Posting your rating...
Myers's Original Dark rum

Myers's Original Dark

Jamaica | Dark

Myer’s Original Dark Rum is a blend of up to nine different rums of various ages, all of which are distilled using Jamaica's typical production method: pot-stills. The Original Dark Rum is slightly unique in Jamaica however, because some of the molasses used earlier in the process is added back in after distillation.

Myers rum has been produced since 1879 and named after its founder, Fred Myers.

5.6/10 (302 ratings)
Easily consumable in a bind

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
3
10
14
28
62
86
62
25
7
5

Rate Myers's Original Dark

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

302 Myers's Original Dark ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Jonte Json from Sweden with 110 ratings

THE very best for Cuba Libre, with excellent molasses sweetness. A must for Cuba Libre lovers!

Ffffff

Posted 9 days ago by MeyersFan from United States with 5 ratings

Close to perfection for a dark rum! Dense and smooth. Great with cola or ginger ale.

Ffffff

Posted 14 days ago by Craiglee from Netherlands with 41 ratings

Really cheap, even in the Netherlands (12€). Smells very strong out of the bottle, but fades nicely with cola. Not my favourite Jamaican rum, but certainly better than anything in this low, low price bracket.

Ffffff

Posted 14 days ago by jamesshaffer (PREMIUM) from United States with 27 ratings

This rum isn't special, but it serves its purpose well in mixed drinks.

Small img 20201126 wa0013

Posted 20 days ago by Ladislao from Russian Federation with 20 ratings

Настоящая Ямайка, в ее лучших проявлениях! Достаточно молод, но на правильном пути к тому самому Ямайскому фанку. Дерзкий, безукоризненный он явно не для прекрасной половины пола...

Ffffff

Posted 1 month ago by ronBastion from Germany with 9 ratings

Pretty good rum for mixing with strong molasses flavour. Easy to find. Big value for little money!

Ffffff

Posted 3 months ago by Tab Bonidy from United States with 5 ratings

This is best as a topper for a frozen Pina Colada. Not bad in a Dark and Stormy too, but prefer Goslings . . .

Ffffff

Posted 4 months ago by E_Winston from United States with 17 ratings

As already stated a solid mixer not a sipping rum for me

Ffffff

Posted 4 months ago by IBO from Slovakia with 146 ratings

Bál som sa ochutnať tento rum podobne ako Bozkov. No tu som dostal za tú cenu úplne inú kvalitu. V kategórii do 15eur patrí medzi tie lepšie, daju sa a ním robiť fajn miešané drinky,ale nik neumrie ani keď ho vypije samotný.

Ffffff

Posted 9 months ago by gerben de lange from Aruba with 15 ratings

once upon a time i was out drinking with my buddies, it got late, realities started to blend. i ended up ordering a myers coke, first time i tried it, and simply loved it. fast forward a few days, same bar, same order and then it happened.."what's this? this is not myers! bartender looks at me, says what do mean? and he made me another one, not convinced he made a mistake but better to keep the idiot happy. and now i'm the one staring at my glass in disbelief, i clearly saw him poor from the myers bottle, and before you mention it, no they don't fill crap in premium bottles. i just didn't like it AT ALL. discussed it with the bartender, could he have poured another rum on that evening? it's possible, or me being drunk just had a drunky experience and when sober it plunged into reality. never got the answer. myers, you made me happy for 1 night, you never loved me again.

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by Mujuru from United States with 64 ratings

This was the first rum I saw that was the color of coca cola. I expected it to be overly or sickly sweet...but it wasn't. It is actually a decent enough rum for someone on a real budget. It's also a great rum for mixing, especially for Cuba Libres. You can drink it on the rocks in a pinch but its not really quite at that level. This is one of the most common rums seen in bars for a good reason. It is inexpensive, a great mixer, and acceptable (even if barely) to drink straight. It has a deep molasses taste .

Nose: 6
Palate: 5
Aftertaste: 6
Smoothness: 6
Versatility: 8
Price: 8

Total: 6.5