Posting your rating...
Mount Gay XO Extra Old rum

Mount Gay XO Extra Old

Barbados | Aged

Mount Gay Extra Old (often written "OX") is a blend of rums aged between 8 and 15 years in American bourbon barrels.

Mount Gay Distilleries is the oldest operating distillery in the Americas - producing rum in Barbados since 1703. It's original name was Mount Gilboa, and in 1801 renamed Mount Gay after the distillery's manager Sir John Gay Alleyne.

7.7/10 (602 ratings)
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
3
6
14
29
144
259
122
24

Rate Mount Gay XO Extra Old

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


602 Mount Gay XO Extra Old ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted 10 months ago by vomi1011 from Germany with 220 ratings

Heard a lot of the rum that is downright hyped in German forums / reviews because Mount Gay doesn't use additives. For this reason I was very excited to try it.
It has no added sugar, but is still moderately sweet.
For me it's a typical woody rum. This is almost the best representation of a woody profile, although Flor de Cana 18 is also not bad.
Wood is the first thing you get in the nose and the spice. It bites you in the nose like a dog.
But then you get used to it. Deeper the glas there is a lot of white oak with vanilla (young wood from bourbon barrels).
A mix of orange and apricot is also there but in the background.
If I would use a colour do describe the taste I would say immediately orange.

Most of the taste is wood with vanilla and orange peels, this is also the profile.
It's not very complex in terms of flavours but well blended.
I think 8 is a good rating, you have to take into account that they doesn't use any additives.
With added sugar we would talking about a 9 and with an additional finish in sherry casks maybe about a 10.

Smell: white oak, vanilla, wet barrel, dry fruits (plum, orange), caramel, spice
Taste initial/middle: first watery with vanilla (light aromas), then white oak (almost too simple)
Middle: orange, some other fruit (like apricot), again oak (bitter european oak), vanilla, some caramel (slightly sweet)
Finish: wet cask with earh, some spice, wet wood with orange peels

Material: molasses
Age: 8-15 years
Barrel: used American oak barrels that had previously held bourbon
Master Blender: Allen Smith

Sweetness: 2/5
Spice: 3.5/5
Fruit: 2/5
Mildness: 3.5/5
Value (32€): 3.5/5 (we can talk about a 4 rating, but the new release is around 40€, 3.5 is a good rating)

Some similar rums: Barcelo Onyx, same wet cask taste, much more malt, not the same fruits in taste.

In April 2020 threre a new XO triple cask was released.
I already rated it, see my rating if you liked this one.

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Tommy from United States with 12 ratings

Stop! You're killing me...HA HAH ah (hack!) HAH!

That was for those rating this under a 7. This is a real rum. I suspect a tiny morsel of added sugars due to the "smoothness" - a dead give away for tossing sugar cubes into the batch for any rum less than 15 years old - but this an authentic rum, non-Western diabetic marketing concoction bordering on cough syrup.

Tasting notes are not needed. It's a better rum than Abuelo Centuria. MGXO has an almost perfect balance between of dry & sweet, wood and salivation, aged too long and not long enough. If you don't like this, head for the Zaya aisle. If you do, come on over and have a glass you discriminating, sophisticated, demanding drinker, you.

Rum crafting excellence.

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by mistercoughy from United States with 239 ratings

Wow, this is just a perfect rum. It's impossibly smooth, naturally sweet, full of molasses and toffee, some oak, and a whole lot of perfection. Compare this miraculous rum with Plantation XO (also from Barbados), which has more added sugar than children's juice boxes. You can spend much more for rums which are as good as - but not better - than this one. Straight up, right?

Ffffff

Posted almost 5 years ago by Nicholas Miller from United States with 75 ratings

Mount Gay is a quality product to the world of rum. Mount Gay serves a great bridge point to all drinkers. It is not sweet enough to scare away those who prefer earthy/dry spirits (scotch drinkers). It also is not dry/earthy enough to scare away a sweeter preferring drinker. It is the best balance of sweet and dry rum I might ever have. It's characters of the bourbon barrel are very distinguished and give this rum 90% of its characters. The issue with mount gay is the ingredients do not stand out as much as they should. The rum straight is pretty simple in this regard with a little harshness in the back. This is best served with a light amount of cola or ice to get rid of the slight harshness. Mount gay is a great addition to the collection if it is a decision between this or zacapa 23 (2 commonly available top shelves) take this. A perfect analogy of this rum is the good but not best looking girl in the class who happens to be relatively smart and sweet. Is she the knockout with the bold fiesty personality. No, she just prefers to let her quality characteristics sell herself. If mount gay ever got brave and added more boldness to the rum (larger amounts of ingredients per batch ) we could be looking at a perfect rum.

Ffffff

Posted almost 5 years ago by Joel from United States with 9 ratings

Just tried Mount Gay XO for the first time. As someone who has never tried rum that costs more than $30 per bottle, you'd rightly expect I am incredibly impressed. Mount Gay XO has a lovely cinnamony woody aroma, and a nice full flavor in my mouth place. The swallowing action was pleasing to the throat, with a nice warmth. Nothing like that horrible tasteless burn from cheaper rums. I trust I will gain an even higher appreciation for this rum after sampling more rums of similar quality. For now, it's a solid 10 until I try something better. I enjoyed this drink neat with some chocolates

Ffffff

Posted almost 5 years ago by Rum-Schnacker from Germany with 131 ratings

molasses. dry.
i smell some dark fruits. pepper, ginger, barbados!
i taste fruit and tons of spice. pepper. ginger. some hints of vanilla and chocolate.
10/10 - drop 5 from this score if you love sweet rum.
full bodied powerhouse for a very really fair price. if one god exists and would ask me: take three rums with you to heaven, i think, one of them would be this!

Ffffff

Posted over 6 years ago by Ben Mitchell from Australia with 18 ratings

Almost perfect on most levels, great neat or with single ice cube

Ffffff

Posted about 5 years ago by David from Germany with 74 ratings

A very heavy and balanced mild rum. One of my favorites!

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by thefatrumpirate from United Kingdom with 122 ratings

Rum. Beautiful example of pot still Bajan rum

A lesson to most in rum making

Ffffff

Posted almost 3 years ago by sandman_01 from United States with 9 ratings

I recommend this rum to all my whiskey/bourbon drinking friends. It's got enough oak and lingering burn to keep them happy, and I enjoy the surprised look on their faces as they realize how satisfying a good rum can be. Sweeter than a wheated bourbon, but not at the sacrifice of complexity. At $40 in my local ABC, it's a no-brainer.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Cardene from Belgium with 17 ratings

Amazing rum with so much flavoure. How is the average only 7.7? Crazy. Its smooth, intese, easy sipping, sweet, and affordable. I lile this one alot