Posting your rating...
Velier Royal Navy Very Old rum

Velier Royal Navy Very Old

Italy | Aged

7.5/10 (13 ratings)
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
3
2
1
3
3

Rate Velier Royal Navy Very Old

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


13 Velier Royal Navy Very Old ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

0f6fb47542b6b5f2953fe642e576356a.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 2 years ago by Marc Cardinal from Belgium with 401 ratings

Dark amber color. This rum from Velier is a blend of the best of Trinidad (Caroni), Guyana (Demerara) and jamaica (Hampden). The nose opens with classic exotic fruit notes from Jamaican rums. Over time, we arrive on more greedy notes and it is Guyana that arrives slowly. It's well done, subtle. On the palate, it rises while still very greedy, we finally arrive on an explosive final with the Caroni finally arrives with this oil side. It sticks in the mouth but it is superbly done. This is for me a perfect blend, better than the triptych from Foursquare. Here we have the perfect balance between three monsters with very distinct personalities but once assembled gives a real wonder. It was a long time since I had tasted such a good blend.

F2cd5606db1e49cb42c827068e5941d7.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 1 year ago by Kamamura from Czech Republic with 30 ratings

The color of this rum is nice, muted brownish gold, being the result of the actual barrel aging instead of the usual caramel addition. The label gives detailed information about the components in the blend, as well a playful pseudo-Latin motto "In Pot Still Veritas".

The smell carries the unmistakable Caroni component - a dusty, abandoned attic with lots of old sawdust, old leather, but also some stone fruit, marmelade, and earthy tones. Overall very pleasant, damp, muted, sweetish aroma. Due to the high proof of the blend, adding some water is recommended to free the aromatic components from the alcoholic dilution and to lessen the numbing effect strong alcohol has on the tongue.

The taste of the rum is absolutely fenomenal. Although the three components of the rum (heavy, austere, tar-like Caroni, sweetish and earthy Demerara and the funky, fruity Jamaican) are very distinct and overpowering if left unrestricted, none of them dominates the blend, they are all distinctly noticeable, but stay in line to provide a collective effort that delivers a fairly exceptional sensory experience.

The initial sweet, playful, fruity attack slowly dries up, transitioning through the funky fruit from the Jamaican rum to the slightly austere, tannic end of the Caroni. The finish is not as long as I expected, or as one of a single barrel Caroni I had the pleasure to taste, but due to the exceptional harmony and balance of the blend, I can only talk about this rum in superlatives.

This rum is a true testament to Mr. Gargano's mastery of the blending craft, and a tangible proof that he really knows his business like nobody else. Well done indeed - although the rum was relatively pricy, I do not regret spending the money to be allowed to experience this rare treat.

The rum is also a kind of swan song to a rum era gone past - an era of extreme diversity and richness of various traditions surviving for decades or even centuries in some cases in the distilleries like Caroni, Hampden, Enmore, Port Mourant and others. Today, Caroni distillery is no more, all the various Guayana distilleries consolidated into Diamond Distillery that producdes mainly the heavily sweetened, commercialized El Dorado line, Hampden still produces superior funk bombs, but the contemporary, mainstream rum has became synonymous with sugar bombs like Diplomatico or Zacapa.

Yet in this bottle, all those rich, distinct flavors and aromas rise up again, giving you the opportunity to taste the past will sadly never return. And although I suspect that the Navy would never spend so much on a brew for common sailors, I could imagine this rum would be a worthy and appreciated tot for a renowned naval officer or a wealthy overseas merchant.

So, grab a bottle while they are available, and savor every drop!

75a8270a730648a260b64331993924b8.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 1 month ago by HammerHead from Netherlands with 26 ratings

Lots of tropical fruits, but also darker notes of raisins, figs, toffee, caramel and chocolate. Relatively subtle funky stuff from the Jamaican side of this bottling: just a little varnish and solventy paint notes. Also some lineseed and olive oil shining through (probably the Caroni influence). The mouthfeel is round and creamy. In the aftertaste it shifts more towards peppery wood notes, cocoa and olives, ending with a mild note of varnish.

0b441dd47f79396ea37500b0253f7198.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 5 months ago by Adrian Adame (PREMIUM) from Czech Republic with 233 ratings

vůně příjemná, hodně je cítit Guyana, Jamajka jen vzdáleně, ovoce, pálení v nose, kovová (Trinidad), chuť jemná, sladká, 57,18% není znát, hořkost, závěr dlouhý, kořenitý. Žena milující Jamajku se olizovala, já moc ne

5e9ab08b33a624cb31f8e2648a74a28e.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 6 months ago by JeffBuck from United States with 80 ratings

To preface, I've never met a Caroni that I've cared for. Having said that, this blend works for me! It's got great depth and the different countries play very well together. Still has the petrol-ish taste but, nonetheless, is very good.

7a26d2e023bf9608d2aaea04e106c275.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 9 months ago by Simon Doherty from United Kingdom with 70 ratings

Was expecting a lot from this one with components from the likes of Caroni. First up it’s strong, I’m not one to water down a rum so maybe that was a fault. I liked it, was different but it maybe just wasn’t up my street. Paid £153 for the bottle and that was with A discount so was expecting more.

12ed51c119d70dc15b5191208ed82060.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 11 months ago by M.R.J. from Finland with 203 ratings

I think the blend works, it could perhaps benefit from a bit more of Guyana, but as a fan of Caroni I am not complaining :-)

535a8966b5071bfe8443074d22889836.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 11 months ago by Michal Micko (PREMIUM) from Czech Republic with 259 ratings

Wild aroma. First taste is iodine and strange mineral tones. Short aftertaste with many different tones.

F342a5e5c582d3ca729df9959c199761.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 12 months ago by Joola69 from United States with 2643 ratings

Rum tasting with my buddy in Tampere continued with Velier Royal Navy Very Old Rum. Very nice bottle and label design. Amber color. Strong rubber mixed with plenty of oak to your nose and palate when neat sipped. Strong and dry burn at the end. Jamaican influence is the mistake for this rum.

Baf73d02967442688b390be66cdfb885.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 1 year ago by Engwild from United States with 153 ratings

For an Overproof it is surprisingly smooth being the young burning pain at the start.