Posting your rating...
Myers's Original Dark rum

Myers's Original Dark

Jamaica | Dark

Myer’s Original Dark Rum is a blend of up to nine different rums of various ages, all of which are distilled using Jamaica's typical production method: pot-stills. The Original Dark Rum is slightly unique in Jamaica however, because some of the molasses used earlier in the process is added back in after distillation.

Myers rum has been produced since 1879 and named after its founder, Fred Myers.

5.6/10 (293 ratings)
Easily consumable in a bind

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
3
10
13
28
61
82
60
24
7
5

Rate Myers's Original Dark

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


293 Myers's Original Dark ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by Mario H from United States with 10 ratings

I love this rum for mixed drinks. The dark sweet and sugary taste makes it a great rum for the perfect piña colada.

My overall favorite for mixed drinks.

Not great for sipping. Unless you have had more than a few of the good one and you run out of other options. Way too sweet.

Ffffff

Posted over 6 years ago by Michael Evans from United Kingdom with 81 ratings

A generic dark rum, nothing special about the flavour and not really smooth enough to drink straight.

Small 310ba019 0ca0 4200 8756 cbdeaeddc8f5

Posted 2 months ago by Jimmy Cliff (PREMIUM) from United States with 210 ratings

I have had so many more rums than I have time to write about. Myers original dark should be a bar staple for tiki drinks, although my quest has taken me far from that arena. But I tell you what a Myers and Pineapple is like a pairing made in heaven. Will do in a pinch for rum coke when left with no better options.

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by Rene Rum from Switzerland with 369 ratings

Ein sehr aromatischer Rum zum kochen, backen und mixen.

A very aromatic rum for cooking, baking and mixing.

Ffffff

Posted almost 5 years ago by Commodore from United States with 4 ratings

Classic and must have for any bar. Great floater on Mai Tai's

Ffffff

Posted almost 5 years ago by Matt from United States with 27 ratings

I like Myer's for making Mai Tai's and feel it would be great in other sweet tropical drinks. I thought it was a bit harsh straight. I think Goslings is slightly smoother. As for mixing with coke, I prefer Captain, but this is not bad. A good standard in dark rum to have in the bar for tropical mixers.

Ffffff

Posted almost 5 years ago by Kurtiki from United States with 11 ratings

This is a great mixing rum for recipes calling for dark rum. I use it in my Mai Tai and hurricanes, etc.

Ffffff

Posted almost 5 years ago by Jerry de la Hoya from United States with 26 ratings

Smoother than other widely distributed dark rums- I much prefer Myer's to Gostling's. I find the alcohol is more subdued on the finish and the depth of flavor more complex. It is my go-to for floats and mixed drinks.

Ffffff

Posted 5 years ago by Jack from United States with 16 ratings

One of the most famous rums in the world, fine example of dark rum as introduction, as well as Jamaican rum, it is hard to go back once you've tasted better. But I do.

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by Falcon91Wolvrn03 (PREMIUM) from United States with 447 ratings

I think this rum has agricole (sugar cane) mixed in. It also includes notes of molasses, brown sugar, and a light peppery spice. Goes down smooth for 40% abv and is a pretty good dark rum.

Ffffff

Posted almost 6 years ago by Dan Ozga from United States with 4 ratings

This is a dark sweet rum that pairs perfect with coke a cola. This should be in all houses for a great go to.