Posting your rating...
Privateer Navy Yard Barrel Proof rum

Privateer Navy Yard Barrel Proof

United States | Aged

Privateer Navy Yard Barrel Proof rum, a 100% Grade A molasses-based rum that is double-distilled like the Amber rum, proofed down to 110 proof, and then aged a minimum of two years in new charred American oak barrels (char #3). Bottled at cask strength with no added sweeteners, colors, or flavors.

via American Rum Report

8.1/10
19 ratings
That's some good stuff

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
2
5
7
3

Rate Privateer Navy Yard Barrel Proof

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

19 Privateer Navy Yard Barrel Proof ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Mpmiller02050 from United States with 2 ratings

Super complex, no frills, delicious aged rum. Such an understated spirit when done in this manner. I’ve really only delved into rums less than the $50 range and this is my favorite so far. Great balance of clementine, oak, and a super pleasant boozy/smoky finish.

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by piratejabez from United States with 324 ratings

[171130] 58% ABV - New oak only? (no clue) Very warm, rich, and spicy, like a strong Bajan. Really draws you in. Very warming and somewhat astringent. Long finish. Highly enjoyable.

This is hands-down the best American-made rum I've ever had. Like the Cocktail Wonk, it has just about single-handedly restored my faith in American rum. The whole Privateer lineup is a glimmer of hope in a sea of disappointment. If I ever see a bottle of this on the shelf, it's going home with me.

Really, really good stuff. Well done, Ms. Campbell!

9

(I have "P88" in my notes; maybe the barrel or batch #?)

[190502] Update: I got to try another sample, this time from P152. 56.3%. Same impression as before: Foursquare-like, but somehow richer and smoother. Perhaps not as complex? The new oak comes through, and even at 113 proof it just glides down your throat. An absolute pleasure. Still a 9. Thanks, Maggie (& Gil)!

Ffffff

Posted 7 months ago by Immiketoo (PREMIUM) from Greece with 59 ratings

I’ve been waiting for some time to get my hands on anything from Privateer. I’ve been hoping for a bottle of Queen’s Share but I’m glad this is what I got first!

This bottle is well worth the wait. I am a fan of overproof rums, so much so, that normal 40% versions rarely do it for me anymore.

So, if you don’t like them a bit hot, this may be too much.

The nose is straightforward. Molasses, vanilla and pepper.

Palate: I get a strong banana flavor immediately, combined with a bit of a cough syrup flavor. Like when you breathe after taking some. It’s not unpleasant, and it adds some complexity to the initial impression.

After the initial banana, the flavor evolves into molasses, vanilla and pepper with a hint of orange or lemon zest. It has a long, complex, peppery cotton candy finish and a strong burn, which I mentioned before.

This is one of my new favorites. At this price, it’s an excellent sipper, and I can’t wait to try it in a few cocktails.

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by Docsarvis (PREMIUM) from United States with 202 ratings

Very nice navy style rum. I like the queens share just a little better but it is a different style rum. Great complexity in this one, very smooth and packs a punch as a Navy rum should. Very clean finish which stays on the pallet a long time. This is a good sipper also. One review suggested this as a mixer. That would be a BIG mistake.Privateer Navy Yard is equally good on ice or neat and is exceptional all by itself. Even better with a cigar.
Great stuff. This distillery produces awesome spirits. Full stop. You can't go wrong with Privateer.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by scottlalib from United States with 13 ratings

An unpretentious, edgy sipper that stands up to ice, lime, or absolutely nothing. It’s one of the few rums that I will actually bring DOWN to the islands with me. Worth a sip, but make sure you have someone to drive you home.

Ffffff

Posted 3 years ago by Joe from United States with 42 ratings

I toured the Privateer distillery last week. The hospitality was remarkable and I learned a lot. I was able to sample Silver, Amber, Navy Yard, 2 versions of the Queen’s Share and 3 Single Barrel iterations. They all had something going on.I chose the Navy. It was the lingering flavor that sealed the deal. I score it an 8 because I’m trying to conservative and have never done this before. I have around 30 rums at home and this is one of the best. Others can describe their impressions better than I so I’ll leave it at that.

Ffffff

Posted 10 days ago by Gotta from Czech Republic with 9 ratings

K tomuto rumu jsem si chvíli hledal cestu, ale nakonec musím uznat jeho kvalitu. Mladý, ostřejší, plný mléčné čokolády. Kdo má rád poctivé rumy třeba od R. Seala, bude velmi spokojen i s prací M. Campbell.

Ffffff

Posted 1 month ago by Rowdy1 from United States with 16 ratings

Very smooth for the proof, first sip will wake up your mouth. Great flavors of vanilla, oak and toffee. My go to Navy strength.

Ffffff

Posted 3 months ago by Riddler130 from United States with 5 ratings

Smooth sipping rum with a hint of bananas and exotic finish.

Small v%c3%bdst%c5%99i%c5%beeks

Posted 7 months ago by Jirka23689 (PREMIUM) from Czech Republic with 179 ratings

Ve vůni je cítit cokolada, sudova síla 54,6%. V chuti je cítit cokolada a síla. Závěr hrejivy a dlouhý.