Posting your rating...
Myers's Original Dark rum

Myers's Original Dark

Jamaica | Dark

Myer’s Original Dark Rum is a blend of up to nine different rums of various ages, all of which are distilled using Jamaica's typical production method: pot-stills. The Original Dark Rum is slightly unique in Jamaica however, because some of the molasses used earlier in the process is added back in after distillation.

Myers rum has been produced since 1879 and named after its founder, Fred Myers.

5.6/10
326 ratings
Easily consumable in a bind

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
4
10
14
28
64
94
71
27
9
5

Rate Myers's Original Dark

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

326 Myers's Original Dark ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by Jonte Json from Sweden with 110 ratings

THE very best for Cuba Libre, with excellent molasses sweetness. A must for Cuba Libre lovers!

Ffffff

Posted 9 months ago by Anne from Netherlands with 8 ratings

I bought it for mixing and it does the job. A bit heavy on the molasses and sweetness so I don't sip it. But in cocktails it's wonderfully spicy.

Ffffff

Posted 9 months ago by dhelliwell@comcast.net (PREMIUM) from United States with 19 ratings

I tried this several times in Jamaica. Flavor was OK but no real complexity and a bit too much burn on the short finish. I would reserve this for mixing.

Ffffff

Posted 10 months ago by Kenneth from United Kingdom with 65 ratings

I like my Rums neat, this is definitely a mixer. It has some "nice" weird flavours going on when neat, but it really does seem to work great as a mixer.

Ffffff

Posted 10 months ago by Rum Funk from Singapore with 10 ratings

She is dark and now I remember Myers LOL.
Some said she is taste better with coke or coffee. I just drink neat, gorgeous!

Ffffff

Posted 11 months ago by jweaks from United States with 8 ratings

Dark, full of flavor, you could sip it. It makes killer Rum&Coke and Rum&GingerBeer. It's better than Gosling Black Seal.

Ffffff

Posted 11 months ago by lord13 from United States with 11 ratings

It's a decent mixer at a good price point, not my go to but it works.

Ffffff

Posted 12 months ago by henrik pedersen from Denmark with 98 ratings

Endnu en rom til cocktails. Mangler helt klart noget lagring for at kunne nydes rent😊

Ffffff

Posted 12 months ago by Drossmania from United States with 21 ratings

One step up from stuff like Bacardi black or goslings. The pot still funk keeps it interesting.

Ffffff

Posted 12 months ago by Eviltwinshell (PREMIUM) from United States with 27 ratings

I really like this rum , it does have a bold taste, but that is what I need for some of the island drinks I love. And I do enjoy the sweetness.

Ffffff

Posted 12 months ago by Simon_W from Switzerland with 35 ratings

Neither funky, nor oaky. Nonetheless it has a satisfying intensity, stemming mostly from molasses. Whenever cocktail recipes call for a "dark Jamaican rum", I use this one.