Posting your rating...
Mount Gay XO Extra Old rum

Mount Gay Extra Old (often written "OX") is a blend of rums aged between 8 and 15 years in American bourbon barrels.

Mount Gay Distilleries is the oldest operating distillery in the Americas - producing rum in Barbados since 1703. It's original name was Mount Gilboa, and in 1801 renamed Mount Gay after the distillery's manager Sir John Gay Alleyne.

Rate Mount Gay XO Extra Old

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


559 Mount Gay XO Extra Old ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted about 4 years ago by JackOrion from United States with 61 ratings

The barrel aging comes through strong and its pretty darn dry so if you have a sugar tooth your not going to like this. This is a straight up neat in a tumbler whisky and rye drinkers rum. I like that it's bottled at 43% the extra heat makes for a warming session. This is perfect cool weather rum for occasions such as an evening spent on the beach.
I'm doing a side by side with the Brugal 1888 which has a higher grassy cane tone and maybe for that a justified 40% hence smoother quality but still I just think all rum should be bottled above 80 proof.
Both are top notch and side by side it's like Simon and Garfunkel but your not sure which one is Simon.
If you are exploring the world of Rum such as I and are coming from a single malt or bourbon background than this is a 100% sure bet must try at least once. It may not be your favorite but there is no way your going to be disappointed. For me I have placed a rather large 'YES' stamp on my file card.
I now know this is the goods.

Posted about 4 years ago by Pat Bou from Canada with 92 ratings

J'ai mis une note de 7.5, mais c'est à cause que je le prend avec du cola au du perrier. Bon rhum qui a un gout de bois du baril.

Posted almost 5 years ago by Andrew from Canada with 77 ratings

I have seen some negative ratings for this rum in a few places; I have to say, I was surprised.
This is some tasty stuff!!
If it wasn't for the finish which is really dry and slightly bitter and tends to linger longer then i would prefer; this would be an 8 or 9.

Posted almost 5 years ago by nomad from United States with 125 ratings

This is what rum should taste like! A quite affordable sipper that's not sweet, yet retains a fruity quality. The rum against which all rum should be measured!

edited to add sugar test results- 0g

Posted almost 5 years ago by Earl Elliott from Canada with 190 ratings

Sugar: 2 gpl. This is a very smooth but dry rum. It's meant for sipping and not mixing, but you could mix it as it doesn't have any added sweetness. Nice taste of oak, caramel, butterscotch, and some aroma of leather or tobacco and of course the oak. I give this one an 8 and it's comparable with a high end Appleton. Some comparison to Flor de Cana as well. Can't wait to try the 1703.

Posted almost 5 years ago by Jörn Rohleder from Finland with 23 ratings

Picked it up on an airport deal. Was very disappointed. Not even good enough for a evening sipping rum. Used it as a mixer. Too bad, nice bottle, nice color.

Posted over 5 years ago by Tutor from France with 19 ratings

nez doux, caramel
Rhum équilibré avec des notes de fruits murs, banane séchée

Posted over 7 years ago by Scott T from United States with 120 ratings

The epitome of Barbados rums, generally viewed as one of the best in the world. Complex, rich, spicy, NO added sugar - everything a great aged rum should be.

Posted over 7 years ago by Andy from United Kingdom with 136 ratings

I surprisingly didn't enjoy my first tasting of Mount Gay Extra Old Rum. It came through very spicy with a long and tart finish. There wasn't the smoothness I typically associate with aged rums, but moreso a bite typical to gold rums. For now I'm sticking with 4/10 until further review.

Posted about 12 hours ago by Jimmy Cliff from United States with 26 ratings

First time was a shock, not sweet subtle rum, this is full dodged manly cowboy rum. Takes a bit getting used to compared to Appleton or regular Mt Gay. I appreciate the depth and full bodied experience. Not for everyone but works for me.

Posted 6 days ago by Slee from United States with 4 ratings

Nose of vanilla, Carmel. Oak Very smooth. Oak. Slightly sweet, bought 2 ounces at restaurant. Will defiantly buy a bottle

Posted 17 days ago by Cjbspender from Germany with 32 ratings

Love this rum! Perfect balance, good price, straight or mixed, the perfect drink!

Posted 20 days ago by Immiketoo from Greece with 6 ratings

This rum is the perfect combination of flavors and punch or burn. Smooth going down but let’s you know it was there. Great aftertaste and worthy of any collection.

Posted 20 days ago by Lubber from United States with 9 ratings

Goes down very easy, oak up front with a sweet finish. According to the packaging it’s aged 7-15 years, which seems about perfect. Any more and I think the oak would start to take over.

Posted 21 days ago by Hotvw1 from Canada with 37 ratings

It’s good and has some oak flavour needs a few more years to mature or less blending.

Posted 22 days ago by Frazwardo from United Kingdom with 4 ratings

Lovely and smooth. Very good with a large ice cube

Posted 28 days ago by Glen from United States with 50 ratings

Not great to drink straight but a good mixer - makes a nice dark and stormy

Posted 29 days ago by Harrie from Netherlands with 36 ratings

My 3rd Barbados rum and sipping it side by side with Doorly's 8yo. Mount Gay XO is older and that makes it a little less fruity and more spicey. A bit of toffee and a lot of wood both in the nose as on the palate with warm peppery notes in the middle. So smooth you would almost suspect they used sugar, but the dry finish tells you they didn't, and very well balanced. More a cold weather rum than for in the summersun (I like them lighter/crispier in the summer).

I understood this is going out of production, which is a shame (unless replaced by something better in the same price range). Excellent price/quality ratio.

Posted about 1 month ago by SeanOz from Australia with 1 rating

When I initially tried this rum I was very dissapointed. It had a real punch to it, but I found the evolution short and lacking. Then I had the second glass, then the third. Each time, I got to appreciate that hearty punch (not a burn mind you), and the evolution became more noticable (woody, smokey and almost savoury). Now I cant put the stuff down! Great for sipping, real hearty. Better than rums I've tried at twice this price point! Now my go-to.

Posted about 1 month ago by Rare Animal from Germany with 11 ratings

This rum comes without any additives, just pure Barbados feeling. It is rich of aromas such as toffee, oak, molasses, honey and hints of warm spices. The longer it stays in the glas, the more dry fruits come to the nose and palate. To me this is the perfect every day sipper, given the unbeatable price-performance ratio.

Posted about 1 month ago by juice062190 from United States with 5 ratings

I had the chance to try this on vacation in Barbados and really enjoyed it. On the nose there is a lot of oak, molasses and spices. On the palate there are small hints of fruit and vanilla. This rum has no added sugar so you might think it is reminiscent of either a cognac or whiskey on the finish. Overall it's not a bad rum. It is not too bad in a rum and coke either. If you like it sweet, this is not for you, but if you like that strong oak finish, I say go for it.

Posted about 1 month ago by MartinPrum from Czech Republic with 16 ratings

I like it, well balanced, fruity, smooth and dry. Nice present for your friends, but I will try another next time.

Posted about 1 month ago by collinmaillard007 from Belgium with 31 ratings

All in all very balanced but lacks a special twist.

Posted about 1 month ago by Zaplik from Czech Republic with 11 ratings

First time I had this one wasn’t the best I’ve ever had but after few months I tried it once more and it got me down. Taste is so full and good. What I love the most is the colour.