Posting your rating...
Pixan 8-Year rum

Pixan 8-Year

Mexique | Aged

5.5/10(27 ratings)
Easily consumable in a bind

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
1
2
9
6
7
1

Rate Pixan 8-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

27 Pixan 8-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Small 403c5f11 2f48 4dea 8823 9856dfa4a809

Posted 3 months ago by Stefan Persson (PREMIUM) from Sweden with 208 ratings

I had just a sample so this is just a first impression, but I don’t think I will be digging deeper into it.
It’s produced by the distillery Espritus in Monterrey, Mexico. Pixan is their only brand. Pixan is Mayan and means ‘Spirit which gives life’.
The rum is said to be produced from molasses in a double column still and then aged for up to 8 years in American ex-bourbon barrels.
From nose to finish, which is medium long, it’s possible to recognize vanilla, fruits and herbal notes.
Can not really say what it is due to, but this rum does not appeal to me.
Picture: My emptied sample.

Ffffff

Posted 3 months ago by Adrian Adame from Czech Republic with 338 ratings

- ve vůni je cítit dozrávání v sudech po víně, první dojem až ostrá, ale u dalších zmizí, možná nechat chvíli vydýchat, višně se hlásí dost výrazně
- chuť dost nasládlá, ostřejší, opět višně, závěr nahořklý, ale není špatný...

Small img 20201113 120852365

Posted 3 months ago by DebiQue from Slovakia with 46 ratings

I cannot find any positives. Smell of pure alcohol overpowers anything else. Taste is the same story.

Ffffff

Posted 3 months ago by Okapi from Belgium with 9 ratings

Avis novice:
Au nez,.l'alcool prend le dessus, avec des notes grillees/fumées.
Au goût: attaque d'alcool avant de pouvoir sentir des notes plus légères. Il est court mais le goût de bois perdure longtemps

Ffffff

Posted 3 months ago by MOX from Sweden with 13 ratings

Complex with hints of ripe pineapple caramelized bananas and freshly squeezed cane. Reminiscent of rums of the past.

Ffffff

Posted 3 months ago by Mastamt from Netherlands with 19 ratings

Pixan 6 anos Solera elke finish i.p.v. 8 jaar

Geur van amandel en bitterkoekjes en licht vanille. Smaak van amandel en een licht zoete fruitige zachte afdronk. Ook licht kruidig en eikenhout

Ffffff

Posted 4 months ago by Jagged from Slovakia with 60 ratings

Mal som vzorku z rumového kalendára. Vôna bola svieža, pripomínala mi trochu agricole rum. Chuť mierne sladká - ovocie, vanilka a dosť liehova. Nezaujal.

Ffffff

Posted 8 months ago by PatrickW from Belgium with 14 ratings

Light brown, spicy aroma, fresh spicy taste, short aftertaste

Ffffff

Posted 8 months ago by Jan Staněk from Czech Republic with 111 ratings

I was surprised how good it is, even though it's from Mexico. Not top tier, but good enough.

Ffffff

Posted 10 months ago by Harrie from Netherlands with 69 ratings

A very sweet nose with vanilla, fried banana and some more acidic fruits. Not really a sugar bomb but a little too much for the tannines and woody flavours so in the end it doesn't have enough backbone and will become boring. For a single glass it is a nice change of flavours though, just too sweet for my taste.