Posting your rating...
Privateer Navy Yard Barrel Proof rum

Privateer Navy Yard Barrel Proof rum, a 100% Grade A molasses-based rum that is double-distilled like the Amber rum, proofed down to 110 proof, and then aged a minimum of two years in new charred American oak barrels (char #3). Bottled at cask strength with no added sweeteners, colors, or flavors.

via American Rum Report

Rate Privateer Navy Yard Barrel Proof

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


10 Privateer Navy Yard Barrel Proof ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted 3 months ago by Mpmiller02050 from United States with 2 ratings

Super complex, no frills, delicious aged rum. Such an understated spirit when done in this manner. I’ve really only delved into rums less than the $50 range and this is my favorite so far. Great balance of clementine, oak, and a super pleasant boozy/smoky finish.

Posted over 1 year ago by Joe from United States with 37 ratings

I toured the Privateer distillery last week. The hospitality was remarkable and I learned a lot. I was able to sample Silver, Amber, Navy Yard, 2 versions of the Queen’s Share and 3 Single Barrel iterations. They all had something going on.I chose the Navy. It was the lingering flavor that sealed the deal. I score it an 8 because I’m trying to conservative and have never done this before. I have around 30 rums at home and this is one of the best. Others can describe their impressions better than I so I’ll leave it at that.

Posted over 2 years ago by piratejabez from United States with 314 ratings

[171130] 58% ABV - New oak only? (no clue) Very warm, rich, and spicy, like a strong Bajan. Really draws you in. Very warming and somewhat astringent. Long finish. Highly enjoyable.

This is hands-down the best American-made rum I've ever had. Like the Cocktail Wonk, it has just about single-handedly restored my faith in American rum. The whole Privateer lineup is a glimmer of hope in a sea of disappointment. If I ever see a bottle of this on the shelf, it's going home with me.

Really, really good stuff. Well done, Ms. Campbell!

9

(I have "P88" in my notes; maybe the barrel or batch #?)

[190502] Update: I got to try another sample, this time from P152. 56.3%. Same impression as before: Foursquare-like, but somehow richer and smoother. Perhaps not as complex? The new oak comes through, and even at 113 proof it just glides down your throat. An absolute pleasure. Still a 9. Thanks, Maggie (& Gil)!

Posted 29 days ago by scottlalib from United States with 12 ratings

An unpretentious, edgy sipper that stands up to ice, lime, or absolutely nothing. It’s one of the few rums that I will actually bring DOWN to the islands with me. Worth a sip, but make sure you have someone to drive you home.

Posted 3 months ago by Djgross144 from United States with 29 ratings

My daughter gave me this rum for Christmas. Bit of a burn as it is overproof. Complex flavor. Lovely.

Posted 4 months ago by Joola69 from United States with 2555 ratings

Rum tasting in New York City continued with Privateer Navy Yard Barrel Proof Rum. Very nice bottle and label design. Golden color. Strong oak mixed with some spice mixture to your nose and palate when neat sipped. A tad hot ending. Whisky fan boys can add 2 points to my score.

Posted 4 months ago by FishboyRumNuts from United States with 1 rating

It has a very smooth, consistent, reliable flavor that I enjoy straight up!

Posted 4 months ago by JeffBuck from United States with 80 ratings

Very cool product that I've enjoyed quite a bit. Have had several offerings of this and love the general profile it gives off.

Posted at Hale Pele 10 months ago by Engwild from United States with 153 ratings

With some time and strength the rum comes through beautifully

Posted about 1 year ago by Jack from United States with 27 ratings

The navy yard is ok. A bit more flavor. The the amber. Still not sippable and pricy for ultimately being a cocktail rum. On the flip side the queens share is a nice dry sipping rum. I’d give it a 7.5 to 8 rating. Full flavor. Barrel coming through. Oaky. A little hot on finish but a decent sipper to add variety to your cabinet.




#