Posting your rating...
Mount Gay XO Extra Old rum

Mount Gay XO Extra Old

Barbados | Aged

Mount Gay Extra Old (often written "OX") is a blend of rums aged between 8 and 15 years in American bourbon barrels.

Mount Gay Distilleries is the oldest operating distillery in the Americas - producing rum in Barbados since 1703. It's original name was Mount Gilboa, and in 1801 renamed Mount Gay after the distillery's manager Sir John Gay Alleyne.

7.8/10 (596 ratings)
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
3
6
14
29
144
257
118
24

Rate Mount Gay XO Extra Old

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


596 Mount Gay XO Extra Old ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by Daniel from Czech Republic with 121 ratings

Nice Ron, I can feel the taste of bourbon. Tasted Ron in Ostrava City, On the concert of Czech capela Komunal. Ron has a good body, nice colour.taste sweet. I am happy to drink it.

Ffffff

Posted almost 5 years ago by Marc Cardinal from Belgium with 401 ratings

First Mount Gay rum, tasted this afternoon at the expo rum at Spa in Belgium.
Coffee with banana flavor, nice aftertaste. One bottle coming back home. Testing on going...

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Gareth J from United States with 8 ratings

MG XO is smooth enough to sip yet robust enough to mix without getting lost in the mix. Although very obviously rum it's reminiscent of a Highland region single malt in terms of smoothness, dried fruit and alcoholic kick, may be its the common use of ex bourbon barrels in Highland malts as with MG XO for maturation.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by David-OC from United States with 3 ratings

Neat, or on ice, always enjoyable. Respect it, but mostly appreciate this rum for the complexity it provides.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Seb from Canada with 38 ratings

It's a nice rum, gets better as you let it breath, not too sweet.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by michael from United States with 44 ratings

Very smooth for very little to no added sugar.

An amazing sipper with a lot of depth and oaky flavor for the value:

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by GregS from United States with 27 ratings

As the title says, this is my first sipping rum. I've only had rum in mixed drinks and decided that it's time for me to grow up and have some big boy drinks. Hehe. I decided to start with this one since it is often seen as a standard for tasting rum.
Overall I'm happy with my decision.
I smell fruit and spice. It's a little sweet smelling. I don't get the banana that others report, but that's good since I hate banana.
On my tongue, I get some spiciness, mainly pepper. I also detect some fruit, but my palate isn't refined enough yet to narrow it down.
I'll be judging all future rums against this one.

Ffffff

Posted almost 5 years ago by Figgs from United States with 4 ratings

I've seen various Mount Gay rums but always overlooked them and never tried any. The XO was very good and I realize I've been missing out. Very smooth. Love the babana.

Ffffff

Posted almost 6 years ago by martin jeppesen from Denmark with 239 ratings

The aroma is very nice and fruity. It has a powerfull palate, with a fair amount of oak. Though fairly spicy, it's still quite smoothe, with subtle notes of molasse and burnt banana. It has a long and warming afterburn. If you feel like a break from the sweeter rums, i find this a recommendable choice.

Ffffff

Posted about 21 hours ago by Caverns from United Kingdom with 13 ratings

This is a favourite. For someone with a fairly unsophisticated palate, this was one of the first rums where I really felt like I was drinking something superior to everything else on the shelf.
Can be mixed, but I wouldn't bother. Rum, ice, success.

Ffffff

Posted 9 days ago by Aldoholic666 from Belgium with 21 ratings

Very smooth soft taste, very nice well balanced aftertaste as well