Posting your rating...
Myers's Original Dark rum

Myers's Original Dark

Jamaica | Dark

Myer’s Original Dark Rum is a blend of up to nine different rums of various ages, all of which are distilled using Jamaica's typical production method: pot-stills. The Original Dark Rum is slightly unique in Jamaica however, because some of the molasses used earlier in the process is added back in after distillation.

Myers rum has been produced since 1879 and named after its founder, Fred Myers.

5.6/10 (302 ratings)
Easily consumable in a bind

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
3
10
14
28
62
86
62
25
7
5

Rate Myers's Original Dark

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

302 Myers's Original Dark ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Jonte Json from Sweden with 110 ratings

THE very best for Cuba Libre, with excellent molasses sweetness. A must for Cuba Libre lovers!

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by René from Netherlands with 32 ratings

Maybe because it is a blend of rums of various ages, I get confused. Not a strong nose, but strong on the palet. I have drank it mixed, but prefer to make great Christmas puddings and cakes with it.

Ffffff

Posted 2 years ago by Harry Molema from South Africa with 26 ratings

Strong dark rum. Wouldn’t recommend it on the rocks. Not an everyday rum... but enjoyable if you wanted a stronger heavy aftertaste

Ffffff

Posted 2 years ago by Rick from Netherlands with 21 ratings

Ik moet eerlijk zeggen dat dit niks voor mij is. Ik heb veel rum gedronken maar dit is toch 1 van de mindere.

Ffffff

Posted 2 years ago by je_farley from United States with 107 ratings

Starts with a heavy aroma that leads to a distinctive taste. This is not a sipping rum, it is the perfect rum for mixing with carbonated drinks, coke being the most favorite. I like it with 7-up or Sprite for the lighter side, also good with other runs for blending.

A true classic that should be in every bar...

Ffffff

Posted 2 years ago by Lou from United States with 2 ratings

Rich, deep flavorful dark rum that goes down easily.

Ffffff

Posted 2 years ago by Luca Tranter from Hong Kong with 2 ratings

Good mixer rum and definitely grows on you. Didn't used to like rum but if you start slow you'll love it soon enough. Maybe not the best to start with though.

Ffffff

Posted 2 years ago by Rum58 from United States with 1 rating

Meyer’s has a terrible after taste. Not smooth. But in most bars this is the only dark rum available. Without marketing this rum would not exist

Ffffff

Posted 2 years ago by Jamcan69 from Canada with 13 ratings

Purchased a bottle on a golf trip as it was on sale. Next time I'll spend more to enjoy my mixed drinks. Drank with Coke and with Gingerale.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by d from United States with 3 ratings

Myers is a good all around Rum. You can do anything with it. Sip it, mix it, blender it with some Coco Lopez and pineapple juice, or as a Floater on top of your favorite cocktail. Are there better Rums? Of Course! That's why we love this website!!! But for a good go to Rum, Myers is hard to beat.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by scoot555 from United States with 21 ratings

Great dark rum taste. In Jamica they ask "Do you want a rum floater mun?" then they added this to the top of your Pina Colada. Good flavor and a nice kick.