Posting your rating...
Myers's Original Dark rum

Myers's Original Dark

Jamaica | Dark

Myer’s Original Dark Rum is a blend of up to nine different rums of various ages, all of which are distilled using Jamaica's typical production method: pot-stills. The Original Dark Rum is slightly unique in Jamaica however, because some of the molasses used earlier in the process is added back in after distillation.

Myers rum has been produced since 1879 and named after its founder, Fred Myers.

5.6/10 (293 ratings)
Easily consumable in a bind

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
3
10
13
28
61
82
60
24
7
5

Rate Myers's Original Dark

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


293 Myers's Original Dark ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted 6 years ago by alby from United States with 7 ratings

This rum is fine but would not be my first, second or third choice

Ffffff

Posted almost 6 years ago by Scott T from United States with 120 ratings

Jamaican dunder, molasses, all the flavors you expect from a dark rum and very little sweetness, There is a reason this rum has been around as long as it has, and it is not because of cute commercials on TV every 10 minutes.

Ffffff

Posted almost 6 years ago by Frank mac from United Kingdom with 53 ratings

Myers is another rum which is nice with coke but too strong tasting for on the rocks.

Ffffff

Posted 3 years ago by itsaguinnes from United States with 2 ratings

Great for professional mixing in so many island drinks. Love to drink straight up though. Maybe too strong for too many. but sad to see so many have rated this so poorly... what is this Rotten Tomatoes? 5.9? really!? should be an 8 at least, Give it another drink if your the type that likes overmixing brown sugar in your peanut butter cookies.

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Felix from Austria with 13 ratings

I was searching for a drink that is easy to make and I tried them all. Vodka lemon, Whiskey sour, Averna sour, and many more (ok I skipped Tequila...). So I worked my way through the supermarket's liquor shelf from left to right. One day I found myself in front of the far right side of that shelf, the rum area.
I thought "hmm, the last time I had rum I was a teenager and it gave ma a bad headache". But on the other hand this kind of liquor wasn't on my radar at all, so I knew nothing about it. I chose a bottle that I never saw before - Meyer's dark rum. Because I didn't know what flavour I was about to experience, I also bought Schweppes ginger ale, bitter lemon and cola. Just to be sure. Long story short: it tastes awesome in any event! In fact I tried orange juice, apple juice, coconut milk and even hazelnut milk. Trust me: if you like the type of juice you mix it with, you cannot go wrong with Myer's dark rum! It's gonna fit perfectly. I have to admit though... Cola is my favourite mix. I always have a bottle of Myer's at home.

Ffffff

Posted almost 5 years ago by Adam from Canada with 22 ratings

You shouldn't have a hard time finding it in the US. It's everywhere. Sugar cane sweetness, this is ideal as an affordable molasses rum for coke. Great ingredient for rum cake and other baked rum pastries. Don't forget to soak that cake.

Ffffff

Posted almost 5 years ago by Beukeboom from United States with 305 ratings

This is a deep, dark mahogany colored rum with a very nice aroma hinting of vanilla, molasses, and sweetness. The flavor is rather dry with the molasses being detectable but quickly overtaken by a marked oak flavor due to the barrels in which it was kept. The finish is rather mild but fairly good. Take it for what it is...a rum intended for mixing. Good for tropical drinks, boat drinks, colas, et al. Readily available at just about every liquor store I've seen.

Ffffff

Posted almost 5 years ago by james Ford from United States with 27 ratings

pretty smooth, decent mid shelf dark rum. Perfect for Mai Tai's or with cola

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Tony Sanders (PREMIUM) from United States with 48 ratings

Have used this as a mixer rum for 40 years starting back when rum fruit drinks were king and I was a teen. My recommendation is stack this as your mixer against Gosling Black Seal and let the tribe decide. Each has it strengths.

Ffffff

Posted almost 3 years ago by Rodney from Albania with 27 ratings

Interesting taste best drank with sprite or coke. Something to order in a bar and plan to drink a lot. It tastes better the more you drink.

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by Andrew Bentz from United States with 1 rating

Pretty terrible stuff and I really want to like it. The Kraken is a superior dark rum to this is mixes. Maybe I have not had this in the right cocktail. Caramel, molasses and oak on the nose. Harse dark char taste in the mouth and medium burn on the finish with a strong nasty after taste.