Posting your rating...
Mount Gay XO Extra Old rum

Mount Gay XO Extra Old

Barbados | Aged

Mount Gay Extra Old (often written "OX") is a blend of rums aged between 8 and 15 years in American bourbon barrels.

Mount Gay Distilleries is the oldest operating distillery in the Americas - producing rum in Barbados since 1703. It's original name was Mount Gilboa, and in 1801 renamed Mount Gay after the distillery's manager Sir John Gay Alleyne.

7.8/10 (594 ratings)
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
3
6
14
29
144
255
118
24

Rate Mount Gay XO Extra Old

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


594 Mount Gay XO Extra Old ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by Daniel from Czech Republic with 119 ratings

Nice Ron, I can feel the taste of bourbon. Tasted Ron in Ostrava City, On the concert of Czech capela Komunal. Ron has a good body, nice colour.taste sweet. I am happy to drink it.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Anthony Soleau from United States with 24 ratings

I personally don't think this is an upper level rum expression, but it's on the border. I feel like this would be something you give a person to help them ease into the world of aged rum. There are other, better rums for approx. The same price.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Morthrag from Switzerland with 92 ratings

Spitzen Rum zum absolut fairen Preis.
Feine natürliche Süße und etwas Fruchtigkeit. Toller Barbados Rum.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by AC from United States with 26 ratings

I found it rough to drink, but ok just nothing special about it.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Bamboleo from Germany with 15 ratings

a nice sipping rum. good in a rum old fashioned also.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Tim from Canada with 59 ratings

Dry and oaky, with a long finish and some kick - rock solid sipper

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Shane Conner from Canada with 11 ratings

Had it for the first time last weekend. It is awesome. Very smooth and not overly sweet

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Isle1980 from Canada with 31 ratings

Smooth rum with a little warmth after taste. a good rum

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Bajan246_king504 from United States with 1 rating

Awesome!!! One of the best Rums in the world.🇧🇧🇧🇧🇧🇧

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Boslin from Sweden with 5 ratings

This is an OK rum, not bad nor great. I prefer sweet rums and Mount Gay XO is probably more appreciated by those of you that wants a little more dry type.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Jab from Czech Republic with 41 ratings

For its price MGXO is just a steal. Great robust resin like taste, sense of wood, wood soil, wood berries, wood honey, caramel. No strong alcohol odour or alcohol aftertaste. Always have at least one bottle in your collection.