Posting your rating...
Mount Gay XO Extra Old rum

Mount Gay XO Extra Old

Barbados | Aged

Mount Gay Extra Old (often written "OX") is a blend of rums aged between 8 and 15 years in American bourbon barrels.

Mount Gay Distilleries is the oldest operating distillery in the Americas - producing rum in Barbados since 1703. It's original name was Mount Gilboa, and in 1801 renamed Mount Gay after the distillery's manager Sir John Gay Alleyne.

7.7/10
659 ratings
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
3
7
14
33
156
283
134
28

Rate Mount Gay XO Extra Old

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

659 Mount Gay XO Extra Old ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted 4 years ago by Michael from Ireland with 8 ratings

Drink it slow... Very smooth and classy tasting... I drank it with ice and it got better and better

Ffffff

Posted 4 years ago by David-OC from United States with 4 ratings

Neat, or on ice, always enjoyable. Respect it, but mostly appreciate this rum for the complexity it provides.

Ffffff

Posted 4 years ago by Seb from Canada with 40 ratings

It's a nice rum, gets better as you let it breath, not too sweet.

Ffffff

Posted 4 years ago by michael from United States with 44 ratings

Very smooth for very little to no added sugar.

An amazing sipper with a lot of depth and oaky flavor for the value:

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by GregS from United States with 27 ratings

As the title says, this is my first sipping rum. I've only had rum in mixed drinks and decided that it's time for me to grow up and have some big boy drinks. Hehe. I decided to start with this one since it is often seen as a standard for tasting rum.
Overall I'm happy with my decision.
I smell fruit and spice. It's a little sweet smelling. I don't get the banana that others report, but that's good since I hate banana.
On my tongue, I get some spiciness, mainly pepper. I also detect some fruit, but my palate isn't refined enough yet to narrow it down.
I'll be judging all future rums against this one.

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by Figgs from United States with 5 ratings

I've seen various Mount Gay rums but always overlooked them and never tried any. The XO was very good and I realize I've been missing out. Very smooth. Love the babana.

Ffffff

Posted 15 days ago by Jobplis from Spain with 5 ratings

Very well balanced rum, pot still and column still blend without sugar or color added.
Smells wonderful similar to other aged unadulterated rums from Barbados, its a combination of bourbon whiskey and cognac barrel-aged rums. I would say the cognac is predominant love, a bit alcoholic at first but once you let it sit opens up great, the finish is smooth and long.
All in all a wonderful rum.

Ffffff

Posted 27 days ago by Heinemans from Netherlands with 18 ratings

MG has always been one of my favorites and the XO is one of the best they offer.

Ffffff

Posted 2 months ago by Pbraunsc from United States with 16 ratings

Very, very drinkable especially if you are on a budget. Started drinking this in Barbados at the Mount Gay distillery tasting party. Love it on the rocks with a drop or 2 of lime.

Ffffff

Posted 2 months ago by XeniePie from Belgium with 9 ratings

One of the oldest rums you can find, fantastic flavour, worth the money.

Small e8351995 ea1b 4008 ba5d 23353d54b5a5

Posted 2 months ago by Vincent from Australia with 23 ratings

A surprisingly good rum for the price. Pleasant on the nose with just a slight burn. Naturally sweet and neatly balanced with some ginger and white pepper notes.