Posting your rating...
Mount Gay XO Extra Old rum

Mount Gay XO Extra Old

Barbados | Aged

Mount Gay Extra Old (often written "OX") is a blend of rums aged between 8 and 15 years in American bourbon barrels.

Mount Gay Distilleries is the oldest operating distillery in the Americas - producing rum in Barbados since 1703. It's original name was Mount Gilboa, and in 1801 renamed Mount Gay after the distillery's manager Sir John Gay Alleyne.

7.8/10(644 ratings)
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
3
7
14
31
152
277
131
28

Rate Mount Gay XO Extra Old

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

644 Mount Gay XO Extra Old ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted 8 years ago by Renaudco from Canada with 15 ratings

Nice rum, distinct vanilla and caramel taste. Slightly bitter if I remember well. There is always something I can't recognize that can't me love this rum.

Ffffff

Posted over 6 years ago by A.Greenleaf from United States with 51 ratings

First impressions are of butterscotch and leather. Then oaky and dry. The finish is oaky and spicy.

Ffffff

Posted over 6 years ago by Brendan S from Canada with 55 ratings

(Called XO here in Ontario, Canada)

Very good rum.

Warm, spicy and dry. Apart from the usual rum flavours, maybe a hint of grape but not that overly flavourful.

Well priced. I drink it neat however I don't mind mixing it for guests.

Ffffff

Posted over 6 years ago by Larry Meek from United States with 7 ratings

Good any way you want it. Neat, mixed, whatever. Reminds me of butterscotch lifesavers without the intense sweet.

Ffffff

Posted over 6 years ago by Sean from Canada with 10 ratings

I've bought this bottle so many times I've lost track. This is more of a consistent, accessible, versatile rum baseline for me. It's not your top shelf, but I'm yet to be disappointed by it. It's very smooth and on the sweeter side. It's a little pricey to be considered a mixer rum, but it's availability makes that guilt free.

Ffffff

Posted over 6 years ago by Margus Mägi from Estonia with 75 ratings

Worth to try, it has its character and is nice with coke. Woody and kind of a sweet.

Ffffff

Posted over 6 years ago by Jukka-Pekka Keskinen from Finland with 5 ratings

This is a nice rum with a bit strong punch. Works really well with a couple of drops of water. Quite dry.

Ffffff

Posted almost 7 years ago by Leon from Germany with 34 ratings

MG XO is sweet, smooth and subtile while being full of oaky and leathery character. One fails to notice the 43 % and remains amazed by this excellent rum.

Ffffff

Posted almost 7 years ago by Michael Evans from United Kingdom with 81 ratings

not an expensive rum but it's really not much better than your standard mount gay eclipse. It's smoother but you don't get that depth of flavour that other premium XO's present so not really worth the step up.

Ffffff

Posted almost 7 years ago by Onex from Russian Federation with 8 ratings

Real 8 yo. Not my. Imperial better. Have a good history

Ffffff

Posted almost 7 years ago by Torresi Alessandro from Italy with 6 ratings

Excellent smell, good taste, wonderfull price