Posting your rating...
Myers's Original Dark rum

Myers's Original Dark

Jamaica | Dark

Myer’s Original Dark Rum is a blend of up to nine different rums of various ages, all of which are distilled using Jamaica's typical production method: pot-stills. The Original Dark Rum is slightly unique in Jamaica however, because some of the molasses used earlier in the process is added back in after distillation.

Myers rum has been produced since 1879 and named after its founder, Fred Myers.

5.6/10 (293 ratings)
Easily consumable in a bind

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
3
10
13
28
61
82
60
24
7
5

Rate Myers's Original Dark

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


293 Myers's Original Dark ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted 3 years ago by Jonte Json from Sweden with 110 ratings

THE very best for Cuba Libre, with excellent molasses sweetness. A must for Cuba Libre lovers!

Ffffff

Posted 11 months ago by Samuelsbay from United Kingdom with 12 ratings

Many a Planter’s Punch or rum cocktail used to be made with this in all the beach bars and hotels in JA (along with Wray Nephews overproof) 🤓. I am sure Air Jamaica used to serve miniatures of this as well as Appleton.

Ffffff

Posted 12 months ago by DerMassi from Germany with 20 ratings

Classic, not easy to mix because of it's special taste, but a nice one in the winter.

Ffffff

Posted 12 months ago by 5xo from Slovakia with 256 ratings

It is not going to blow your mind, it is not for sipping but can be a good mixer with its caramel tone over a rum base.

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by stevie10 from Germany with 5 ratings

Strong flavoured dark rum well suited to mix drinks.

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by Regan from Canada with 70 ratings

No this rum isn’t a sipper but hell you got to have this on hand for making tiki cocktails a true must have

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by Tim bascombe from United States with 14 ratings

Sorry but this rum is a flavor bomb ggggggggggggggggggggg

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by Red from United States with 7 ratings

This is some pretty dark stuff. It definitely has a molasses smell and taste without the sweetness. It mixes well with juice, and cola, though I haven't tried it with ginger beer. Definitely a mixer, but an interesting one

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by jelmd from Germany with 17 ratings

Find den ziemlich gut (wahrscheinlich wollte Captain Morgan Dark mal dahin, hat aber vergessen, rechtzeitig abzubiegen ;-)). Anyway, diesen Rum kann man auch pur den ganzen Abend trinken und ist besonders denen zu empfehlen, die ein bisl mehr Bumms im Glas haben möchten. Einem Hurricane, Dark and Stormy, Elke's Dark Soul, etc. verleiht er ordentlich Character und ist mit Sicherheit auch bei vielen anderen Cocktails durchaus eine sehr gute Wahl.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Jaybird from United States with 48 ratings

The aroma of this rum is really unique as soon as it hits the glass. Sitting in a snifter it had a full aroma oozing out of the glass to my nose. Funky, molasses, dry and warm. Almost fruity at times.
The taste is a bit rough around the edges straight up but it makes wonderful cocktails. Fairly dry on the palate with a medium light body. Expected light funkiness of a Jamaican, woody, dry in the finish. First sip seems very warm but subsequent sips are smoother and do not seem so hot. Fairly one dimensional flavor to me by itself but I think this is what makes it so great in a cocktail. It does it's thing without getting in the way of other complementing flavors. Wonderful to blend with other rums with complementing flavor components.
As a mixer I'd give it an overall 7.5+ but straight up I'd say a 6 at best. Use it for what it was made for, punches and cocktails. Everyone should have a bottle just for that reason.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Dalamar from United States with 1 rating

And it even tastes good straight!

I get a strong cherry taste, grapefruit, and some wood taste/smell, way more complex than anything else I've had locally sold (our stores don't carry much though). Taste is very potent and so is the smell. It has some bitterness but it's not an offensive bitterness (like cheap stuff) to me.

I strongly suspect I am biased towards jamaican rums with a lot of hogo, take it as you will