Posting your rating...
Myers's Original Dark rum

Myers's Original Dark

Jamaica | Dark

Myer’s Original Dark Rum is a blend of up to nine different rums of various ages, all of which are distilled using Jamaica's typical production method: pot-stills. The Original Dark Rum is slightly unique in Jamaica however, because some of the molasses used earlier in the process is added back in after distillation.

Myers rum has been produced since 1879 and named after its founder, Fred Myers.

5.6/10(307 ratings)
Easily consumable in a bind

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
4
10
14
28
63
87
63
26
7
5

Rate Myers's Original Dark

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

307 Myers's Original Dark ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Jonte Json from Sweden with 110 ratings

THE very best for Cuba Libre, with excellent molasses sweetness. A must for Cuba Libre lovers!

Ffffff

Posted 2 years ago by Luca Tranter from Hong Kong with 2 ratings

Good mixer rum and definitely grows on you. Didn't used to like rum but if you start slow you'll love it soon enough. Maybe not the best to start with though.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Rum58 from United States with 1 rating

Meyer’s has a terrible after taste. Not smooth. But in most bars this is the only dark rum available. Without marketing this rum would not exist

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Jamcan69 from Canada with 13 ratings

Purchased a bottle on a golf trip as it was on sale. Next time I'll spend more to enjoy my mixed drinks. Drank with Coke and with Gingerale.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by d from United States with 3 ratings

Myers is a good all around Rum. You can do anything with it. Sip it, mix it, blender it with some Coco Lopez and pineapple juice, or as a Floater on top of your favorite cocktail. Are there better Rums? Of Course! That's why we love this website!!! But for a good go to Rum, Myers is hard to beat.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by scoot555 from United States with 21 ratings

Great dark rum taste. In Jamica they ask "Do you want a rum floater mun?" then they added this to the top of your Pina Colada. Good flavor and a nice kick.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by John Smith from Canada with 38 ratings

Parfait pour un rhum and coke. Mais pas assez bon pour boire straight.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by YankeesBaby from United States with 1 rating

Created this account just to rate this rum, bought a bottle a few nights ago and it was fantastic.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Raymond from United States with 1 rating

I bought my first bottle of Myers's on a whim in June, the day after I had poured the last drop from my bottle of Gosling's Black Seal, and in my humble opinion, the buck stops here. It melds beautifully with every mixer that I have thrown at it - orange juice, lemon juice, mango nectar, pineapple juice, lemonade, coconut milk, Dr. Pepper, Coca-Cola, and even Arizona Sweet Tea - but at the end of the day, I generally drink it neat. I actually enjoy the fact that it isn't quite as smooth on the palate as Gosling's because it compels me to pace myself, sipping it slowly and taking the time to savor it, and enjoy every nuance of the vanilla and molasses notes.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Jimr from United States with 19 ratings

Burnt molasses flavored sugar cookies. Drink this? No. Worst rum ever and eventually poured the rest down the sink. Tried to like it. But don't know why this is still sold in liquor stores because its so awful.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Duane Cooper from United States with 2 ratings

I enjoy this with a coke, however it is not what I would prefer to sip it the end of an evening.