Posting your rating...
Myers's Original Dark rum

Myer’s Original Dark Rum is a blend of up to nine different rums of various ages, all of which are distilled using Jamaica's typical production method: pot-stills. The Original Dark Rum is slightly unique in Jamaica however, because some of the molasses used earlier in the process is added back in after distillation.

Myers rum has been produced since 1879 and named after its founder, Fred Myers.

Rate Myers's Original Dark

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


273 Myers's Original Dark ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

4eb36190a963506e34b5496e45e2d86e.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 6 years ago by Helena Tiare from Sweden with 110 ratings

One of the staples for tropical and tiki drinks. It`s not among the best, not at all but some tiki drinks just need this rum.

78fdbe1c95001067ba6b37ea5ebd5bf2.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 2 years ago by TKNY from United States with 6 ratings

This has a strong taste. It is a ok rum for making sweet mixed drinks. There are better quality rims in this category for about the same price.

35de629161a42ba305245d536d980b84.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 2 years ago by quarkster from United States with 1 rating

Took a little time to appreciate some of the darker, navy rums, but I took a liking to Myers immediately. I enjoy it mixed or on the rocks. It's full bodied and full flavored for a 40%er which I like since many of the darker rums are over-proofed. Myers is a bold rum not for everyone's taste, but I am never disappointed when it is served.

388e0c2591281bbaa7be3ccdb282b09c.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 2 years ago by Steven Richardson from United Kingdom with 124 ratings

I was recommended this by someone who found out i was a rum lover. I can only conclude they didnt like me. Glad i didnt but a bottle. Mind you I’m not a big fan of dark, navy or most jamaican rum.

9c52064be3223d8402484f88a5b069c6.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 2 years ago by Chris Brearley from United Kingdom with 26 ratings

Not a fan. Drinkable with coke but that's all I can say about it.

B84d9facbc032869ffb01b24406b1c72.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 2 years ago by dd639 from United States with 3 ratings

This is my default rum and I drink rum on the rocks. Myer's dark is a little harsher than I'd like, as others point out, but at the easy-to-find / affordable level, I don't have one I like better (yet). I'll keep looking. After a minute or two on the rocks, it softens enough to sip just fine and help me hang loose. I like the flavor too and it's not too sweet, which is very important to me.

312227ca41c0227a9befb2bf43c68acb.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 2 years ago by Timbo from Netherlands with 1 rating

Nice but not for a couple in a row. Drank this one during trip in Aruba.

D2b46b5b61101ee41db70d4ff5f945a4.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 2 years ago by Sam from Netherlands with 14 ratings

Not too funky, a nice bit of caramel and toffee flavors. Love this one in tiki drinks - not the mai tai though, I use Coruba for that one.This one works very well in a Dr. Funk, Planter's punch, Hurricane, navy grog, and maybe even a Queen's Park swizzle (although I use Gosling's for that one).

51171a93bfd87f800863a5cf8bc59038.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 2 years ago by Leonhard from Germany with 22 ratings

Quite a good deal for the price. Delivers a nice mix between spiciness and sweetness and has no alcoholic burn.

Fa969755bbbd9b5a839d01b148e47644.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 2 years ago by Don from Canada with 135 ratings

Dark brown colour and a burnt caramel with alcohol on the nose. Strong taste of alcohol and spice. Not great for sipping, but makes a good dark and stormy. In Canada ,it is labeled Myers Planters Punch.

442d04c6c00378eb927b39f35a9012cd.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 2 years ago by DAMITJOE from United States with 8 ratings

As a sailor conducting oceanographic research in the Caribbean in the late 70s, we had ready access to Myers. Drinkable on the rock and mixed well with cola and ginger beer. Nothing great, but a consistently good drink. Color is dark and appealing an aroma is good with a hint of burnt molasses. Last time I drank it was at the Hubba Hubba club on hotel Street in Honolulu and can't honestly say I remember much past that. If you have a hankering for genuine dark molasses rum, don't turn your nose up at Myer's.