Posting your rating...
Mount Gay XO Extra Old rum

Mount Gay XO Extra Old

Barbados | Aged

Mount Gay Extra Old (often written "OX") is a blend of rums aged between 8 and 15 years in American bourbon barrels.

Mount Gay Distilleries is the oldest operating distillery in the Americas - producing rum in Barbados since 1703. It's original name was Mount Gilboa, and in 1801 renamed Mount Gay after the distillery's manager Sir John Gay Alleyne.

7.7/10 (614 ratings)
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
3
6
14
29
148
265
124
24

Rate Mount Gay XO Extra Old

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


614 Mount Gay XO Extra Old ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by wArChiEf from Austria with 17 ratings

This is the real thing! For this price you get a very nice, smooth, sugareless premium crafted rum. The leaving is great and long, go for it !

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by rumfan69 from United Kingdom with 6 ratings

Ok I'm no expert but for me nose gives light sweet spiced molasses, light citrus and a hint of vanilla. It arrives medium sweet and spicy developing hot black pepper sweet citrus fruits, apple with some vanilla and a touch of tobacco. Finish is fairly long and gives more sweetness and fruit with some light leather notes as it closes. Aftertaste gives lingering tobacco and vanilla and is not drying. It's fairly priced and goes down well plus only a touch of added sugar and colour so kind of a craft presentation in the rum world. Anyway I'm enjoying it!!

Ffffff

Posted 5 years ago by Beukeboom from United States with 305 ratings

The aroma from the bottle made it seem this was going to be a sweet rum but it is drier than I expected. There is a bit of a molasses flavor initially but then the burn hits masking any sweetness. Those who prefer a drier rum will probably enjoy sipping this neat but it's definitely an excellent mixer for me.

Ffffff

Posted 5 years ago by Marc Cardinal from Belgium with 401 ratings

First Mount Gay rum, tasted this afternoon at the expo rum at Spa in Belgium.
Coffee with banana flavor, nice aftertaste. One bottle coming back home. Testing on going...

Ffffff

Posted 20 days ago by MozUK619 from United Kingdom with 7 ratings

Tastes a little similar to the Mount Gay black barrel but a lot smoother. Enjoyable sipped straight

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Gareth J from United States with 8 ratings

MG XO is smooth enough to sip yet robust enough to mix without getting lost in the mix. Although very obviously rum it's reminiscent of a Highland region single malt in terms of smoothness, dried fruit and alcoholic kick, may be its the common use of ex bourbon barrels in Highland malts as with MG XO for maturation.

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by David-OC from United States with 3 ratings

Neat, or on ice, always enjoyable. Respect it, but mostly appreciate this rum for the complexity it provides.

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by Seb from Canada with 39 ratings

It's a nice rum, gets better as you let it breath, not too sweet.

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by michael from United States with 44 ratings

Very smooth for very little to no added sugar.

An amazing sipper with a lot of depth and oaky flavor for the value:

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by GregS from United States with 27 ratings

As the title says, this is my first sipping rum. I've only had rum in mixed drinks and decided that it's time for me to grow up and have some big boy drinks. Hehe. I decided to start with this one since it is often seen as a standard for tasting rum.
Overall I'm happy with my decision.
I smell fruit and spice. It's a little sweet smelling. I don't get the banana that others report, but that's good since I hate banana.
On my tongue, I get some spiciness, mainly pepper. I also detect some fruit, but my palate isn't refined enough yet to narrow it down.
I'll be judging all future rums against this one.

Ffffff

Posted 5 years ago by Figgs from United States with 4 ratings

I've seen various Mount Gay rums but always overlooked them and never tried any. The XO was very good and I realize I've been missing out. Very smooth. Love the babana.