Posting your rating...
Mount Gay XO Extra Old rum

Mount Gay XO Extra Old

Barbados | Aged

Mount Gay Extra Old (often written "OX") is a blend of rums aged between 8 and 15 years in American bourbon barrels.

Mount Gay Distilleries is the oldest operating distillery in the Americas - producing rum in Barbados since 1703. It's original name was Mount Gilboa, and in 1801 renamed Mount Gay after the distillery's manager Sir John Gay Alleyne.

7.7/10
659 ratings
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
3
7
14
33
156
283
134
28

Rate Mount Gay XO Extra Old

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

659 Mount Gay XO Extra Old ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted 4 years ago by Michael from Ireland with 8 ratings

Drink it slow... Very smooth and classy tasting... I drank it with ice and it got better and better

Ffffff

Posted 8 years ago by Todd Dunn from United States with 45 ratings

Best Mount Gay I've had straight.

Ffffff

Posted 8 years ago by RumSteve from United States with 15 ratings

Solid quality product from a historic distillery. No too harsh

My go-to for sipping. For the price I'd venture off and try others in the price range.

Ffffff

Posted over 8 years ago by Remy Chevalier from United States with 34 ratings

Tried it this afternoon. I expected more syrupy from an old rum. It's a little antiseptic under the nose, and a little harsh in the throat, but there's a nice short textured finish. I wouldn't rank it up there, because I didn't experience a strong personality, but it comes in classy glass bottle nips. So if you're flying or in a hotel room, go for this one!

Ffffff

Posted over 8 years ago by Trini Yank from Trinidad and Tobago with 41 ratings

Excellent sipper, nice smoky flavor with the right amount of vanilla/banana sweetness. Also very smooth. One complaint though is pricing. In the US, it is just too expensive for its quality. Caribbean retail price is fairer, but the real place to buy this is at duty free in the Caribbean. Here you can get it at $25 or thereabouts which is a steal.

Ffffff

Posted over 8 years ago by Don Tucker from United States with 194 ratings

I love to sip XO. We got free bottles on our tour of the distillery with the VIP group. It's easy to find in the PA stores and helps me to keep from drinking all the 1703.

Ffffff

Posted over 8 years ago by LDNShindiggery from United Kingdom with 71 ratings

Handsomely complex sipper thats perfect on the rocks or in an old fashioned. Banana's, vanilla and light warm spices with a nice smooth finish.

Ffffff

Posted over 8 years ago by Yablo Dratch from United States with 26 ratings

If you have only one bottle of rum, this is a candidate. Rum incarnate.

Ffffff

Posted over 8 years ago by Renaudco from Canada with 15 ratings

Nice rum, distinct vanilla and caramel taste. Slightly bitter if I remember well. There is always something I can't recognize that can't me love this rum.

Ffffff

Posted over 8 years ago by Da'rum from Germany with 22 ratings

Fantastic rum with a myriad of pleasant tastes and smooth mouthfeel. it's at the limit in price of what it's worth and would lose a place on my shelf if it was any more expensive as there are competitors that are equal in quality that are cheaper. As it is though a fair price for a well crafted enjoyable and versatile rum.