Posting your rating...
Mount Gay XO Extra Old rum

Mount Gay XO Extra Old

Barbados | Aged

Mount Gay Extra Old (often written "OX") is a blend of rums aged between 8 and 15 years in American bourbon barrels.

Mount Gay Distilleries is the oldest operating distillery in the Americas - producing rum in Barbados since 1703. It's original name was Mount Gilboa, and in 1801 renamed Mount Gay after the distillery's manager Sir John Gay Alleyne.

7.7/10
659 ratings
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
3
7
14
33
156
283
134
28

Rate Mount Gay XO Extra Old

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

659 Mount Gay XO Extra Old ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 8 years ago by Renaudco from Canada with 15 ratings

Nice rum, distinct vanilla and caramel taste. Slightly bitter if I remember well. There is always something I can't recognize that can't me love this rum.

Ffffff

Posted over 6 years ago by Stefan from United States with 12 ratings

Tastes great. Dry finish and full aroma. More a scotch than a rum.
If you ate lining for something different you found it.

Ffffff

Posted over 6 years ago by Rongo Tiki from United States with 20 ratings

Really like the taste and finish of this rum. I drink it over ice frequently.

Ffffff

Posted over 6 years ago by Andreas Woelk from Germany with 65 ratings

Für mich der Rum für alle Tage. Pur. Sanft. Bem Preis - sensationell

Ffffff

Posted over 6 years ago by Gary from Canada with 24 ratings

Oodles of flavour! This is one of my favourite rums that doesn't break the bank. Way more flavour than regular Mount Gay Eclipse.

Ffffff

Posted over 6 years ago by Chris Williamson from Canada with 81 ratings

Good but did not have that special taste to give it a better ranking. Just not that great in my opinion.

Ffffff

Posted over 6 years ago by A.Greenleaf from United States with 51 ratings

First impressions are of butterscotch and leather. Then oaky and dry. The finish is oaky and spicy.

Ffffff

Posted almost 7 years ago by Brendan S from Canada with 55 ratings

(Called XO here in Ontario, Canada)

Very good rum.

Warm, spicy and dry. Apart from the usual rum flavours, maybe a hint of grape but not that overly flavourful.

Well priced. I drink it neat however I don't mind mixing it for guests.

Ffffff

Posted almost 7 years ago by Larry Meek from United States with 7 ratings

Good any way you want it. Neat, mixed, whatever. Reminds me of butterscotch lifesavers without the intense sweet.

Ffffff

Posted almost 7 years ago by Sean from Canada with 10 ratings

I've bought this bottle so many times I've lost track. This is more of a consistent, accessible, versatile rum baseline for me. It's not your top shelf, but I'm yet to be disappointed by it. It's very smooth and on the sweeter side. It's a little pricey to be considered a mixer rum, but it's availability makes that guilt free.

Ffffff

Posted almost 7 years ago by Margus Mägi from Estonia with 78 ratings

Worth to try, it has its character and is nice with coke. Woody and kind of a sweet.