Posting your rating...
Myers's Original Dark rum

Myer’s Original Dark Rum is a blend of up to nine different rums of various ages, all of which are distilled using Jamaica's typical production method: pot-stills. The Original Dark Rum is slightly unique in Jamaica however, because some of the molasses used earlier in the process is added back in after distillation.

Myers rum has been produced since 1879 and named after its founder, Fred Myers.

Rate Myers's Original Dark

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


270 Myers's Original Dark ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted over 3 years ago by HunterRomario from Czech Republic with 285 ratings

Alkohol: 40 %
Původ: Jamajka
Aroma: Výrazná, silná vůně, hodně melasová, karamelová. Trochu kyselosti, mízy, čerstvé kůry ze stromu, mléčná čokoláda. (86 b)
Chuť: Velmi suchý na jazyku. Karamel, spousta melasy, v dochuti pak lehká nahořklost, lékořice a opálené dřevo. (80 b)
Body: 83
Shrnutí: Tento rum se používá hlavně do míchaných nápojů. Vůně je oproti chuti výrazně zajímavější. Stylově i vzhledem k ceně a hlavnímu účelu použití nemám žádné výhrady, na grog nebo třeba do tiramisu musí být super. Ale dá se pít i normálně samotný.

Posted almost 5 years ago by Per Rosenhave from Denmark with 173 ratings

Virkelig flot farvet rum og til prisen, må den siges at være ganske fornuftig også.

Posted almost 5 years ago by Andi from Germany with 70 ratings

Hat einen starken Rum Geschmack. Pur nicht so mein Fall aber mit Cola oder zum mixen nicht schlecht.

Posted almost 5 years ago by Reddew from United States with 53 ratings

I really only use it as a mixer or topper, but I have tried to sip on it a few times. Just not my type of rum I guess.

Posted almost 5 years ago by Jourdan Charnley from New Zealand with 5 ratings

Myers's rum is one to mix with ginger beer or a cocktail. But if you're a little heavy handed on the servings, its all you'll taste its extremely dark and pleasant if served correctly. But if you're not a dark rum fan then I wouldn't recommend this one to ya.

Posted almost 5 years ago by FL from Denmark with 1 rating

Relatively cheap, great for mixing. Current favourite Mai Tai rum for me.

Posted almost 5 years ago by El Julian from United States with 20 ratings

I'm not much of a Myers and coke person but living in Florida we make a lot of exotic pool side drinks, and for us our favorite mixer is Myers!

Posted almost 5 years ago by JAStark from United States with 11 ratings

Utility run that has flavor. Good for mixing with stuff.

Posted almost 5 years ago by LVazquez from United States with 7 ratings

For drinks that call for a dark rum, this works. It's got a flavor distinct from light/clear rums and I really enjoyed using it for hurricanes with Pat O's syrup. Better than average and if used in the right drink can be really nice.

Posted almost 5 years ago by Toast from United States with 39 ratings

I felt this was much too sweet to drink straight on the rocks. Probably better served as a mixer.

Posted almost 5 years ago by bill from United States with 88 ratings

This one is ok for mixed drinks but now that I am older and have a little money, I perfer a good ru that I can drink straight.
If you like mixed rum drinks and have a tight budget then Myers is ok.

Posted about 5 years ago by Gareth from Curacao with 93 ratings

just a typical mix drink rum got a nice sweet taste to it

Posted about 5 years ago by Matt from United States with 10 ratings

I like this rum for rum and coke and for cooking..

Posted about 5 years ago by Joseph Doherty from United Kingdom with 25 ratings

Very similar to Captain Morgan's dark... good but not great

Posted about 5 years ago by Jonathan from Puerto Rico with 13 ratings

You cannot sip this one, but why not mix with coke or use in a cocktail?

Posted over 5 years ago by Phil from United Kingdom with 29 ratings

There is a reason this rum is still popular. It is a nice rum, which I like to drink with coke. But it sets the standard for other dark rums to aspire to.

Posted over 5 years ago by joe from United States with 15 ratings

Stiff drink with a gentle brown sugar-esque nose. Could drink stright in a pinch but goes better with cola.

Posted over 5 years ago by Poppy from United States with 7 ratings

Good for mixing Usually available most anywhere. A old favorite Not to shabby on the rocks. Not so good neat. But after a glass or 2 rolls down a lot smoother. Dark and tastes a little on the sweet side. For the price a good deal

Posted over 5 years ago by Kurt Van Laar from United States with 2 ratings

indispensable in my kitchen !
think Rum balls, Rum carmal sauce and other Rum goodies

Posted over 5 years ago by Peter from Hungary with 91 ratings

I made a mistake after tasting a Zacapa 23yo and bought this without knowing much about rums.I tried to drink it straight up. As i hate Rum-Cola mixes ,it wasn't a great experience.I see this rum mixed in cocktails but not a sipper

Posted over 5 years ago by Darren from United States with 7 ratings

Great for rum and cokes. Has that molasses flavor for lots of flavor

Posted over 5 years ago by alby from United States with 7 ratings

This rum is fine but would not be my first, second or third choice

Posted over 5 years ago by DelectaBlee from United States with 59 ratings

Revised: This was the first really flavorful rum I tried. It's a common ingredient in tiki drinks, many of which rely on a blend of rums, cordials and other flavorings along with juice and it does well here. I've also enjoyed a splash of this in tea. Stright up it tastes a little harsh so while it's not a sipping rum, it's a reliable mixer with a pungent flaver so it's always on my shelf.

Posted over 5 years ago by Chris Williamson from Canada with 81 ratings

This is a nice but very traditional strong rum flavour. Not for those people who don't want there rum tasting like rum

Posted almost 6 years ago by JE Tressler from United States with 18 ratings

If you like rum and coke this is a great full bodied rum. The aroma is great as is the rather strong spicy taste. I like it with an ice cube or two.


Be cool,
jt

“Mon amie laissez le bon temps rouler!”