Posting your rating...
Mount Gay XO Extra Old rum

Mount Gay XO Extra Old

Barbados | Aged

Mount Gay Extra Old (often written "OX") is a blend of rums aged between 8 and 15 years in American bourbon barrels.

Mount Gay Distilleries is the oldest operating distillery in the Americas - producing rum in Barbados since 1703. It's original name was Mount Gilboa, and in 1801 renamed Mount Gay after the distillery's manager Sir John Gay Alleyne.

7.7/10 (616 ratings)
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
3
6
14
29
148
265
126
24

Rate Mount Gay XO Extra Old

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


616 Mount Gay XO Extra Old ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by wArChiEf from Austria with 17 ratings

This is the real thing! For this price you get a very nice, smooth, sugareless premium crafted rum. The leaving is great and long, go for it !

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Mrcaress from Canada with 12 ratings

A spicy caramel start with easy finish. Nothing offensive about this one. Good rum to share with friends or a coworker you don’t fully trust yet

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Ztrain11$$ from Canada with 8 ratings

An excellent rum. Tastes of caramel with a bit of spice. Smooth finish. Highly recommend

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Nisan Jaffee from Israel with 14 ratings

I developed a love for Rum when I lived for 10 years in the US Virgin Islands. But Rum is generally ignored by most of my friends, except as a mixer in drinks with little umbrellas in them. Well, I have opened a few eyes with Mt. Gay XO. The subtle flavor from the bourbon barrels makes this Rum unique. Smooth, dry, with a sweet nose. By the way, I paid 170 NIS, which beats the Partner Price of 176.50 NIS.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Harry from South Africa with 40 ratings

Stunning bottle preserving a stunning rum worth sharing with good friends over a glowing fire!

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Adrian Adame (PREMIUM) from Czech Republic with 302 ratings

Zrání v sudech po whisky, bourbon a cognac je znát, nedoslazovaný
- vůně vanilka, dřevo, jemné koření
- chuť jemná lehké dřevo, karamel, ke konci se ozve hořká čokoláda
Závěr delší, kopíruje chuť

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Daan from Netherlands with 56 ratings

Nice colour. Nice nose Nice taste. This is how a rum should be

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by MiKli from Czech Republic with 74 ratings

Very nice Barbadian from bourbon casks, lovely colour and superb selection of blend, tones of smoke, Vanilla. Smooth aftertaste, long warming.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Ednolb from Belgium with 7 ratings

Gold/brown color with a sweet brownsugarlike taste. Alcoholburn at first but soon after the sweetness takes over. A bit of pinneapple in there.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Jason Berman from United States with 46 ratings

I’ve found that many rums once they get to this price point let me down. Most are syrupy sweet crap. Mount Gay XO is worth the money. It’s taste so finished and refined. It’s a bottle that I keep going back to.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Swervin_Kervin from United States with 45 ratings

This is a very good rum. I have a problem where I use most rums under $100 as a mixer. Just a dash of mix but it id because of the burn. For a similar proce you can grab the Zafra 21 which in my opinion is the best value for rum out there.