Posting your rating...
Myers's Original Dark rum

Myers's Original Dark

Jamaica | Dark

Myer’s Original Dark Rum is a blend of up to nine different rums of various ages, all of which are distilled using Jamaica's typical production method: pot-stills. The Original Dark Rum is slightly unique in Jamaica however, because some of the molasses used earlier in the process is added back in after distillation.

Myers rum has been produced since 1879 and named after its founder, Fred Myers.

5.6/10 (293 ratings)
Easily consumable in a bind

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
3
10
13
28
61
82
60
24
7
5

Rate Myers's Original Dark

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


293 Myers's Original Dark ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by Mario H from United States with 10 ratings

I love this rum for mixed drinks. The dark sweet and sugary taste makes it a great rum for the perfect piña colada.

My overall favorite for mixed drinks.

Not great for sipping. Unless you have had more than a few of the good one and you run out of other options. Way too sweet.

Ffffff

Posted 2 years ago by scoot555 from United States with 21 ratings

Great dark rum taste. In Jamica they ask "Do you want a rum floater mun?" then they added this to the top of your Pina Colada. Good flavor and a nice kick.

Ffffff

Posted 2 years ago by John Smith from Canada with 38 ratings

Parfait pour un rhum and coke. Mais pas assez bon pour boire straight.

Ffffff

Posted 2 years ago by YankeesBaby from United States with 1 rating

Created this account just to rate this rum, bought a bottle a few nights ago and it was fantastic.

Ffffff

Posted 2 years ago by Raymond from United States with 1 rating

I bought my first bottle of Myers's on a whim in June, the day after I had poured the last drop from my bottle of Gosling's Black Seal, and in my humble opinion, the buck stops here. It melds beautifully with every mixer that I have thrown at it - orange juice, lemon juice, mango nectar, pineapple juice, lemonade, coconut milk, Dr. Pepper, Coca-Cola, and even Arizona Sweet Tea - but at the end of the day, I generally drink it neat. I actually enjoy the fact that it isn't quite as smooth on the palate as Gosling's because it compels me to pace myself, sipping it slowly and taking the time to savor it, and enjoy every nuance of the vanilla and molasses notes.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Jimr from United States with 18 ratings

Burnt molasses flavored sugar cookies. Drink this? No. Worst rum ever and eventually poured the rest down the sink. Tried to like it. But don't know why this is still sold in liquor stores because its so awful.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Duane Cooper from United States with 2 ratings

I enjoy this with a coke, however it is not what I would prefer to sip it the end of an evening.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by poosu from United States with 38 ratings

I wasn't expecting much as I tried this at a friends house who isn't much of a rum drinker. Had it on the rocks and it seemed rather harsh at the time. I see this has a decent pedigree so I may give it a second chance, but my one glass impression is there are better options at this price.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Snookerman from United Kingdom with 129 ratings

I didn't think much of this. I hear people on this site claming that it makes a great mixer...well that can depend how much you want to hide the flavour if the rum isn't very good, and how much you are working with it if it is. In this case, I'd be wanting to hide it. Above all, I found this bitter and lacking complexity. For only slightly more, Havana Club 7 is hugely superior and is much better neat and in the mix.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Marc-Andre from Canada with 21 ratings

Le pire rhum que j'ai goûté, même en Cuba libre c'est pas bon!!!!

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Johannes from Germany with 2 ratings

Info: Trinke Rum nur pur.

Riecht richtig schön schokoladig. Geschmacklich geht er auch in die Richtung, er erinnert mich irgendwie an die Weihnachtszeit. Ich finde ihn nur leider zu stark beim ersten Schluck.
Warum nur 5/10? Der Myer's war mein erster gekaufter Rum und daher der Einstieg in meine Bewertungen.