Posting your rating...
Myers's Original Dark rum

Myers's Original Dark

Jamaica | Dark

Myer’s Original Dark Rum is a blend of up to nine different rums of various ages, all of which are distilled using Jamaica's typical production method: pot-stills. The Original Dark Rum is slightly unique in Jamaica however, because some of the molasses used earlier in the process is added back in after distillation.

Myers rum has been produced since 1879 and named after its founder, Fred Myers.

5.6/10(307 ratings)
Easily consumable in a bind

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
4
10
14
28
63
87
63
26
7
5

Rate Myers's Original Dark

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

307 Myers's Original Dark ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Jonte Json from Sweden with 110 ratings

THE very best for Cuba Libre, with excellent molasses sweetness. A must for Cuba Libre lovers!

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Red from United States with 7 ratings

This is some pretty dark stuff. It definitely has a molasses smell and taste without the sweetness. It mixes well with juice, and cola, though I haven't tried it with ginger beer. Definitely a mixer, but an interesting one

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by jelmd from Germany with 17 ratings

Find den ziemlich gut (wahrscheinlich wollte Captain Morgan Dark mal dahin, hat aber vergessen, rechtzeitig abzubiegen ;-)). Anyway, diesen Rum kann man auch pur den ganzen Abend trinken und ist besonders denen zu empfehlen, die ein bisl mehr Bumms im Glas haben möchten. Einem Hurricane, Dark and Stormy, Elke's Dark Soul, etc. verleiht er ordentlich Character und ist mit Sicherheit auch bei vielen anderen Cocktails durchaus eine sehr gute Wahl.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Jaybird from United States with 48 ratings

The aroma of this rum is really unique as soon as it hits the glass. Sitting in a snifter it had a full aroma oozing out of the glass to my nose. Funky, molasses, dry and warm. Almost fruity at times.
The taste is a bit rough around the edges straight up but it makes wonderful cocktails. Fairly dry on the palate with a medium light body. Expected light funkiness of a Jamaican, woody, dry in the finish. First sip seems very warm but subsequent sips are smoother and do not seem so hot. Fairly one dimensional flavor to me by itself but I think this is what makes it so great in a cocktail. It does it's thing without getting in the way of other complementing flavors. Wonderful to blend with other rums with complementing flavor components.
As a mixer I'd give it an overall 7.5+ but straight up I'd say a 6 at best. Use it for what it was made for, punches and cocktails. Everyone should have a bottle just for that reason.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Dalamar from United States with 1 rating

And it even tastes good straight!

I get a strong cherry taste, grapefruit, and some wood taste/smell, way more complex than anything else I've had locally sold (our stores don't carry much though). Taste is very potent and so is the smell. It has some bitterness but it's not an offensive bitterness (like cheap stuff) to me.

I strongly suspect I am biased towards jamaican rums with a lot of hogo, take it as you will

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by redbanklee from United States with 1 rating

over all, i am not a rum guy, but if i were to pick one, this would be it. my father had this in hi liquor cabinet, so I guess that makes me just that much more impartial.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by BlackP2 from United States with 12 ratings

A decent enough Rum, I don't drink it much anymore cause there are now so many better choices now. But if your out, any bar or restaurant will probably have it. This was reportedly Ian Fleming's go to when he was in Jamaica. Essential in several classic recipes. A bit heavy on the molasses but very mixable.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Doc (PREMIUM) from United States with 26 ratings

This is a rum that should be on the shelf, & is a great mixer for rum drinks. Strong taste with an after burn, not a great rum straight up or on the rocks - but perfect in a mixed rum punch!

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Paul from Australia with 120 ratings

This is a fine young rum dark and delicious and sits well at tables

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by Reiwa from Japan with 142 ratings

The flavor is not bad but the taste is not good at all.
It is difficult to drink for me, it can be used for rum raisin and some cakes.
Drop it on ice cream and it was good.

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by daveyjones from Australia with 21 ratings

Open that big, brown, square bottle and sniff up the molasses, over cooked prunes and burnt sugar. You probably love it even though you don’t know that you do.... or why.
Have a sip.
Bitter, hollow, blackstrap and burnt brown sugar.

What about with some lime and Ginger beer?
Now THAT is a dark and stormy!
Delicious and addictive. You

And in a Mai Tai......?

You get the picture.