Posting your rating...
Mount Gay XO Extra Old rum

Mount Gay XO Extra Old

Barbados | Aged

Mount Gay Extra Old (often written "OX") is a blend of rums aged between 8 and 15 years in American bourbon barrels.

Mount Gay Distilleries is the oldest operating distillery in the Americas - producing rum in Barbados since 1703. It's original name was Mount Gilboa, and in 1801 renamed Mount Gay after the distillery's manager Sir John Gay Alleyne.

7.8/10(644 ratings)
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
3
7
14
31
152
277
131
28

Rate Mount Gay XO Extra Old

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

644 Mount Gay XO Extra Old ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted 8 years ago by Renaudco from Canada with 15 ratings

Nice rum, distinct vanilla and caramel taste. Slightly bitter if I remember well. There is always something I can't recognize that can't me love this rum.

Ffffff

Posted almost 7 years ago by Pronk from Denmark with 15 ratings

God rom, der overrasker

Ffffff

Posted almost 7 years ago by Doug from United States with 3 ratings

For the price this is an exceptional value in that it has a wonderful full body aroma and a very smooth taste and finish.

Ffffff

Posted almost 7 years ago by Shane from United States with 26 ratings

A very nice rum and with the $$. I would drink this daily if I could find it all the time. Nice froth with soda and well-balanced on the rocks. Can't go wrong.

Ffffff

Posted almost 7 years ago by Tito Jackson from United States with 28 ratings

This rum has a wonderful smell but the taste doesn't quite match up. If like a bit less burn.

Ffffff

Posted 7 years ago by Chrisbati from Belgium with 16 ratings

A well balanced rum

Ffffff

Posted 7 years ago by Zeck from France with 61 ratings

Mouais bof, guère plus intéressant que le 1703...

Ffffff

Posted 7 years ago by Steven from Belgium with 1 rating

One of the first fine rums I have tasted, very smooth, tastes great pure. Very smooth and complex.

Ffffff

Posted 7 years ago by Baconav from United States with 14 ratings

First tried it at a Mount Gay launch party. Decent for sipping and compliments cola well(blasphemy). Smooth with pleasant aftertaste. A product of fine aging yielding a complex blend of flavor.

Ffffff

Posted over 7 years ago by Distiller Evan from United States with 30 ratings

It is hard to find a bar that carries really good sipping rums, this one of them if you can find it on the back bar. A must try.

Ffffff

Posted almost 8 years ago by JJ Geewax from United States with 36 ratings

(cheap enough to not feel bad mixing it...)