Posting your rating...
Mount Gay XO Extra Old rum

Mount Gay XO Extra Old

Barbados | Aged

Mount Gay Extra Old (often written "OX") is a blend of rums aged between 8 and 15 years in American bourbon barrels.

Mount Gay Distilleries is the oldest operating distillery in the Americas - producing rum in Barbados since 1703. It's original name was Mount Gilboa, and in 1801 renamed Mount Gay after the distillery's manager Sir John Gay Alleyne.

7.8/10 (580 ratings)
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
3
6
14
28
144
252
109
23

Rate Mount Gay XO Extra Old

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


580 Mount Gay XO Extra Old ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

2bfef3a735e3f8745190264042d49e69.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 6 years ago by Chrisbati from Belgium with 16 ratings

A well balanced rum

0f6fb47542b6b5f2953fe642e576356a.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 5 years ago by Marc Cardinal from Belgium with 401 ratings

First Mount Gay rum, tasted this afternoon at the expo rum at Spa in Belgium.
Coffee with banana flavor, nice aftertaste. One bottle coming back home. Testing on going...

3ce07723e3972d92e188717cb5b859ad.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 3 years ago by Gareth J from United States with 8 ratings

MG XO is smooth enough to sip yet robust enough to mix without getting lost in the mix. Although very obviously rum it's reminiscent of a Highland region single malt in terms of smoothness, dried fruit and alcoholic kick, may be its the common use of ex bourbon barrels in Highland malts as with MG XO for maturation.

1bca2f3b2f367499e59381d44d951783.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 3 years ago by David-OC from United States with 3 ratings

Neat, or on ice, always enjoyable. Respect it, but mostly appreciate this rum for the complexity it provides.

B86a7867b7bdb9e734926ce89a884dbc.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 3 years ago by Seb from Canada with 38 ratings

It's a nice rum, gets better as you let it breath, not too sweet.

D74459f13a505573ed7ab116052bf231.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 3 years ago by michael from United States with 44 ratings

Very smooth for very little to no added sugar.

An amazing sipper with a lot of depth and oaky flavor for the value:

Ee852f864dbcab730d5319dbf4b29582.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 3 years ago by GregS from United States with 26 ratings

As the title says, this is my first sipping rum. I've only had rum in mixed drinks and decided that it's time for me to grow up and have some big boy drinks. Hehe. I decided to start with this one since it is often seen as a standard for tasting rum.
Overall I'm happy with my decision.
I smell fruit and spice. It's a little sweet smelling. I don't get the banana that others report, but that's good since I hate banana.
On my tongue, I get some spiciness, mainly pepper. I also detect some fruit, but my palate isn't refined enough yet to narrow it down.
I'll be judging all future rums against this one.

Ac32ada6fd384ebc06d3bfea147937c9.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 5 years ago by Figgs from United States with 4 ratings

I've seen various Mount Gay rums but always overlooked them and never tried any. The XO was very good and I realize I've been missing out. Very smooth. Love the babana.

0a8cdb4ba2ce47c92a38474130a26026.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 6 years ago by martin jeppesen from Denmark with 233 ratings

The aroma is very nice and fruity. It has a powerfull palate, with a fair amount of oak. Though fairly spicy, it's still quite smoothe, with subtle notes of molasse and burnt banana. It has a long and warming afterburn. If you feel like a break from the sweeter rums, i find this a recommendable choice.

07cd014d917dd09a8565d0abb027e4b6.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 8 days ago by Mr. Rumantic from Germany with 21 ratings

Mount Gay ist einer der ältesten noch aktiven Rum Destilliern der Welt. Auf Barbados wird der Blend aus Melasse 8-15 Jahre gelagert und ohne Zusatzstoffe abgefüllt. Der Alkohol Gehalt ist 43%. Der Mount Gay XO Reserve Cask kostet zwischen 35 und 40 Euro und das ist einfach krass. Mehr Rum bekommt man nicht für das Geld.

In der Nase ist der Rum harmonisch. Ich rieche vor allem Eiche und Vanille. Alles sehr angenehm. Typisch Barbados. Im Mund kommt anfangs die natürliche vanillige Süße von Fass. Der Alkohol ist merkbar aber insgesamt mild und gut eingebunden. Holznoten und Karamel begleiten den Abgang der angenehm lang anhält. Der Rum ist mild und drängt sich nicht auf.

Für mich muss man den Mount Gay getrunken haben. Er zeigt das trockene Rums unter 40 Euro mithalten und funktionieren. Der Rum ist mild und Facettenreich. Die Flasche sieht edel aus und das Design ist ansprechend und wertig. Z.B. Verschluss aus echtem Holz und Korken. Rein vom Geschmack würde ich dem Rum eine 8 geben. Das ich ihn zur Zeit für 37Euro kaufen könnte gibt ein Scorerpunkt extra. In dem Preisbereich gibt es keine Konkurrenz. Und für mich der eigentlich richtige Einsteiger Rum.

Mount Gay is one of the oldest active distillers in the world. In Barbados, the blend is stored from molasses for 8-15 years and bottled without additives. The alcohol content is 43%. The Mount Gay XO Reserve Cask costs between 35 and 40 euros and that's just crazy. You don't get more rum for the money.

In the nose, the rum is harmonious. I mainly smell oak and vanilla. All very pleasant. Typical Barbados. In the mouth comes the natural vanillige sweetness of barrel. The alcohol is noticeable but overall mild and well integrated. Wooden notes and caramel accompany the finish, which lasts pleasantly long. The rum is mild and does not impose itself.

For me, you must have drunk Mount Gay. It shows the dry rum are working fine under 40 euros. The rum is mild and multifaceted. The bottle looks classy and the design is appealing and valuable. The closure is made of real wood and cork. Purely from the taste I would give the rum an 8. That I could buy him at the moment for 37Euro gives a scorer point extra. There is no competition in the price range. And for me it is the best beginner rum.

D190dedee92ecb775621f85558c88b52.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 19 days ago by Foggyrumrunner from Canada with 25 ratings

Lovely, perfumed nose of refined wood, with integrated vanilla, honey and dark fruits, like raisins. On the palate, immediately I get something unexpected - like kirsch, stone fruits, and/or black currant. Really nice! The palate is quite smooth, dry and in great balance between wood and fruit. The finish has just a touch of black pepper bite. I think at this point in time, I like this XO more than Appleton 12. It’s a serious sipper for a reasonable price. Highly recommended!