Posting your rating...
Mount Gay XO Extra Old rum

Mount Gay XO Extra Old

Barbados | Aged

Mount Gay Extra Old (often written "OX") is a blend of rums aged between 8 and 15 years in American bourbon barrels.

Mount Gay Distilleries is the oldest operating distillery in the Americas - producing rum in Barbados since 1703. It's original name was Mount Gilboa, and in 1801 renamed Mount Gay after the distillery's manager Sir John Gay Alleyne.

7.8/10 (582 ratings)
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
3
6
14
29
143
253
110
23

Rate Mount Gay XO Extra Old

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


582 Mount Gay XO Extra Old ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

2bfef3a735e3f8745190264042d49e69.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 6 years ago by Chrisbati from Belgium with 16 ratings

A well balanced rum

30dc3fb29a374176872c1dd73b821f0b.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 1 year ago by cocacola99 from Canada with 19 ratings

Got a. Outlet of this for XMAS .....never tried it before ...as I am an Appleton fan ...well, shut the front door ..this is REMARKABLE rum ...slowly as it enters your mouth to the finish ..there is an euphoria of warmth from this rum ...goes GREAT in front of the fire on the rocks !!

C196e103f3bc025c0e05dc14d41afeda.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 1 year ago by rm64 from Switzerland with 12 ratings

Dieser Rum ist sehr ausgeglichen. Wunderbare dezente Süsse mit einer Fülle an Aromen

4843fef297fb44ffc1508ceb860c5b9b.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 1 year ago by MartinK from Slovakia with 45 ratings

Vona prijemna, nasladla, menej vyrazna. Co sa tyka chuti, cakal som suchsi rum. Na moje prekvapenie, ale az tak suchy nebol. Prijemne sladkavy, je citit drevitost. V celku podareny kusok od najstarsieho svetoveho producenta rumu.

Febc690377bdff2d008717815ae93350.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 1 year ago by Ole Christian Rønning from Norway with 9 ratings

This rum have been stored in bourbon barrels, and it makes it special. I usually prefere more sugar in my rum, but this one have learned me to enjoy less sugar. Higly recommended rum, and it may be a step further in my rum experience.

75429fb1abedfafd8acdce017a35c418.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 1 year ago by Akis from Greece with 32 ratings

It is similar but stronger to zacapa 23.
Intense. Small finish. Oak. It is not sweet. Nuts

61ebff37ebe9bb88ecd29c47707fe114.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 1 year ago by WedgeWood from Canada with 4 ratings

A fine sipping rum. If you prefer mixing with coke, try the Silver or Eclipse instead.

Bb514b25f226d4d51c39991f10de25dd.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 1 year ago by Brian from Canada with 3 ratings

What is there to say. A very good rum that has lots of flavour.

496aafe271ed3d9416ed833deee1b9bd.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 1 year ago by RH91 from Norway with 6 ratings

This is a fine everyday rum.
A little to sharp at first sip.

F46e0b91bc65e496fc2b39507e8098bf.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 1 year ago by Nils from Switzerland with 13 ratings

It's good and balanced, maybe too much: I quickly forget it.

Ace2c206005e85d7d4685d2e4651ac98.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 1 year ago by mrakoplas from Slovakia with 35 ratings

Tak toto je rum, zatiaľ najlepšie čo som pil, málo cukru, až vôbec, nie je to žiadny likér.