Posting your rating...
Myers's Original Dark rum

Myer’s Original Dark Rum is a blend of up to nine different rums of various ages, all of which are distilled using Jamaica's typical production method: pot-stills. The Original Dark Rum is slightly unique in Jamaica however, because some of the molasses used earlier in the process is added back in after distillation.

Myers rum has been produced since 1879 and named after its founder, Fred Myers.

Rate Myers's Original Dark

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


270 Myers's Original Dark ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted over 3 years ago by HunterRomario from Czech Republic with 285 ratings

Alkohol: 40 %
Původ: Jamajka
Aroma: Výrazná, silná vůně, hodně melasová, karamelová. Trochu kyselosti, mízy, čerstvé kůry ze stromu, mléčná čokoláda. (86 b)
Chuť: Velmi suchý na jazyku. Karamel, spousta melasy, v dochuti pak lehká nahořklost, lékořice a opálené dřevo. (80 b)
Body: 83
Shrnutí: Tento rum se používá hlavně do míchaných nápojů. Vůně je oproti chuti výrazně zajímavější. Stylově i vzhledem k ceně a hlavnímu účelu použití nemám žádné výhrady, na grog nebo třeba do tiramisu musí být super. Ale dá se pít i normálně samotný.

Posted over 3 years ago by Kurt Lauerman from United States with 41 ratings

This is a really good smoth rum for rum punch or any fruity drink. A bit strong on it's own, but nonetheless the quintessential Jamaican dark.

Posted over 3 years ago by Alan from United States with 83 ratings

Do not mistake this dark rum for a sipper. Its single molasses note holds no complexity, let alone the slightest nuance.

Posted over 3 years ago by Mark Dubbery from United Kingdom with 5 ratings

Inherited a taste for this quality Jamaican rum. Not a sipper but makes a killer Planters Punch or budget conscious Mai Tai and pairs well with ginger beer. Little sweet for coke in my book.

Posted over 3 years ago by Howie from United States with 5 ratings

I enjoy sipping rum on the rocks. This is not good for that. Not smooth, I was only able to drink it with a slash of water. Way too much molasses and smoke for me.

Posted over 3 years ago by James Dylan from United States with 8 ratings

I considered throwing away the half bottle I had left, as I couldn't drink it anymore. Call me weird, but I like sipping dark and strong rum, so I thought I'd give this one a shot. Almost undrinkable straight. I'm not a coke/rum guy, so I can't advise on that. But as a straight-up rum....bleh.

Posted over 3 years ago by Mal from United States with 11 ratings

So this rum is a easily obtainable rum to find. It's produced by the Diageo company and it's a very generic brand, up there with Captain Morgan or Bacardi. Now the truth is this rum is very and I mean very sweet. It's got a very strong molasses sweetness to it that is very overpowering. On first sip mixed with cola this rum is tasty but eventually that sweetness just overpowers it to where I couldn't really finish my rum and cola off. The best way to describe it is it's got a very dark sweetness kind of like dark chocolate. The molasses in this rum is very bold so bold that is kind of hits your senses really hard and that's not something i'm a huge fan of. I like to taste the little, subtle nuances of flavor that rum has and Myers doesn't really have any subtle nuances at all. It's just sweet and that's it. I give this rum a 5 because it honestly depends on your palate on if you'll like it or not. I personally wouldn't really mix this at all or drink it straight; because it overpowers the cola and it's way too sweet to take on it's own. For a generic rum as a mixer I honestly prefer Captain Morgan, and for a dark rum I prefer Kraken. Myers is just far too overbearing to really use at all at least for my preferences.

Posted over 3 years ago by Blue_Dog_Man from United States with 34 ratings

This is a good dark rum. The color is a brownish red and the aroma is of vanilla and molasses. I enjoy sipping on this with its strong molasses, toffee like flavor with a hint of possibly orange? It also has a slight oaky/tobacco flavor and very mild heat. This is good for a Rum old fashion or as a sipper.

Posted over 3 years ago by Carlos from Canada with 36 ratings

When I want a dark rum and ginger this is the stuff. Squeeze in a lime and enjoy. Blame the Hard Rock in Vegas for getting me hooked.
Incredibly sweet taste with lots of molasses flavour.

Posted over 3 years ago by Jeffrey Levi Palmer from United States with 10 ratings

Not my favorite. It has a slight overpowering alcohol aftertaste-- it seems to be popular for making a Dark n Stormy.

Posted over 3 years ago by RumJunkie from United States with 17 ratings

No liquor cabinet should be without a bottle of Myers. Not to be sipped, this is strictly a cocktail maker. A twist on a dark and stormy or even served ice cold with pineapple juice.

Posted over 3 years ago by Chris from United States with 5 ratings

The perfect floater, strong molasses smell and taste, and oddly enough I love it mixed with Coke. Very dark and screams put me in a fruity drink. Straight or on the rocks.... Not so much. It's a classic and and is best enjoyed mixed. Jamaican friends say that it is also perfect for cooking.

Posted almost 4 years ago by Kyle Harmeling from United States with 14 ratings

only nice mixed but too strong for sipping neat. tastes like molasses, star anise and paint thinner on its own... but with coke its like molasses and brown sugar.

Posted almost 4 years ago by Blacky from Austria with 79 ratings

a good rum for cocktails, but not one you drink straight!

Posted almost 4 years ago by Robert from United States with 23 ratings

Not a huge fan, so syrupy and thick, defend mixer, good for cooking

Posted almost 4 years ago by Ramon from United States with 74 ratings

I see Myer's on most bars, yet never ordered it. It was not bad, but not remarkable either. Strong hint of the bourbon barrel it was aged in, and daily smooth with no odd aftertaste. I guess if you are a bartender who doesn't want drinks coming back, this is the go to mixer rum right next to the Captains Spiced.

Posted almost 4 years ago by Mark Ellis from United Kingdom with 32 ratings

It's an ok rum, when I got opportunity to try I wasn't disappointed. Probably a good rum with coke or in a cocktail. Smooth taste, sweet. I would recommend if asked.

Posted almost 4 years ago by Frank Christiansen from Denmark with 10 ratings

Still tasty, but not the same as many other darks with more to offer. Fine for most mixing, good price.

Posted almost 4 years ago by Rob from Ireland with 92 ratings

Decent mixer, goes down well.
Like it in ginger beer.
Wouldn't drink it straight.

Posted almost 4 years ago by Lawson from United States with 56 ratings

I like it. It is definitely not a sipping rum to me. Works very well in any mixed drink though. Cheers!

Posted almost 4 years ago by Anthony C from United States with 100 ratings

The standard for the industry. Great as a floater is most mixed drinks and stand alone in a dark and stormy. Try it with cola too.

Posted almost 4 years ago by JackOrion from United States with 61 ratings

but it does make a passable dark and stormy. You get what you pay for, if your only going to mix rum then this crap isn't such a bad way to go. If I can't sip it I'm not a fan. Reserve this for your timid fruit drink friends.

Posted almost 4 years ago by Michael from Australia with 4 ratings

In Vietnam (of all places). It was hot and very humid. A beer went hot before it could be consumed, but one of these on ice surprisingly eased the discomfort of the humidity and heat. Sipping it slowly over ice, the heat and the humidity, no longer seemed too much to bear. In fact, all seemed to be as it should.
On a recent trip to Hong Kong, I found it very cheaply, in a Local neighbourhood grocery store. Bargin! and once more the heat and humidity seemed to be less uncomfortable with a Myers on the rocks.

Posted about 4 years ago by Martin Kennedy from Australia with 194 ratings

There is nothing really wrong with this except the flowery after taste. Nice molasses taste and a bit of a gentle burn , reminds me of Black Heart navy rum. Would make a good mixer im sure.

Posted about 4 years ago by Dale Wheelert from United States with 13 ratings

I remember when this was one of the more exotic rums that were available. At the time I liked it pretty well with coke, but I sure am glad things progressed