Posting your rating...
Mount Gay XO Extra Old rum

Mount Gay XO Extra Old

Barbados | Aged

Mount Gay Extra Old (often written "OX") is a blend of rums aged between 8 and 15 years in American bourbon barrels.

Mount Gay Distilleries is the oldest operating distillery in the Americas - producing rum in Barbados since 1703. It's original name was Mount Gilboa, and in 1801 renamed Mount Gay after the distillery's manager Sir John Gay Alleyne.

7.7/10 (612 ratings)
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
3
6
14
29
147
265
123
24

Rate Mount Gay XO Extra Old

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


612 Mount Gay XO Extra Old ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by Bob from United States with 72 ratings

MGXO has a super nice balance of dry, smokey, sweet, and oaky barrel flavor. There are hints of marshmallow vanilla along with chocolate, leather, and oak. Some subtle dried cherries and molasses flavor as well. I'm a bourbon fan which may be why I like this so much. There is a noticeable complexity of flavors it has besides just sweetness. There is a wonderful dry element to this one and I prefer it on the rocks at 43% alcohol. Extremely happy with this and will definitely be buying again. Update: coming back to this was difficult at first, I have tried so many "premium" sugary rums since and I couldn't appreciate it the way I used to. Over a few sessions of sipping at first it was just too hot and I could only taste the alcohol, then I added a little bit of water and time to the equation. After breathing and a dab of water I was able to recollect my initial love for this rum with its natural dry fruit/molasses sweetness and smooth finish. It's notably smoother on the finish than Doorly's 12 year and I can say that for sure now.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Adrian Adame (PREMIUM) from Czech Republic with 299 ratings

Žádný moučník, ostrý, ale pitelný rum, předčil očekávání

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Daan from Netherlands with 56 ratings

Nice colour. Nice nose Nice taste. This is how a rum should be

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by MiKli from Czech Republic with 74 ratings

Very nice Barbadian from bourbon casks, lovely colour and superb selection of blend, tones of smoke, Vanilla. Smooth aftertaste, long warming.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Ednolb from Belgium with 7 ratings

Gold/brown color with a sweet brownsugarlike taste. Alcoholburn at first but soon after the sweetness takes over. A bit of pinneapple in there.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Jason Berman from United States with 46 ratings

I’ve found that many rums once they get to this price point let me down. Most are syrupy sweet crap. Mount Gay XO is worth the money. It’s taste so finished and refined. It’s a bottle that I keep going back to.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Swervin_Kervin from United States with 45 ratings

This is a very good rum. I have a problem where I use most rums under $100 as a mixer. Just a dash of mix but it id because of the burn. For a similar proce you can grab the Zafra 21 which in my opinion is the best value for rum out there.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by jfmurcia from Colombia with 60 ratings

I like their “no sugar added” policy and how they have been able to stand out in the rum business. For rum lovers that are more inclined into a well balanced dry rum, this is for you. You won’t be disappointed, enjoy!

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by cemanuel114 from Canada with 2 ratings

Trop fort, corsé et puissant en alcool. Je me le réserve pour faire des mixtes puissant!

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by panki from Czech Republic with 12 ratings

Balení není nijak zábavné, spíše nenápadné. Ale v jednoduchosti je síla.
Pokud nemáte zrovna chuť na něco sladkého, je toto super volba.
Perfektní vůně: dřevo, rozinky, trochu vanilky a ovoce.
Chuťově není co vytknout. Žádná zbytečná dochucovadla, prostě klasika, takový "praotec Rum". Truchu připomíná whisky.
Po nalití je ho třeba nechat chvilku vydechnout.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Haden from United Kingdom with 10 ratings

Dry. Bone dry, with little or no added sugar. Light in body - bourbon-like. By the end of the bottle I was sold.