Posting your rating...
Myers's Original Dark rum

Myers's Original Dark

Jamaica | Dark

Myer’s Original Dark Rum is a blend of up to nine different rums of various ages, all of which are distilled using Jamaica's typical production method: pot-stills. The Original Dark Rum is slightly unique in Jamaica however, because some of the molasses used earlier in the process is added back in after distillation.

Myers rum has been produced since 1879 and named after its founder, Fred Myers.

5.6/10
329 ratings
Easily consumable in a bind

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
4
10
14
28
64
96
72
27
9
5

Rate Myers's Original Dark

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

329 Myers's Original Dark ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted almost 7 years ago by Frank mac from United Kingdom with 53 ratings

Myers is another rum which is nice with coke but too strong tasting for on the rocks.

Ffffff

Posted over 6 years ago by Dan Ozga from United States with 4 ratings

This is a dark sweet rum that pairs perfect with coke a cola. This should be in all houses for a great go to.

Small profile 1

Posted over 7 years ago by Andy (PREMIUM) from United Kingdom with 115 ratings

Pretty much sweet molasses with a bad bite if straight. I don't particularly fancy it with code either - almost a fake sweet after taste. Think I'll stick with Plantation or a few others as coke mixers.

Ffffff

Posted 12 days ago by Dwight from United States with 2 ratings

I don't care for the strong flavor of this rum as a primary flavor, but I'll add just 1/2 oz. to a cocktail for a bit of that Jamaican funk. So the bottle should last me a long time.

Ffffff

Posted 23 days ago by Polou from France with 35 ratings

This rum is a traditional dark rum from Jamaica. With the addition of molasses in the barrel during aging.

The nose is very fruity and we also smell molasses.
In mouth you can feel: molasses, ans vanilla slightly.

It is a very fragrant rum but not for sipping in my opinion. It’s excellent for cocktails. I take it regularly to replace Bacardi or Captain Morgan.

Ffffff

Posted 2 months ago by Tikihead from United States with 6 ratings

Another great rum for mixing on a budget. I like to use it in my everyday Mai Tai along with Cruzan Gold (now called dark for some reason). Good in a rum and coke.

Small 403c5f11 2f48 4dea 8823 9856dfa4a809

Posted 4 months ago by Stefan Persson (TASTING CLUB) from Sweden with 237 ratings

Bought me some bottles cause I couldn’t find Goslings to a competitive price cause I needed some dark rum to make Dark ‘N’ Stormys during the quite short Swedish summer.
Tasted it first neat against Goslings Black Seal. Myers’s was then a clear winner because of nose and finish.
When making the Dark ‘N’ Stormy contest I think it’s up to one and each of us to decide.
When using Myers’s you get much more rum feeling mostly because of the finish.
I prefer Myers’s but Goslings is also great so I think it’s all about personal opinion and taste.
Pictures: My opened bottle together with the Goslings & A Dark ‘N ‘ Stormy with Myers’s, both photos out in Stockholm archipelago.

Ffffff

Posted 5 months ago by CK from United States with 22 ratings

I think for most people Myer's rum is something that just appears in your bar once you buy more than 10 bottles of booze. No one ever remembers buying it, but there it always is.

And many people, like myself, just throw it in certain cocktails that call for a dark rum just because it's the most "recognizable" dark rum (plus it's always in everyone's home bar, possibly appearing spontaneously as the offspring of an unused bottle of Bacardi and that off-brand Irish Creme a relative left there one holiday). I never gave it a second thought or even thought to try and drink it neat to see what it really tastes like. So tonight I decided to give it a try. And you know what? It's pretty good!

Right off the bat the nose is heavy with black strap molasses (which I love that smell), some allspice and hazelnut and a bit of coffee. There is a decent alcohol smell to it but its not too overpowering.

Mouthfeel is pretty good, almost buttery with some upfront tobacco, leather and caramel and some raisin following up. I get a nice chocolate, smokey aftertaste. These are all flavors I like in a spirit and Im glad I gave Myers a try straight as now I have a better idea of what other uses I can find for it in cocktails than the limited ones I was using it for previously.

Now honestly, I may not go out of my way to sip this neat, but I wouldn't say no to sipping it again if someone offered or was in the mood for a little something with some bite to it. But at least I now have a better understanding of all the new uses I can make of this. And I think that makes Myers a pretty good rum.

Ffffff

Posted 5 months ago by rumbum from United States with 4 ratings

A personal favorite for many years. Great color and taste with a wonderful aroma. Perfect mixer for anything such as juice or soda, anything.

Small rr

Posted 6 months ago by KINhuna from United States with 11 ratings

A good ingredient to any buccaneer's tropical recipe.

Small img 20210101 wa0019

Posted 9 months ago by Craiglee from Netherlands with 77 ratings

Really cheap, even in the Netherlands (12€). Smells very strong out of the bottle, but fades nicely with cola. Not my favourite Jamaican rum, but certainly better than anything in this low, low price bracket.