUM) from Czech Republic with 145 ratings

Well... nothing special. Aroma is good with flavours of vanilla, nuts and plum. But in mouth is not that good. Rum lack of complexity and has almost no body.. it is smooth but It is all.. weak flavours of vanilla, wood and coffee and very strange finish wchich taste like tequila.

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by Vlado from Slovakia with 51 ratings

Veľmi tmavý rum vo fľaši, skoro až do čierna, po naliatí do pohára pôsobí trochu svetlejšie, ale snáď ani 50 ročný rum nedosiahne takúto farbu...určite ho majstri v Mexiku ničím neprifarbili...=)...vôňa rumu je príjemná nasladlá, náznak vanilky, oriešky, sušené slivky. Chuť podľa môjho názoru výrazne zaostáva za arómou. Niečo mi tam nezapadá na záver a v dochuti. Asi je na mná príliš horký alebo trpký. Výrazné drevité tóny, káva a mandľova horkosť. Niečo podobné ako mladší 12 ročný El Ron Prohibido, aj keď o triedu lepšie. U mňa je toto kategória mixer.

Ffffff

Posted 1 month ago by Rafoni from Belgium with 3 ratings

The ratings are quite harsh on this one because this rhum is all about generosity.
Strong chocolate, pastry smells and flavours topped with roasted cocoa and coffee notes. This is like smelling and eating a pastry without the sugary taste.
For those who like a rich and generous rhum I would definitely recommend.

Small 20201009 154231

Posted 2 months ago by Steffmaus (TASTING CLUB) from Denmark with 58 ratings

Smells sweet with hints of raisin, and taste notes of honey, dark chocolate, raisin and coffee

Small avatar full

Posted 3 months ago by N3OCarter from Germany with 23 ratings

Tasty sweet full rum with a wider range and grounded flavour. A bit sour in the aftertaste. Overall good and easy to drink.

Ffffff

Posted 6 months ago by Edwwa from Lithuania with 39 ratings

Well... worth to try but nothing special. Quite smooth sipper

Ffffff

Posted 6 months ago by Matthias Lange from Germany with 20 ratings

Its okay. Balanced. Light dark. Nothing special... next!

Ffffff

Posted 7 months ago by rossam611 from Germany with 5 ratings

Quite nice taste not too sweat, tastes a bit like wood

Ffffff

Posted 8 months ago by Uvaldez from Mexico with 15 ratings

Sabe como huele, tiene ricas notas dulces de caramelo y madera, se puede tomar solo o mezclado, me gusta!

Small e209bc5e 5a5b 4380 87d3 5431d22d229d

Posted 8 months ago by MaartenVL from Belgium with 33 ratings

Nothing special. Will do for the morning. Cheers!!