Posting your rating...
Myers's Original Dark rum

Myers's Original Dark

Jamaica | Dark

Myer’s Original Dark Rum is a blend of up to nine different rums of various ages, all of which are distilled using Jamaica's typical production method: pot-stills. The Original Dark Rum is slightly unique in Jamaica however, because some of the molasses used earlier in the process is added back in after distillation.

Myers rum has been produced since 1879 and named after its founder, Fred Myers.

5.6/10(307 ratings)
Easily consumable in a bind

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
4
10
14
28
63
87
63
26
7
5

Rate Myers's Original Dark

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

307 Myers's Original Dark ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Jonte Json from Sweden with 110 ratings

THE very best for Cuba Libre, with excellent molasses sweetness. A must for Cuba Libre lovers!

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by poosu from United States with 38 ratings

I wasn't expecting much as I tried this at a friends house who isn't much of a rum drinker. Had it on the rocks and it seemed rather harsh at the time. I see this has a decent pedigree so I may give it a second chance, but my one glass impression is there are better options at this price.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Snookerman from United Kingdom with 129 ratings

I didn't think much of this. I hear people on this site claming that it makes a great mixer...well that can depend how much you want to hide the flavour if the rum isn't very good, and how much you are working with it if it is. In this case, I'd be wanting to hide it. Above all, I found this bitter and lacking complexity. For only slightly more, Havana Club 7 is hugely superior and is much better neat and in the mix.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Marc-Andre from Canada with 21 ratings

Le pire rhum que j'ai goûté, même en Cuba libre c'est pas bon!!!!

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Johannes from Germany with 2 ratings

Info: Trinke Rum nur pur.

Riecht richtig schön schokoladig. Geschmacklich geht er auch in die Richtung, er erinnert mich irgendwie an die Weihnachtszeit. Ich finde ihn nur leider zu stark beim ersten Schluck.
Warum nur 5/10? Der Myer's war mein erster gekaufter Rum und daher der Einstieg in meine Bewertungen.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by TKNY from United States with 6 ratings

This has a strong taste. It is a ok rum for making sweet mixed drinks. There are better quality rims in this category for about the same price.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by quarkster from United States with 1 rating

Took a little time to appreciate some of the darker, navy rums, but I took a liking to Myers immediately. I enjoy it mixed or on the rocks. It's full bodied and full flavored for a 40%er which I like since many of the darker rums are over-proofed. Myers is a bold rum not for everyone's taste, but I am never disappointed when it is served.

Ffffff

Posted almost 3 years ago by Steven Richardson from United Kingdom with 124 ratings

I was recommended this by someone who found out i was a rum lover. I can only conclude they didnt like me. Glad i didnt but a bottle. Mind you I’m not a big fan of dark, navy or most jamaican rum.

Ffffff

Posted almost 3 years ago by Chris Brearley from United Kingdom with 26 ratings

Not a fan. Drinkable with coke but that's all I can say about it.

Ffffff

Posted almost 3 years ago by dd639 from United States with 3 ratings

This is my default rum and I drink rum on the rocks. Myer's dark is a little harsher than I'd like, as others point out, but at the easy-to-find / affordable level, I don't have one I like better (yet). I'll keep looking. After a minute or two on the rocks, it softens enough to sip just fine and help me hang loose. I like the flavor too and it's not too sweet, which is very important to me.

Ffffff

Posted almost 3 years ago by Timbo from Netherlands with 1 rating

Nice but not for a couple in a row. Drank this one during trip in Aruba.