Posting your rating...
Mount Gay XO Extra Old rum

Mount Gay XO Extra Old

Barbados | Aged | 40.0% ABV

Mount Gay Extra Old (often written "OX") is a blend of rums aged between 8 and 15 years in American bourbon barrels.

Mount Gay Distilleries is the oldest operating distillery in the Americas - producing rum in Barbados since 1703. It's original name was Mount Gilboa, and in 1801 renamed Mount Gay after the distillery's manager Sir John Gay Alleyne.

7.8/10
673 ratings
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
3
7
14
34
159
285
142
28

Rate Mount Gay XO Extra Old

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

673 Mount Gay XO Extra Old ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Linus from Switzerland with 13 ratings

I use this rum for my Cuba Libres and ist gives it a nice flavour.

Ffffff

Posted 7 years ago by Brendan S from Canada with 55 ratings

(Called XO here in Ontario, Canada)

Very good rum.

Warm, spicy and dry. Apart from the usual rum flavours, maybe a hint of grape but not that overly flavourful.

Well priced. I drink it neat however I don't mind mixing it for guests.

Ffffff

Posted 7 years ago by Larry Meek from United States with 7 ratings

Good any way you want it. Neat, mixed, whatever. Reminds me of butterscotch lifesavers without the intense sweet.

Ffffff

Posted 7 years ago by Sean from Canada with 10 ratings

I've bought this bottle so many times I've lost track. This is more of a consistent, accessible, versatile rum baseline for me. It's not your top shelf, but I'm yet to be disappointed by it. It's very smooth and on the sweeter side. It's a little pricey to be considered a mixer rum, but it's availability makes that guilt free.

Ffffff

Posted 7 years ago by Margus Mägi from Estonia with 78 ratings

Worth to try, it has its character and is nice with coke. Woody and kind of a sweet.

Ffffff

Posted 7 years ago by Jukka-Pekka Keskinen from Finland with 5 ratings

This is a nice rum with a bit strong punch. Works really well with a couple of drops of water. Quite dry.

Ffffff

Posted 7 years ago by Leon from Germany with 34 ratings

MG XO is sweet, smooth and subtile while being full of oaky and leathery character. One fails to notice the 43 % and remains amazed by this excellent rum.

Ffffff

Posted 7 years ago by Michael Evans from United Kingdom with 81 ratings

not an expensive rum but it's really not much better than your standard mount gay eclipse. It's smoother but you don't get that depth of flavour that other premium XO's present so not really worth the step up.

Ffffff

Posted 7 years ago by Onex from Russian Federation with 8 ratings

Real 8 yo. Not my. Imperial better. Have a good history

Ffffff

Posted 7 years ago by Torresi Alessandro from Italy with 6 ratings

Excellent smell, good taste, wonderfull price

Ffffff

Posted 7 years ago by Pronk from Denmark with 15 ratings

God rom, der overrasker