Posting your rating...
Myers's Original Dark rum

Myers's Original Dark

Jamaica | Dark

Myer’s Original Dark Rum is a blend of up to nine different rums of various ages, all of which are distilled using Jamaica's typical production method: pot-stills. The Original Dark Rum is slightly unique in Jamaica however, because some of the molasses used earlier in the process is added back in after distillation.

Myers rum has been produced since 1879 and named after its founder, Fred Myers.

5.6/10 (302 ratings)
Easily consumable in a bind

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
3
10
14
28
62
86
62
25
7
5

Rate Myers's Original Dark

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

302 Myers's Original Dark ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted 4 years ago by Mario H from United States with 10 ratings

I love this rum for mixed drinks. The dark sweet and sugary taste makes it a great rum for the perfect piña colada.

My overall favorite for mixed drinks.

Not great for sipping. Unless you have had more than a few of the good one and you run out of other options. Way too sweet.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by BlackP2 from United States with 12 ratings

A decent enough Rum, I don't drink it much anymore cause there are now so many better choices now. But if your out, any bar or restaurant will probably have it. This was reportedly Ian Fleming's go to when he was in Jamaica. Essential in several classic recipes. A bit heavy on the molasses but very mixable.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Doc (PREMIUM) from United States with 26 ratings

This is a rum that should be on the shelf, & is a great mixer for rum drinks. Strong taste with an after burn, not a great rum straight up or on the rocks - but perfect in a mixed rum punch!

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Paul from Australia with 120 ratings

This is a fine young rum dark and delicious and sits well at tables

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Reiwa from Japan with 142 ratings

The flavor is not bad but the taste is not good at all.
It is difficult to drink for me, it can be used for rum raisin and some cakes.
Drop it on ice cream and it was good.

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by daveyjones from Australia with 21 ratings

Open that big, brown, square bottle and sniff up the molasses, over cooked prunes and burnt sugar. You probably love it even though you don’t know that you do.... or why.
Have a sip.
Bitter, hollow, blackstrap and burnt brown sugar.

What about with some lime and Ginger beer?
Now THAT is a dark and stormy!
Delicious and addictive. You

And in a Mai Tai......?

You get the picture.

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by tondak80 from Czech Republic with 32 ratings

samotný pro mě nepitelný. divná vůně a nepříjemná chuť. do koly asi OK

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by JellyJortikka from Finland with 67 ratings

40% abv column still rum, molasses and caramel probably added, maybe the best in its pricerance, it offers good basic dark jamaican funk flavors in a easily mixable form.
Lot of dark treacle molasses, some medium jamaican dunder flavors. Dry on the finish.
Is more milder on the palate dunder wise than the intense smith&cross and also less complex in flavor but overall is super tasty and balanced when mixed in any cocktail, i recommend trying painkiller, queens park swizzle or jamaican milk punch with this rum.

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by kevin_kaye from United States with 8 ratings

Meyers's Original Dark is a staple dark rum. Sweet and burned flavors, it's a wonderful mixer for many recipes, and as a floater on top of sweeter drinks like pina coladas. Also mixes well with a straight-up rum and coke. But it can be a bit medicinal on its own.

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by johnrullan from Puerto Rico with 21 ratings

I learned to drink Myer’s when I lived in the continental US and enjoyed its brown sugar flavor with watery coca cola & plenty of ice. By the second drink I eas into Jamaica rhythms and it reminded me of my Puerto Rico.....great taste and refreshing!

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by Jason from United States with 76 ratings

I love using this as a multi rum mixer. It is sweet, but also great with coke. Great molasses and vanilla notes.