Posting your rating...
Myers's Original Dark rum

Myer’s Original Dark Rum is a blend of up to nine different rums of various ages, all of which are distilled using Jamaica's typical production method: pot-stills. The Original Dark Rum is slightly unique in Jamaica however, because some of the molasses used earlier in the process is added back in after distillation.

Myers rum has been produced since 1879 and named after its founder, Fred Myers.

Rate Myers's Original Dark

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


270 Myers's Original Dark ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted 10 months ago by Jaybird from United States with 47 ratings

The aroma of this rum is really unique as soon as it hits the glass. Sitting in a snifter it had a full aroma oozing out of the glass to my nose. Funky, molasses, dry and warm. Almost fruity at times.
The taste is a bit rough around the edges straight up but it makes wonderful cocktails. Fairly dry on the palate with a medium light body. Expected light funkiness of a Jamaican, woody, dry in the finish. First sip seems very warm but subsequent sips are smoother and do not seem so hot. Fairly one dimensional flavor to me by itself but I think this is what makes it so great in a cocktail. It does it's thing without getting in the way of other complementing flavors. Wonderful to blend with other rums with complementing flavor components.
As a mixer I'd give it an overall 7.5+ but straight up I'd say a 6 at best. Use it for what it was made for, punches and cocktails. Everyone should have a bottle just for that reason.

Posted over 5 years ago by Scott T from United States with 120 ratings

Jamaican dunder, molasses, all the flavors you expect from a dark rum and very little sweetness, There is a reason this rum has been around as long as it has, and it is not because of cute commercials on TV every 10 minutes.

Posted over 5 years ago by Frank mac from United Kingdom with 53 ratings

Myers is another rum which is nice with coke but too strong tasting for on the rocks.

Posted over 2 years ago by itsaguinnes from United States with 2 ratings

Great for professional mixing in so many island drinks. Love to drink straight up though. Maybe too strong for too many. but sad to see so many have rated this so poorly... what is this Rotten Tomatoes? 5.9? really!? should be an 8 at least, Give it another drink if your the type that likes overmixing brown sugar in your peanut butter cookies.

Posted almost 4 years ago by Felix from Austria with 13 ratings

I was searching for a drink that is easy to make and I tried them all. Vodka lemon, Whiskey sour, Averna sour, and many more (ok I skipped Tequila...). So I worked my way through the supermarket's liquor shelf from left to right. One day I found myself in front of the far right side of that shelf, the rum area.
I thought "hmm, the last time I had rum I was a teenager and it gave ma a bad headache". But on the other hand this kind of liquor wasn't on my radar at all, so I knew nothing about it. I chose a bottle that I never saw before - Meyer's dark rum. Because I didn't know what flavour I was about to experience, I also bought Schweppes ginger ale, bitter lemon and cola. Just to be sure. Long story short: it tastes awesome in any event! In fact I tried orange juice, apple juice, coconut milk and even hazelnut milk. Trust me: if you like the type of juice you mix it with, you cannot go wrong with Myer's dark rum! It's gonna fit perfectly. I have to admit though... Cola is my favourite mix. I always have a bottle of Myer's at home.

Posted over 4 years ago by Adam from Canada with 22 ratings

You shouldn't have a hard time finding it in the US. It's everywhere. Sugar cane sweetness, this is ideal as an affordable molasses rum for coke. Great ingredient for rum cake and other baked rum pastries. Don't forget to soak that cake.

Posted over 4 years ago by Beukeboom from United States with 305 ratings

This is a deep, dark mahogany colored rum with a very nice aroma hinting of vanilla, molasses, and sweetness. The flavor is rather dry with the molasses being detectable but quickly overtaken by a marked oak flavor due to the barrels in which it was kept. The finish is rather mild but fairly good. Take it for what it is...a rum intended for mixing. Good for tropical drinks, boat drinks, colas, et al. Readily available at just about every liquor store I've seen.

Posted over 4 years ago by james Ford from United States with 27 ratings

pretty smooth, decent mid shelf dark rum. Perfect for Mai Tai's or with cola

Posted about 1 year ago by Tony Sanders (PREMIUM) from United States with 46 ratings

Have used this as a mixer rum for 40 years starting back when rum fruit drinks were king and I was a teen. My recommendation is stack this as your mixer against Gosling Black Seal and let the tribe decide. Each has it strengths.

Posted over 2 years ago by Rodney from Albania with 27 ratings

Interesting taste best drank with sprite or coke. Something to order in a bar and plan to drink a lot. It tastes better the more you drink.

Posted over 3 years ago by Andrew Bentz from United States with 1 rating

Pretty terrible stuff and I really want to like it. The Kraken is a superior dark rum to this is mixes. Maybe I have not had this in the right cocktail. Caramel, molasses and oak on the nose. Harse dark char taste in the mouth and medium burn on the finish with a strong nasty after taste.

Posted almost 6 years ago by Michael Evans from United Kingdom with 81 ratings

A generic dark rum, nothing special about the flavour and not really smooth enough to drink straight.

Posted over 3 years ago by Rene Rum from Switzerland with 341 ratings

Ein sehr aromatischer Rum zum kochen, backen und mixen.

A very aromatic rum for cooking, baking and mixing.

Posted over 4 years ago by Commodore from United States with 4 ratings

Classic and must have for any bar. Great floater on Mai Tai's

Posted over 4 years ago by Matt from United States with 27 ratings

I like Myer's for making Mai Tai's and feel it would be great in other sweet tropical drinks. I thought it was a bit harsh straight. I think Goslings is slightly smoother. As for mixing with coke, I prefer Captain, but this is not bad. A good standard in dark rum to have in the bar for tropical mixers.

Posted over 4 years ago by Kurtiki from United States with 11 ratings

This is a great mixing rum for recipes calling for dark rum. I use it in my Mai Tai and hurricanes, etc.

Posted over 4 years ago by Jerry de la Hoya from United States with 24 ratings

Smoother than other widely distributed dark rums- I much prefer Myer's to Gostling's. I find the alcohol is more subdued on the finish and the depth of flavor more complex. It is my go-to for floats and mixed drinks.

Posted over 4 years ago by Jack from United States with 16 ratings

One of the most famous rums in the world, fine example of dark rum as introduction, as well as Jamaican rum, it is hard to go back once you've tasted better. But I do.

Posted almost 5 years ago by Falcon91Wolvrn03 (PREMIUM) from United States with 424 ratings

I think this rum has agricole (sugar cane) mixed in. It also includes notes of molasses, brown sugar, and a light peppery spice. Goes down smooth for 40% abv and is a pretty good dark rum.

Posted over 5 years ago by Dan Ozga from United States with 4 ratings

This is a dark sweet rum that pairs perfect with coke a cola. This should be in all houses for a great go to.

Posted over 1 year ago by "Samuel Brunello" from United States with 78 ratings

From my experience with Jamaican rums, there is one thing that they specialize in: boisterous, muscular FUNK. This Jamaican... doesn't do that. Which is really weird, because on the nose, it's essentially Smith&Cross, but funkless. Flavorwise, it's the same way. It tastes fine, but also really comes across like its missing something. The rum just feels kind of empty. On the bright side though, there's a swelling chocolate finish, so that's nice!

Posted over 3 years ago by HunterRomario from Czech Republic with 285 ratings

Alkohol: 40 %
Původ: Jamajka
Aroma: Výrazná, silná vůně, hodně melasová, karamelová. Trochu kyselosti, mízy, čerstvé kůry ze stromu, mléčná čokoláda. (86 b)
Chuť: Velmi suchý na jazyku. Karamel, spousta melasy, v dochuti pak lehká nahořklost, lékořice a opálené dřevo. (80 b)
Body: 83
Shrnutí: Tento rum se používá hlavně do míchaných nápojů. Vůně je oproti chuti výrazně zajímavější. Stylově i vzhledem k ceně a hlavnímu účelu použití nemám žádné výhrady, na grog nebo třeba do tiramisu musí být super. Ale dá se pít i normálně samotný.

Posted over 4 years ago by I3R0K3N7FEET from United Kingdom with 63 ratings

Heavy molasses on the nose, and a rich caramel/treacle delight to drink. I found it better on the rocks which helped separate the complex flavours. This one gives a nice caramel kick when mixed with cola.

Posted over 4 years ago by Andres from Belgium with 6 ratings

I like to use it in a philadelphia fishhouse punch, works very well! Not bad for the price, but i won't drink it on it's own

Posted over 4 years ago by John Smith from United States with 15 ratings

Definitely one for mixed drinks or with cola. A solid dark rum a little underwhelming but still a good one to have in the cabinet