Posting your rating...
Mount Gay XO Extra Old rum

Mount Gay XO Extra Old

Barbados | Aged

Mount Gay Extra Old (often written "OX") is a blend of rums aged between 8 and 15 years in American bourbon barrels.

Mount Gay Distilleries is the oldest operating distillery in the Americas - producing rum in Barbados since 1703. It's original name was Mount Gilboa, and in 1801 renamed Mount Gay after the distillery's manager Sir John Gay Alleyne.

7.7/10
655 ratings
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
3
7
14
33
154
283
132
28

Rate Mount Gay XO Extra Old

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

655 Mount Gay XO Extra Old ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted 4 years ago by Michael from Ireland with 8 ratings

Drink it slow... Very smooth and classy tasting... I drank it with ice and it got better and better

Ffffff

Posted almost 8 years ago by JJ Geewax from United States with 36 ratings

(cheap enough to not feel bad mixing it...)

Ffffff

Posted almost 8 years ago by zellrom from France with 24 ratings

Un rhum d'une grande légèreté, au nez agréable bien que légèrement piquant. En bouche, ses racines sont très présentes et l'on ressent bien tout le barbarisme des fûts américains. Bien que l'alcohol soit évident, il n'est pas fatal pour les papilles et tient plus de la chaleur virile que de la brûlure amère. Le Mount Gay XO n'est pas d'une grande douceur mais sait séduire par son nez attractif et sa finale d'une remarquable finesse.

Ffffff

Posted 8 years ago by Daniel from United States with 29 ratings

A smooth and easy to drink rum. Leaves you warm without a burn.

Ffffff

Posted 8 years ago by Dustin Doran from United States with 79 ratings

For being the oldest rum distillery still standing, wow do they know how to make a great rum. Buttery, spicy and semi-dry blending into smooth again, this is hands down my favorite "3-fold" rum... Spice, butter, sweet.

Ffffff

Posted 8 years ago by Magic from Netherlands with 15 ratings

this one is nice on its own i love it

Ffffff

Posted 8 years ago by Skulman from United States with 117 ratings

Very Nice Smooth rum, great daily drinker

Ffffff

Posted 8 years ago by Todd Dunn from United States with 45 ratings

Best Mount Gay I've had straight.

Ffffff

Posted 8 years ago by RumSteve from United States with 15 ratings

Solid quality product from a historic distillery. No too harsh

My go-to for sipping. For the price I'd venture off and try others in the price range.

Ffffff

Posted 8 years ago by Remy Chevalier from United States with 34 ratings

Tried it this afternoon. I expected more syrupy from an old rum. It's a little antiseptic under the nose, and a little harsh in the throat, but there's a nice short textured finish. I wouldn't rank it up there, because I didn't experience a strong personality, but it comes in classy glass bottle nips. So if you're flying or in a hotel room, go for this one!

Ffffff

Posted 8 years ago by Trini Yank from Trinidad and Tobago with 41 ratings

Excellent sipper, nice smoky flavor with the right amount of vanilla/banana sweetness. Also very smooth. One complaint though is pricing. In the US, it is just too expensive for its quality. Caribbean retail price is fairer, but the real place to buy this is at duty free in the Caribbean. Here you can get it at $25 or thereabouts which is a steal.