Posting your rating...
Mount Gay XO Extra Old rum

Mount Gay XO Extra Old

Barbados | Aged

Mount Gay Extra Old (often written "OX") is a blend of rums aged between 8 and 15 years in American bourbon barrels.

Mount Gay Distilleries is the oldest operating distillery in the Americas - producing rum in Barbados since 1703. It's original name was Mount Gilboa, and in 1801 renamed Mount Gay after the distillery's manager Sir John Gay Alleyne.

7.7/10
655 ratings
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
3
7
14
33
154
283
132
28

Rate Mount Gay XO Extra Old

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

655 Mount Gay XO Extra Old ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted 4 years ago by Michael from Ireland with 8 ratings

Drink it slow... Very smooth and classy tasting... I drank it with ice and it got better and better

Ffffff

Posted 4 years ago by Bill Mitchell from Australia with 14 ratings

I think it is hard to go past this for the money. Just about everything one needs in a mid priced rum, fresh, spicy, rich and peppery very well balanced oak for the money. I have had rums for twice the price that were half the drink.

Ffffff

Posted 4 years ago by rumfan69 from United Kingdom with 6 ratings

Ok I'm no expert but for me nose gives light sweet spiced molasses, light citrus and a hint of vanilla. It arrives medium sweet and spicy developing hot black pepper sweet citrus fruits, apple with some vanilla and a touch of tobacco. Finish is fairly long and gives more sweetness and fruit with some light leather notes as it closes. Aftertaste gives lingering tobacco and vanilla and is not drying. It's fairly priced and goes down well plus only a touch of added sugar and colour so kind of a craft presentation in the rum world. Anyway I'm enjoying it!!

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by Beukeboom from United States with 305 ratings

The aroma from the bottle made it seem this was going to be a sweet rum but it is drier than I expected. There is a bit of a molasses flavor initially but then the burn hits masking any sweetness. Those who prefer a drier rum will probably enjoy sipping this neat but it's definitely an excellent mixer for me.

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by Marc Cardinal from Belgium with 401 ratings

First Mount Gay rum, tasted this afternoon at the expo rum at Spa in Belgium.
Coffee with banana flavor, nice aftertaste. One bottle coming back home. Testing on going...

Ffffff

Posted over 6 years ago by martin jeppesen from Denmark with 247 ratings

The aroma is very nice and fruity. It has a powerfull palate, with a fair amount of oak. Though fairly spicy, it's still quite smoothe, with subtle notes of molasse and burnt banana. It has a long and warming afterburn. If you feel like a break from the sweeter rums, i find this a recommendable choice.

Ffffff

Posted 3 months ago by gracey1982 from Canada with 3 ratings

...when I lived and worked in Barbados for a summer when I was 19. Smooth and goes with anything.

Small 49897d37 4ace 499e a67a 91d354ebedeb

Posted 3 months ago by Trotinete from Romania with 43 ratings

Im Geruch fein nach Rosinen, Pflaumen und Gewürze,
Schöne Bernsteinfarben,
Im Geschmack sehr ausgewogen, getrocknete Früchte, Gewürze, ein ganz wenig Süße gut eingebunden und trotz 43% Alkohol nicht zu scharf.

Fazit: ein sehr guter Rum mit sehr gutem Preis/Leistungsverhältnis.
Einer meiner Favoriten in meiner Sammlung.

Ffffff

Posted 4 months ago by maikel777 from Belgium with 1 rating

I am not a professional, but this rum is anything that I ve tried. Amazing vanilla taste, smooth, this is very good

Ffffff

Posted 5 months ago by MozUK619 from United Kingdom with 8 ratings

Tastes a little similar to the Mount Gay black barrel but a lot smoother. Enjoyable sipped straight

Ffffff

Posted 4 years ago by Gareth J from United States with 8 ratings

MG XO is smooth enough to sip yet robust enough to mix without getting lost in the mix. Although very obviously rum it's reminiscent of a Highland region single malt in terms of smoothness, dried fruit and alcoholic kick, may be its the common use of ex bourbon barrels in Highland malts as with MG XO for maturation.