Posting your rating...
Myers's Original Dark rum

Myers's Original Dark

Jamaica | Dark

Myer’s Original Dark Rum is a blend of up to nine different rums of various ages, all of which are distilled using Jamaica's typical production method: pot-stills. The Original Dark Rum is slightly unique in Jamaica however, because some of the molasses used earlier in the process is added back in after distillation.

Myers rum has been produced since 1879 and named after its founder, Fred Myers.

5.6/10
325 ratings
Easily consumable in a bind

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
4
10
14
28
64
94
70
27
9
5

Rate Myers's Original Dark

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

325 Myers's Original Dark ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Rhun from United States with 14 ratings

This is a classic mixing rum, but I find it too heavy and too much of a molasses taste. I have other favorites for floating a mai tai.

Ffffff

Posted 7 years ago by Helena Tiare from Sweden with 110 ratings

One of the staples for tropical and tiki drinks. It`s not among the best, not at all but some tiki drinks just need this rum.

Ffffff

Posted over 7 years ago by YY from Japan with 9 ratings

Affordable.Sweet.
I recommend to the mix.

Ffffff

Posted over 7 years ago by Shane from United States with 26 ratings

Not anything I would drink neat. However, a staple for the dark & stormy. Not really my rum for any other mixer. I would agree it is good as floater...because it packs a wallop.

Ffffff

Posted over 7 years ago by Bill Gaylor from United States with 51 ratings

Ive always used Myers Dark as a floater for my famous home-made pina coladas, as well as in my Hurricanes. works great as an accompnier. way too stout for my sipping taste

Ffffff

Posted over 7 years ago by John Papas from United States with 16 ratings

Very dark and unique flavor, I think it adds a signature taste to tropical drinks.

Ffffff

Posted over 7 years ago by Thos from United States with 13 ratings

I have not found the drink that this rum is best in, I guess that I will have to keep on trying. I like my drinks with as few ingredients as possible, but Myers seems to need strong mixers.

Ffffff

Posted over 7 years ago by Michael Sargent from United States with 1 rating

Great with little ice, tonic, and lime.

Ffffff

Posted over 7 years ago by Arowbal from United States with 31 ratings

Nothing for a special occasion, but fine to mix with on a hot summer evening.

Ffffff

Posted almost 8 years ago by Skeelos from United States with 28 ratings

Just bought this the other day and am trying out the suggestions on the back (w/o the Grenadine). With orange juice, this is actually pretty smooth, and tasty...you can tell there is rum in it for sure. By itself, it is fairly harsh.

Ffffff

Posted 8 years ago by SlowRain from Taiwan, Republic Of China with 33 ratings

This is one of the first rums I can still remember. There were others previous to it, but I can't remember them anymore. This one is quite ubiquitous, so you should be able to find it with little difficulty. However, it's primarily for mixing. Tasty enough, but not smooth enough.