Posting your rating...
Myers's Original Dark rum

Myers's Original Dark

Jamaica | Dark

Myer’s Original Dark Rum is a blend of up to nine different rums of various ages, all of which are distilled using Jamaica's typical production method: pot-stills. The Original Dark Rum is slightly unique in Jamaica however, because some of the molasses used earlier in the process is added back in after distillation.

Myers rum has been produced since 1879 and named after its founder, Fred Myers.

5.6/10
325 ratings
Easily consumable in a bind

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
4
10
14
28
64
94
70
27
9
5

Rate Myers's Original Dark

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

325 Myers's Original Dark ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Rhun from United States with 14 ratings

This is a classic mixing rum, but I find it too heavy and too much of a molasses taste. I have other favorites for floating a mai tai.

Ffffff

Posted 8 years ago by JJ Geewax from United States with 36 ratings

A bit harsh, not quite as good a flavor as an Appleton 8.

Ffffff

Posted over 8 years ago by Sherm Gutzman from United States with 4 ratings

Flavorful but a little sharp. Great with grapefruit juice-lightly sweetens.

Ffffff

Posted over 8 years ago by SaltwaterTom from United States with 20 ratings

This rum adds a lot to almost any drink, use in small amounts or it is too flavorful

Ffffff

Posted over 8 years ago by Skulman from United States with 117 ratings

Nice dark rum usually a well in some bars.

Ffffff

Posted over 8 years ago by Todd Dunn from United States with 45 ratings

This is usually what there is to drink at bars. Not a true "fine rum", but it is better than not drinking dark rum.

Ffffff

Posted over 8 years ago by Bruce Jones from United States with 17 ratings

Good for cooking as well

Ffffff

Posted over 8 years ago by RumSteve from United States with 15 ratings

Standard for dark rum mixed drinks. It's a little harsh but aside from that a value rum.

Ffffff

Posted over 8 years ago by Rick The Rum Runner from United States with 34 ratings

I was introduced to Meyers via cola. A friend drinks this combo all the time. Wonderful with cola. I find it now, after drinking other rums - a bit (tiny) harsh, but a very good rum none the less. Just ordered one this last weekend!

Ffffff

Posted over 8 years ago by Don Tucker from United States with 193 ratings

This is a very good dark rum that is not bad in Dark N Stormy's, but better suited to rum punches or mai tais.

Ffffff

Posted over 8 years ago by Remy Chevalier from United States with 34 ratings

Honestly I can't even remember what it tastes like... it's become so ubiquitous... remind me to try it again later. I suspect it's chuck full of artificial color and flavor, but I might be wrong, and that might be really mean to say. If there was an edit or delete for these reviews I would update for sure, but I'm three reviews short of getting my free El Dorado nip, so I'm reaching, sorry guys! ;o)