Posting your rating...
Myers's Original Dark rum

Myer’s Original Dark Rum is a blend of up to nine different rums of various ages, all of which are distilled using Jamaica's typical production method: pot-stills. The Original Dark Rum is slightly unique in Jamaica however, because some of the molasses used earlier in the process is added back in after distillation.

Myers rum has been produced since 1879 and named after its founder, Fred Myers.

Rate Myers's Original Dark

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


274 Myers's Original Dark ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

4eb36190a963506e34b5496e45e2d86e.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 6 years ago by Helena Tiare from Sweden with 110 ratings

One of the staples for tropical and tiki drinks. It`s not among the best, not at all but some tiki drinks just need this rum.

442d04c6c00378eb927b39f35a9012cd.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 2 years ago by DAMITJOE from United States with 8 ratings

As a sailor conducting oceanographic research in the Caribbean in the late 70s, we had ready access to Myers. Drinkable on the rock and mixed well with cola and ginger beer. Nothing great, but a consistently good drink. Color is dark and appealing an aroma is good with a hint of burnt molasses. Last time I drank it was at the Hubba Hubba club on hotel Street in Honolulu and can't honestly say I remember much past that. If you have a hankering for genuine dark molasses rum, don't turn your nose up at Myer's.

A1f8b09fb98b4fe9e81ee360a7625e2b.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 2 years ago by Laurent Lapierre from Canada with 59 ratings

Rhum bon pour les cocktails, ne pas boire seul, c'est déconseillé

E64bf7e26e7537f100b622b2dca6cba5.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 2 years ago by piratejabez from United States with 314 ratings

40% ABV. Years ago I used this for baking only, but recently I had the opportunity to actually try it neat. It’s better than I was expecting. It’s youthful, “dark”-tasting, with notes of caramel and a pleasant Jamaican funk underlying it all. It's also not as sweet as Coruba, which could be a pro or a con depending on what you're looking for.

As ubiquitous as this is, it's really not bad, and I'd be satisfied using this in Planter's Punches.

7, 7-

Cd27f76aed989442d2ddf22a205f05d1.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 2 years ago by Luke G from Czech Republic with 4 ratings

This rum goes well with coke. Its not really enjoyable just plain for sipping. Works good in mixed drinks.

87c5dc88e3bb7812dae6d9a8cb221638.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 2 years ago by Chris Edwards from United Kingdom with 20 ratings

I prefer spiced rums, but this was really nice. I personally enjoyed it on the rocks, but it may be too strong for some. Very tasty, hints of smoke, wood, tobacco and molasses. Definitely one to go back to.

E72b306a4360f230f3f639f92b9e4471.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 2 years ago by Raphael from United States with 15 ratings

Great for mixing: nice flavor, some funk, not too sweet. Works great in a Trader Vic's planter's punch: a good amount of flavor, but doesn't overpower the drink. The one annoying thing is that recently, most stores that carry it seem to only have it in plastic bottles

2f948c27692ed73ba308671dd05dadc2.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 2 years ago by Olaf from Netherlands with 56 ratings

Good for mixing. Although there are better ones, depending on your taste. I like the taste of raisens or marzipan in a mixer rum. Like El Dorado Dark or Inner Circle Red. This one clearly doesn't have that.

Cb1e81b1fc20faf14cdd80e1b946b272.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 2 years ago by Vlado from Slovakia with 51 ratings

Slušný priemerný rum, ktorý ma slúžiť na to, na čo je vyrobený. A to ako hlavná prísada do miešaných drinkov. Podľa mňa misia je splnená a nemá význam hodnotiť senzorické vlastnosti tohto rumu, pretože v tejto cenovej relácii nemožno očakávať zážitok ako pri 20 a viac ročných rumoch. Aj keď sa dá s prižmúreným okom vypiť aj samotný, určite urobíte lepšie, keď do neho vylejete kolu alebo ginger beer...pohoda

5c4837bdc936453f4d156395f173f874.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 2 years ago by Joakim Cederlöf from Sweden with 35 ratings

En ok rom.
Absolut inga fel att sitta och smutta på men lyckas inte fängsla dig.
Färgen är mörkröd/brun aromen lite spretig och vass.
Smaken har samma tendenser som aromen, tyvärr...

1ff5b6cf5a65436737f083200dd896c6.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 2 years ago by Cory Wid from United States with 84 ratings

I detect molasses and oak right away on the nose, suggesting some older rum has been blended. The texture is quite creamy, and moderately thick (you can watch it try to stick to the glass in the right light). The flavor is VERY mild, with subtle flavors of caramel and molasses/caramelized sugar. This is a rum made for the masses, for all the people that need something easy and affordable for a mixer, or something that goes down super easy on the rocks.