Posting your rating...
Myers's Original Dark rum
Myers's Original Dark rum

Myers's Original Dark

Jamaica | Dark

Myer’s Original Dark Rum is a blend of up to nine different rums of various ages, all of which are distilled using Jamaica's typical production method: pot-stills. The Original Dark Rum is slightly unique in Jamaica however, because some of the molasses used earlier in the process is added back in after distillation.

Myers rum has been produced since 1879 and named after its founder, Fred Myers.

5.8/10 (274 ratings)
Easily consumable in a bind

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
3
10
12
28
58
73
57
21
7
5

Rate Myers's Original Dark

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


274 Myers's Original Dark ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

52acf3a11e3f6acf119061d53fc090d2.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 3 years ago by Nathan from United Kingdom with 35 ratings

One of the first rums that got me hooked. Haven't had any in years and can't wait to have another bottle. I bought some for the bar where I work recently and could only have a smell -toffee and banana, caramel.
For the same price as the already selling Capn M it won't be long until it kicks the latter off the shelves.

Saying that, the bottle does actually look like a large bottle of cough syrup, but a minor flaw in a superior tasting "cheap" rum. I'd have this before Mount Gay Eclipse or the Havanas.

199a9ac0c4e99356a373b710e86361f2.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 2 years ago by Johannes from Germany with 2 ratings

Info: Trinke Rum nur pur.

Riecht richtig schön schokoladig. Geschmacklich geht er auch in die Richtung, er erinnert mich irgendwie an die Weihnachtszeit. Ich finde ihn nur leider zu stark beim ersten Schluck.
Warum nur 5/10? Der Myer's war mein erster gekaufter Rum und daher der Einstieg in meine Bewertungen.

78fdbe1c95001067ba6b37ea5ebd5bf2.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 2 years ago by TKNY from United States with 6 ratings

This has a strong taste. It is a ok rum for making sweet mixed drinks. There are better quality rims in this category for about the same price.

35de629161a42ba305245d536d980b84.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 2 years ago by quarkster from United States with 1 rating

Took a little time to appreciate some of the darker, navy rums, but I took a liking to Myers immediately. I enjoy it mixed or on the rocks. It's full bodied and full flavored for a 40%er which I like since many of the darker rums are over-proofed. Myers is a bold rum not for everyone's taste, but I am never disappointed when it is served.

388e0c2591281bbaa7be3ccdb282b09c.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 2 years ago by Steven Richardson from United Kingdom with 124 ratings

I was recommended this by someone who found out i was a rum lover. I can only conclude they didnt like me. Glad i didnt but a bottle. Mind you I’m not a big fan of dark, navy or most jamaican rum.

9c52064be3223d8402484f88a5b069c6.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 2 years ago by Chris Brearley from United Kingdom with 26 ratings

Not a fan. Drinkable with coke but that's all I can say about it.

B84d9facbc032869ffb01b24406b1c72.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 2 years ago by dd639 from United States with 3 ratings

This is my default rum and I drink rum on the rocks. Myer's dark is a little harsher than I'd like, as others point out, but at the easy-to-find / affordable level, I don't have one I like better (yet). I'll keep looking. After a minute or two on the rocks, it softens enough to sip just fine and help me hang loose. I like the flavor too and it's not too sweet, which is very important to me.

312227ca41c0227a9befb2bf43c68acb.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 2 years ago by Timbo from Netherlands with 1 rating

Nice but not for a couple in a row. Drank this one during trip in Aruba.

D2b46b5b61101ee41db70d4ff5f945a4.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 2 years ago by Sam from Netherlands with 14 ratings

Not too funky, a nice bit of caramel and toffee flavors. Love this one in tiki drinks - not the mai tai though, I use Coruba for that one.This one works very well in a Dr. Funk, Planter's punch, Hurricane, navy grog, and maybe even a Queen's Park swizzle (although I use Gosling's for that one).

51171a93bfd87f800863a5cf8bc59038.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 2 years ago by Leonhard from Germany with 22 ratings

Quite a good deal for the price. Delivers a nice mix between spiciness and sweetness and has no alcoholic burn.

Fa969755bbbd9b5a839d01b148e47644.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 2 years ago by Don from Canada with 137 ratings

Dark brown colour and a burnt caramel with alcohol on the nose. Strong taste of alcohol and spice. Not great for sipping, but makes a good dark and stormy. In Canada ,it is labeled Myers Planters Punch.