Posting your rating...
Mount Gay XO Extra Old rum

Mount Gay XO Extra Old

Barbados | Aged

Mount Gay Extra Old (often written "OX") is a blend of rums aged between 8 and 15 years in American bourbon barrels.

Mount Gay Distilleries is the oldest operating distillery in the Americas - producing rum in Barbados since 1703. It's original name was Mount Gilboa, and in 1801 renamed Mount Gay after the distillery's manager Sir John Gay Alleyne.

7.7/10
659 ratings
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
3
7
14
33
156
283
134
28

Rate Mount Gay XO Extra Old

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

659 Mount Gay XO Extra Old ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 8 years ago by Renaudco from Canada with 15 ratings

Nice rum, distinct vanilla and caramel taste. Slightly bitter if I remember well. There is always something I can't recognize that can't me love this rum.

Ffffff

Posted almost 7 years ago by Jukka-Pekka Keskinen from Finland with 5 ratings

This is a nice rum with a bit strong punch. Works really well with a couple of drops of water. Quite dry.

Ffffff

Posted almost 7 years ago by Leon from Germany with 34 ratings

MG XO is sweet, smooth and subtile while being full of oaky and leathery character. One fails to notice the 43 % and remains amazed by this excellent rum.

Ffffff

Posted almost 7 years ago by Michael Evans from United Kingdom with 81 ratings

not an expensive rum but it's really not much better than your standard mount gay eclipse. It's smoother but you don't get that depth of flavour that other premium XO's present so not really worth the step up.

Ffffff

Posted almost 7 years ago by Onex from Russian Federation with 8 ratings

Real 8 yo. Not my. Imperial better. Have a good history

Ffffff

Posted 7 years ago by Torresi Alessandro from Italy with 6 ratings

Excellent smell, good taste, wonderfull price

Ffffff

Posted 7 years ago by Pronk from Denmark with 15 ratings

God rom, der overrasker

Ffffff

Posted 7 years ago by Doug from United States with 3 ratings

For the price this is an exceptional value in that it has a wonderful full body aroma and a very smooth taste and finish.

Ffffff

Posted 7 years ago by Shane from United States with 26 ratings

A very nice rum and with the $$. I would drink this daily if I could find it all the time. Nice froth with soda and well-balanced on the rocks. Can't go wrong.

Ffffff

Posted 7 years ago by Tito Jackson from United States with 28 ratings

This rum has a wonderful smell but the taste doesn't quite match up. If like a bit less burn.

Ffffff

Posted 7 years ago by Chrisbati from Belgium with 16 ratings

A well balanced rum