Posting your rating...
Myers's Original Dark rum

Myer’s Original Dark Rum is a blend of up to nine different rums of various ages, all of which are distilled using Jamaica's typical production method: pot-stills. The Original Dark Rum is slightly unique in Jamaica however, because some of the molasses used earlier in the process is added back in after distillation.

Myers rum has been produced since 1879 and named after its founder, Fred Myers.

Rate Myers's Original Dark

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


270 Myers's Original Dark ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted over 3 years ago by HunterRomario from Czech Republic with 285 ratings

Alkohol: 40 %
Původ: Jamajka
Aroma: Výrazná, silná vůně, hodně melasová, karamelová. Trochu kyselosti, mízy, čerstvé kůry ze stromu, mléčná čokoláda. (86 b)
Chuť: Velmi suchý na jazyku. Karamel, spousta melasy, v dochuti pak lehká nahořklost, lékořice a opálené dřevo. (80 b)
Body: 83
Shrnutí: Tento rum se používá hlavně do míchaných nápojů. Vůně je oproti chuti výrazně zajímavější. Stylově i vzhledem k ceně a hlavnímu účelu použití nemám žádné výhrady, na grog nebo třeba do tiramisu musí být super. Ale dá se pít i normálně samotný.

Posted 6 months ago by DerMassi from Germany with 20 ratings

Classic, not easy to mix because of it's special taste, but a nice one in the winter.

Posted 6 months ago by 5xo from Slovakia with 237 ratings

It is not going to blow your mind, it is not for sipping but can be a good mixer with its caramel tone over a rum base.

Posted 6 months ago by stevie10 from Germany with 5 ratings

Strong flavoured dark rum well suited to mix drinks.

Posted 7 months ago by Regan from Canada with 69 ratings

No this rum isn’t a sipper but hell you got to have this on hand for making tiki cocktails a true must have

Posted 8 months ago by Tim bascombe from United States with 14 ratings

Sorry but this rum is a flavor bomb ggggggggggggggggggggg

Posted 8 months ago by Red from United States with 7 ratings

This is some pretty dark stuff. It definitely has a molasses smell and taste without the sweetness. It mixes well with juice, and cola, though I haven't tried it with ginger beer. Definitely a mixer, but an interesting one

Posted 8 months ago by jelmd from Germany with 17 ratings

Find den ziemlich gut (wahrscheinlich wollte Captain Morgan Dark mal dahin, hat aber vergessen, rechtzeitig abzubiegen ;-)). Anyway, diesen Rum kann man auch pur den ganzen Abend trinken und ist besonders denen zu empfehlen, die ein bisl mehr Bumms im Glas haben möchten. Einem Hurricane, Dark and Stormy, Elke's Dark Soul, etc. verleiht er ordentlich Character und ist mit Sicherheit auch bei vielen anderen Cocktails durchaus eine sehr gute Wahl.

Posted 10 months ago by Jaybird from United States with 47 ratings

The aroma of this rum is really unique as soon as it hits the glass. Sitting in a snifter it had a full aroma oozing out of the glass to my nose. Funky, molasses, dry and warm. Almost fruity at times.
The taste is a bit rough around the edges straight up but it makes wonderful cocktails. Fairly dry on the palate with a medium light body. Expected light funkiness of a Jamaican, woody, dry in the finish. First sip seems very warm but subsequent sips are smoother and do not seem so hot. Fairly one dimensional flavor to me by itself but I think this is what makes it so great in a cocktail. It does it's thing without getting in the way of other complementing flavors. Wonderful to blend with other rums with complementing flavor components.
As a mixer I'd give it an overall 7.5+ but straight up I'd say a 6 at best. Use it for what it was made for, punches and cocktails. Everyone should have a bottle just for that reason.

Posted 10 months ago by Dalamar from United States with 1 rating

And it even tastes good straight!

I get a strong cherry taste, grapefruit, and some wood taste/smell, way more complex than anything else I've had locally sold (our stores don't carry much though). Taste is very potent and so is the smell. It has some bitterness but it's not an offensive bitterness (like cheap stuff) to me.

I strongly suspect I am biased towards jamaican rums with a lot of hogo, take it as you will

Posted 10 months ago by redbanklee from United States with 1 rating

over all, i am not a rum guy, but if i were to pick one, this would be it. my father had this in hi liquor cabinet, so I guess that makes me just that much more impartial.

Posted 11 months ago by BlackP2 from United States with 12 ratings

A decent enough Rum, I don't drink it much anymore cause there are now so many better choices now. But if your out, any bar or restaurant will probably have it. This was reportedly Ian Fleming's go to when he was in Jamaica. Essential in several classic recipes. A bit heavy on the molasses but very mixable.

Posted 11 months ago by Doc (PREMIUM) from United States with 26 ratings

This is a rum that should be on the shelf, & is a great mixer for rum drinks. Strong taste with an after burn, not a great rum straight up or on the rocks - but perfect in a mixed rum punch!

Posted 11 months ago by Paul from Australia with 104 ratings

This is a fine young rum dark and delicious and sits well at tables

Posted about 1 year ago by Reiwa from Japan with 136 ratings

The flavor is not bad but the taste is not good at all.
It is difficult to drink for me, it can be used for rum raisin and some cakes.
Drop it on ice cream and it was good.

Posted about 1 year ago by daveyjones from Australia with 21 ratings

Open that big, brown, square bottle and sniff up the molasses, over cooked prunes and burnt sugar. You probably love it even though you don’t know that you do.... or why.
Have a sip.
Bitter, hollow, blackstrap and burnt brown sugar.

What about with some lime and Ginger beer?
Now THAT is a dark and stormy!
Delicious and addictive. You

And in a Mai Tai......?

You get the picture.

Posted about 1 year ago by tondak80 from Czech Republic with 32 ratings

samotný pro mě nepitelný. divná vůně a nepříjemná chuť. do koly asi OK

Posted about 1 year ago by JellyJortikka from Finland with 46 ratings

40% abv column still rum, molasses and caramel probably added, maybe the best in its pricerance, it offers good basic dark jamaican funk flavors in a easily mixable form.
Lot of dark treacle molasses, some medium jamaican dunder flavors. Dry on the finish.
Is more milder on the palate dunder wise than the intense smith&cross and also less complex in flavor but overall is super tasty and balanced when mixed in any cocktail, i recommend trying painkiller, queens park swizzle or jamaican milk punch with this rum.

Posted about 1 year ago by kevin_kaye from United States with 8 ratings

Meyers's Original Dark is a staple dark rum. Sweet and burned flavors, it's a wonderful mixer for many recipes, and as a floater on top of sweeter drinks like pina coladas. Also mixes well with a straight-up rum and coke. But it can be a bit medicinal on its own.

Posted about 1 year ago by johnrullan from Puerto Rico with 21 ratings

I learned to drink Myer’s when I lived in the continental US and enjoyed its brown sugar flavor with watery coca cola & plenty of ice. By the second drink I eas into Jamaica rhythms and it reminded me of my Puerto Rico.....great taste and refreshing!

Posted over 1 year ago by Jason from United States with 67 ratings

I love using this as a multi rum mixer. It is sweet, but also great with coke. Great molasses and vanilla notes.

Posted over 1 year ago by René from Netherlands with 31 ratings

Maybe because it is a blend of rums of various ages, I get confused. Not a strong nose, but strong on the palet. I have drank it mixed, but prefer to make great Christmas puddings and cakes with it.

Posted over 1 year ago by Harry Molema from South Africa with 22 ratings

Strong dark rum. Wouldn’t recommend it on the rocks. Not an everyday rum... but enjoyable if you wanted a stronger heavy aftertaste

Posted over 1 year ago by Rick from Netherlands with 20 ratings

Ik moet eerlijk zeggen dat dit niks voor mij is. Ik heb veel rum gedronken maar dit is toch 1 van de mindere.

Posted over 1 year ago by je_farley from United States with 101 ratings

Starts with a heavy aroma that leads to a distinctive taste. This is not a sipping rum, it is the perfect rum for mixing with carbonated drinks, coke being the most favorite. I like it with 7-up or Sprite for the lighter side, also good with other runs for blending.

A true classic that should be in every bar...