Posting your rating...
Velier Royal Navy Very Old rum

Velier Royal Navy Very Old

Italy | Aged

7.8/10 (15 ratings)
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
3
2
1
4
4

Rate Velier Royal Navy Very Old

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


15 Velier Royal Navy Very Old ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Marc Cardinal from Belgium with 401 ratings

Dark amber color. This rum from Velier is a blend of the best of Trinidad (Caroni), Guyana (Demerara) and jamaica (Hampden). The nose opens with classic exotic fruit notes from Jamaican rums. Over time, we arrive on more greedy notes and it is Guyana that arrives slowly. It's well done, subtle. On the palate, it rises while still very greedy, we finally arrive on an explosive final with the Caroni finally arrives with this oil side. It sticks in the mouth but it is superbly done. This is for me a perfect blend, better than the triptych from Foursquare. Here we have the perfect balance between three monsters with very distinct personalities but once assembled gives a real wonder. It was a long time since I had tasted such a good blend.

Ffffff

Posted 11 days ago by vomi1011 from Germany with 195 ratings

Update review (bottle transformed after a week):
I was looking forward to taste this navy rum.
I know at least five other navy rums, but none with Caroni in the blend.

After 1h in the glas the nose is dominated by Jamaica (WP) flavors with Caroni notes and dry fruits. The Caroni flavors reminds me of Bristol Caroni 10y (they are not that dirty because it got sherry finish). I get the WP notes first (orange, anise, apple/prune), after that I get demerara notes like honey with molasses and on top of it is some Caroni (leather, some tar, black currant). Great nose indeed, everything is there.

Taste starts with WP fruity notes and some Demerara honey with molasses. After that you get immediately the bitter wood on your palet. I think the Caroni cask was very active.
In the middle I get some orange pees with anise (the bitterness is still there, thats why I can't get more aromas).The finish start spicy and you get a strong medicine note (like one from Trinidad rums), followed, orange peels, wood and some Caroni notes.

Conclusion: the nose became much better. The initial taste is dominated by tanins from the wood.
This disturbs the balance and does not allow the aromas to be enjoyed. Caroni is not that dominant anymore, but these rum is not as beautiful as the tiger shart. Still 9 point is appropriate.

Nose: (orange, prune, anise, sour apple -> WP), (honey, molasses -> Demerara), (leather, tar, black currant -> Caroni), oak
Taste: WP (orange, anise), honey, molasses, wood with tanins,
Middle: orange peels, dry mouth feel, anise
Finish: spice, medicine, orange peels, wood, some tar
Aftertaste: WP fruits, mint, leather (tasty), black currant/tar

Old review (fresh opened bottle):
The initial taste is dirty like a typical Caroni. Leather, gum, salt and bitter wood are waiting for you. I expect fruits in the middle, but nothing there. The Caroni cask is way too dominant with a lot of tanins. The finish is spicy, dry and dirty. Also no fruits there. It's like a typical 1998 Caroni without fruit flavors. This Caroni cask was too old, it overlaps all other aromas. This rum is still not bad, you get a good Caroni here. But I expected this blend to be more fruity. I think there is still some space for improvement.
Therefore a 9 rating.

Nose: leather, gum, tar, honey, papaya, some apple and banana (Jamaica is a little bit weak), wood, cask with earth

Taste: orange, gum, leather, fruits, wood with tanins, vanilla ice
Middle: spice, citrus, tar, dentist, leather and salt, anise
Finish: Caroni flavors, leather, wood, tanins, oranges astringend mouth feel, anise
Aftertaste: tar, peppermint, anise, orange, black currant, mint

Sweetness: 1/5
Fruits: 1.5/5
Spice: 3.5/5
Mildness: 3/5
Complexity: 3.5/5 (Nose 4, Taste 3)
Value (130€): 3.5/5

thefatrumpirate:
Nose: "Nosing the rum initially reveals the distinctive Caroni elements. Petrol and tar. It reminds me very much of a 1960’s sample of Navy rum I reviewed a while back. Further nosing reveals more of the Demerara rum – a sweetness of raisins and plums. The Jamaican influence comes in with some nice banana and coconut notes."
Taste: "I think the Caroni rum and the oak leave the Demerara and Jamaican elements behind. I’m not getting a lot of either to be honest. What I am getting is the more traditional slightly “dirty” petrol like elements of the Caroni.
I totaly agree with the review from thefatrumpirate, he has also a good suggestion:
"Although I found this perfectly drinkable at the full ABV – its actually quite mellow overall I did decide to add some water. Just a few drops.
To say this was a good move would be an understatement. I’ve very rarely noticed such a difference in a rum. The Jamaican rum is now competing with the Trinidad Caroni at the forefront of the mix with some very nice “funky” elements – black banana and ginger. The Demerara now reveals itself with some nice notes of anise and stoned fruits. Finish wise it doesn’t get any longer or more exciting but sip wise its a much better option with the ABV knocked down a little."

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Kamamura from Czech Republic with 30 ratings

The color of this rum is nice, muted brownish gold, being the result of the actual barrel aging instead of the usual caramel addition. The label gives detailed information about the components in the blend, as well a playful pseudo-Latin motto "In Pot Still Veritas".

The smell carries the unmistakable Caroni component - a dusty, abandoned attic with lots of old sawdust, old leather, but also some stone fruit, marmelade, and earthy tones. Overall very pleasant, damp, muted, sweetish aroma. Due to the high proof of the blend, adding some water is recommended to free the aromatic components from the alcoholic dilution and to lessen the numbing effect strong alcohol has on the tongue.

The taste of the rum is absolutely fenomenal. Although the three components of the rum (heavy, austere, tar-like Caroni, sweetish and earthy Demerara and the funky, fruity Jamaican) are very distinct and overpowering if left unrestricted, none of them dominates the blend, they are all distinctly noticeable, but stay in line to provide a collective effort that delivers a fairly exceptional sensory experience.

The initial sweet, playful, fruity attack slowly dries up, transitioning through the funky fruit from the Jamaican rum to the slightly austere, tannic end of the Caroni. The finish is not as long as I expected, or as one of a single barrel Caroni I had the pleasure to taste, but due to the exceptional harmony and balance of the blend, I can only talk about this rum in superlatives.

This rum is a true testament to Mr. Gargano's mastery of the blending craft, and a tangible proof that he really knows his business like nobody else. Well done indeed - although the rum was relatively pricy, I do not regret spending the money to be allowed to experience this rare treat.

The rum is also a kind of swan song to a rum era gone past - an era of extreme diversity and richness of various traditions surviving for decades or even centuries in some cases in the distilleries like Caroni, Hampden, Enmore, Port Mourant and others. Today, Caroni distillery is no more, all the various Guayana distilleries consolidated into Diamond Distillery that producdes mainly the heavily sweetened, commercialized El Dorado line, Hampden still produces superior funk bombs, but the contemporary, mainstream rum has became synonymous with sugar bombs like Diplomatico or Zacapa.

Yet in this bottle, all those rich, distinct flavors and aromas rise up again, giving you the opportunity to taste the past will sadly never return. And although I suspect that the Navy would never spend so much on a brew for common sailors, I could imagine this rum would be a worthy and appreciated tot for a renowned naval officer or a wealthy overseas merchant.

So, grab a bottle while they are available, and savor every drop!

Ffffff

Posted about 1 month ago by VikingXO from Denmark with 73 ratings

What a nose, What a taste. Not a beginners rum for sure but what a fantastic blend this is. If you got the chance to taste it, then go for it!

Ffffff

Posted 3 months ago by HammerHead from Netherlands with 26 ratings

Lots of tropical fruits, but also darker notes of raisins, figs, toffee, caramel and chocolate. Relatively subtle funky stuff from the Jamaican side of this bottling: just a little varnish and solventy paint notes. Also some lineseed and olive oil shining through (probably the Caroni influence). The mouthfeel is round and creamy. In the aftertaste it shifts more towards peppery wood notes, cocoa and olives, ending with a mild note of varnish.

Ffffff

Posted 7 months ago by Adrian Adame (PREMIUM) from Czech Republic with 283 ratings

vůně příjemná, hodně je cítit Guyana, Jamajka jen vzdáleně, ovoce, pálení v nose, kovová (Trinidad), chuť jemná, sladká, 57,18% není znát, hořkost, závěr dlouhý, kořenitý. Žena milující Jamajku se olizovala, já moc ne

Ffffff

Posted 8 months ago by JeffBuck from United States with 80 ratings

To preface, I've never met a Caroni that I've cared for. Having said that, this blend works for me! It's got great depth and the different countries play very well together. Still has the petrol-ish taste but, nonetheless, is very good.

Ffffff

Posted 11 months ago by Simon Doherty from United Kingdom with 70 ratings

Was expecting a lot from this one with components from the likes of Caroni. First up it’s strong, I’m not one to water down a rum so maybe that was a fault. I liked it, was different but it maybe just wasn’t up my street. Paid £153 for the bottle and that was with A discount so was expecting more.

Ffffff

Posted about 1 year ago by M.R.J. from Finland with 203 ratings

I think the blend works, it could perhaps benefit from a bit more of Guyana, but as a fan of Caroni I am not complaining :-)

Ffffff

Posted about 1 year ago by Michal Micko (PREMIUM) from Czech Republic with 309 ratings

Wild aroma. First taste is iodine and strange mineral tones. Short aftertaste with many different tones.