Posting your rating...
Myers's Original Dark rum

Myers's Original Dark

Jamaica | Dark

Myer’s Original Dark Rum is a blend of up to nine different rums of various ages, all of which are distilled using Jamaica's typical production method: pot-stills. The Original Dark Rum is slightly unique in Jamaica however, because some of the molasses used earlier in the process is added back in after distillation.

Myers rum has been produced since 1879 and named after its founder, Fred Myers.

5.6/10(307 ratings)
Easily consumable in a bind

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
4
10
14
28
63
87
63
26
7
5

Rate Myers's Original Dark

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

307 Myers's Original Dark ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted almost 3 years ago by Luke G from Czech Republic with 4 ratings

This rum goes well with coke. Its not really enjoyable just plain for sipping. Works good in mixed drinks.

Ffffff

Posted 8 years ago by Don Tucker from United States with 194 ratings

This is a very good dark rum that is not bad in Dark N Stormy's, but better suited to rum punches or mai tais.

Ffffff

Posted 8 years ago by Remy Chevalier from United States with 34 ratings

Honestly I can't even remember what it tastes like... it's become so ubiquitous... remind me to try it again later. I suspect it's chuck full of artificial color and flavor, but I might be wrong, and that might be really mean to say. If there was an edit or delete for these reviews I would update for sure, but I'm three reviews short of getting my free El Dorado nip, so I'm reaching, sorry guys! ;o)

Ffffff

Posted 8 years ago by LDNShindiggery from United Kingdom with 71 ratings

Better than your typical navy rum, this heavy molasses has bags of stewed fruit and treacle on offer. Great for cocktails.

Ffffff

Posted 8 years ago by Daniel from United States with 29 ratings

This is a good standard dark rum available in most bars. It's not as silky as some of the better ones but I can drink it straight or chilled. It's not as syrupy/molassesy as a Black Seal or a Blackstrap, I think the alcohol finish is what puts me off the most, just not as mellow as I prefer.

Ffffff

Posted over 8 years ago by Ginge Hiscutt from United States with 8 ratings

This rum is OK if no other is around. It has a subtle taste and goes down easily

Ffffff

Posted over 8 years ago by Kaine from United States with 3 ratings

Good mixer, but also nice on ice.

Ffffff

Posted over 8 years ago by Diana Rose from United Kingdom with 1 rating

First sampled in the Bahamas to an old Jamaican punch recipe, this rum can hold its own in rainy Devon, which says a lot.