Posting your rating...
Myers's Original Dark rum

Myer’s Original Dark Rum is a blend of up to nine different rums of various ages, all of which are distilled using Jamaica's typical production method: pot-stills. The Original Dark Rum is slightly unique in Jamaica however, because some of the molasses used earlier in the process is added back in after distillation.

Myers rum has been produced since 1879 and named after its founder, Fred Myers.

Rate Myers's Original Dark

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


270 Myers's Original Dark ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted over 3 years ago by HunterRomario from Czech Republic with 285 ratings

Alkohol: 40 %
Původ: Jamajka
Aroma: Výrazná, silná vůně, hodně melasová, karamelová. Trochu kyselosti, mízy, čerstvé kůry ze stromu, mléčná čokoláda. (86 b)
Chuť: Velmi suchý na jazyku. Karamel, spousta melasy, v dochuti pak lehká nahořklost, lékořice a opálené dřevo. (80 b)
Body: 83
Shrnutí: Tento rum se používá hlavně do míchaných nápojů. Vůně je oproti chuti výrazně zajímavější. Stylově i vzhledem k ceně a hlavnímu účelu použití nemám žádné výhrady, na grog nebo třeba do tiramisu musí být super. Ale dá se pít i normálně samotný.

Posted almost 5 years ago by B from United States with 23 ratings

Love this stuff. Good strong Jamaican rum right here. Mixes well like everyone else has already said. A bit bitter.

Posted almost 5 years ago by Dustin R. Newton from United States with 33 ratings

I agree with others. Use it for a rum and Coke, but leave it there.

Posted about 5 years ago by Earl Elliott from Canada with 190 ratings

Sugar: 6 to 10 gpl. This is the rum that you need for Pina Colada or a Rum and coke. It is not a sipping rum but when you are at a resort this is an upgrade to whatever they are using for the bar rum. In a pinch choose this over whatever else is on the resort bar shelf for a mixer.

Posted about 6 years ago by Andy from United Kingdom with 136 ratings

Pretty much sweet molasses with a bad bite if straight. I don't particularly fancy it with code either - almost a fake sweet after taste. Think I'll stick with Plantation or a few others as coke mixers.

Posted 10 days ago by Cjbspender from Germany with 32 ratings

Do not try this neat, it is a mixer and nothing else.

Posted 14 days ago by Hotvw1 from Canada with 37 ratings

It tastes ok. I wouldn’t go out and buy it unless like I said it was the best thing in the store.

Posted 19 days ago by Lubber from United States with 9 ratings

I haven’t tried this neat but it works fairly well in a cocktail. Although for the price ($20 around me) you could probably do better. It shouldn’t really matter but the plastic bottle does make it feel cheap.

Posted 20 days ago by jeffjp from United States with 6 ratings

What I expect from this rum; Aroma- deep sweet sugar like Demara melting on the stove, molasses, mild alcohol, that "rummy sweet" smell you get from a dark rum. What I get is nasty plastic/ chemical, hard to even describe smell. The flavor should be rich, deep, again dark sugar, molasses, with a little smack on the back end. NOPE! This is a GROSS chemical taste. I bought this bottle of Myers to make dark and stormys, and painkillers (I prefer dark rum to Navy strength). All the drinks made (3 in total) were completely un-drinkable. Not an expensive bottle, but not cheap so I'm pretty mad that I have to dump it down the drain. I wouldn't even risk cooking with it.

Posted 21 days ago by Scubadarren from Canada with 1 rating

One of my favorite dark rums for mixed drinks and as a bonus it’s very reasonably priced! Unfortunately, can’t buy in Canada so I usually pick up on trips.

Posted 21 days ago by Grey3245 from United States with 1 rating

Really good dark rum. It’s smooth and rich in flavor. I enjoy Coke or Pepsi with 2oz shot. Also very good in other mixed drinks. I’m shocked the rating is 5.8. Should be around a 7.8. Anyway very good rum always mellows me out.

Posted 26 days ago by henkbolk from Netherlands with 7 ratings

Good for mixing, punches or hot chocolate tea or coffee

Posted about 1 month ago by gerben de lange from Aruba with 15 ratings

once upon a time i was out drinking with my buddies, it got late, realities started to blend. i ended up ordering a myers coke, first time i tried it, and simply loved it. fast forward a few days, same bar, same order and then it happened.."what's this? this is not myers! bartender looks at me, says what do mean? and he made me another one, not convinced he made a mistake but better to keep the idiot happy. and now i'm the one staring at my glass in disbelief, i clearly saw him poor from the myers bottle, and before you mention it, no they don't fill crap in premium bottles. i just didn't like it AT ALL. discussed it with the bartender, could he have poured another rum on that evening? it's possible, or me being drunk just had a drunky experience and when sober it plunged into reality. never got the answer. myers, you made me happy for 1 night, you never loved me again.

Posted about 1 month ago by butWHYistherumgone from United States with 12 ratings

Not much to say here. Cheap, decent, and available. This is a great rum to have around. After a few drinks, I can guarantee you won't taste the difference between this any other mixing rum in a decent cocktail. Maybe a Daquiri.

Posted about 2 months ago by Adreinke (PREMIUM) from United States with 17 ratings

This is the only dark rum most American bars carry. Not my favorite and I will drink a spiced over it.

Posted 3 months ago by Ormondefg from Ireland with 7 ratings

This is usually the best dark rum a bar may have, so I've had plenty of this over the years when ordering a rum and coke. I'm not a fan of spiced rum, but I like dark rum, so this is usually my best option at a cheap bar. Better than other similar priced rums for mixing, but not by a lot.

Posted 3 months ago by LordImmaFord from United States with 13 ratings

But still not great. Again if this is the only rum the bar you're at mixes then run for the hills. Your bartender doesn't know anything.

Posted 3 months ago by Russ Meredith from United States with 12 ratings

Molasses nose. Medium sweetness with a lot of molasses. No mouth burn, brown sugar and molasses finish. Love it!

Posted 4 months ago by tortemd from Germany with 50 ratings

Guter Standard für nen einfachen Jamaikaner. Greife inzwischen lieber zum Blackwell.

Posted 4 months ago by JeffBuck from United States with 80 ratings

For certain cocktails this is a required rum but not something id6drink everyday.

Posted 4 months ago by Rhun from United States with 11 ratings

This is a classic mixing rum, but I find it too heavy and too much of a molasses taste. I have other favorites for floating a mai tai.

Posted 4 months ago by Rod from United States with 16 ratings

I was quite surprised by the strong flavor of brown sugar or molasses. It is really excellent in a rum and coke.

Posted 5 months ago by Mujuru from United States with 35 ratings

This was the first rum I saw that was the color of coca cola. I expected it to be overly or sickly sweet...but it wasn't. It is actually a decent enough rum for someone on a real budget. It's also a great rum for mixing, especially for Cuba Libres. You can drink it on the rocks in a pinch but its not really quite at that level. This is one of the most common rums seen in bars for a good reason. It is inexpensive, a great mixer, and acceptable (even if barely) to drink straight. It has a deep molasses taste with a slight funkiness to it.

Posted 5 months ago by bigbpdx from United States with 1 rating

Great dark rum, smooth but strong flavor. My favorite dark rum.

Posted 5 months ago by Samuelsbay from United Kingdom with 12 ratings

Many a Planter’s Punch or rum cocktail used to be made with this in all the beach bars and hotels in JA (along with Wray Nephews overproof) 🤓. I am sure Air Jamaica used to serve miniatures of this as well as Appleton.