Posting your rating...
Mount Gay XO Extra Old rum

Mount Gay Extra Old (often written "OX") is a blend of rums aged between 8 and 15 years in American bourbon barrels.

Mount Gay Distilleries is the oldest operating distillery in the Americas - producing rum in Barbados since 1703. It's original name was Mount Gilboa, and in 1801 renamed Mount Gay after the distillery's manager Sir John Gay Alleyne.

Rate Mount Gay XO Extra Old

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


558 Mount Gay XO Extra Old ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted over 4 years ago by Beukeboom from United States with 305 ratings

The aroma from the bottle made it seem this was going to be a sweet rum but it is drier than I expected. There is a bit of a molasses flavor initially but then the burn hits masking any sweetness. Those who prefer a drier rum will probably enjoy sipping this neat but it's definitely an excellent mixer for me.

Posted over 4 years ago by Folharth from Canada with 70 ratings

Good stuff.... Nice amber color. Vanilla, molasses, orange. Smooth.

Posted over 4 years ago by RumDeDum from United States with 8 ratings

I almost rated this an 8 based on a sipping comparison with Flor de Cana 12 year. I liked it a bit more than the comparator, but they were close. The Mount Gay XO is less sweet (which I like) and more complex, with a long spicy finish and a great vanilla taste that pretty much lasts from beginning to end. The 43% alcohol content gives it a slightly sharper taste, in my view, which I think is a plus. I decided to rate it a 9 after I tried it with cola... AMAZING!!! Simply the best rum for cola that I've found so far. That long vanilla, spicy finish and less sweetness makes this a great rum to have on hand... either for sipping or mixing.

On the technical side, I wish rum makers would clearly age their products like Scotch whisky. On the box, this XO claims to be a blend of rums from seven to fifteen years maturity, but who knows how much of which? Maybe it doesn't matter as the proof is in the taste, but there's a bit of false advertising here, which annoys me.

Anyway, enjoy this nice Mount Gay rum... one of their best, I think.

Posted over 4 years ago by Mr.B from United Kingdom with 70 ratings

It is setting the standard for a Bajan pot still rum for me.

Posted over 4 years ago by Bryan Gehrett from United States with 28 ratings

I think this would be a good addition to a home bar for quality mixers or just a standard sipper. I can't recommend it for special occasions as one you blow the dust off of but cannot deny its quality.

Posted over 4 years ago by Wim from Belgium with 9 ratings

Heel lekkere, zachte rum. Zeker een aanrader. Ideaal bij de koffie na het eten.

Posted over 4 years ago by Orion from United States with 19 ratings

This rum has an amber color. The nose reminds me of vanilla and bananas. Short legs on the glass. Woodsy flavor with a medium finish and mild afterburn. This was a Christmas present and I am glad I got it. Very god sipping rum.

Posted over 4 years ago by Dany from Canada with 15 ratings

Smokey with cinamon, i received it as a gift thinking nothing of it. But it soon made my sipping rum list.

Posted over 4 years ago by Pascal from Canada with 181 ratings

Excellente qualité, ça commence avec un gout de caramel et se poursuit longtemps par un mélange de saveur complexe chêne,vanille et noix. J'envisage déjà acheter ma 4 ieme bouteille.

Posted over 4 years ago by Pandur from Austria with 73 ratings

Ich hatte vergangenes Jahr zum Abschluss eines phantastischen 5-Gang Menues einen Rum von Mount Gay - damals ein absoluter Gaumenschmaus. Am nächsten Tag ab ins Internet und umgehend den XO bestellt. Rum kam ein paar Tage spätet an nd ich hab mir mit grosser Vorfreude ein Gläschen eingegossen - und war zu tiefst enttäuscht. Der Rum ist weiss Gott nicht schlecht, aber die Offenbarung blieb leider aus. Für meinen Geschmack ein wenig zu alkoholisch im Geschmack und etwas zu wenig Süsse. Muss wohl noch die Brüder vom XO testen.

Posted over 4 years ago by Howard Ribertson from Canada with 12 ratings

This is my first time trying Mount Gay. This is a nice rum for sipping.

Posted over 4 years ago by Colvin from United States with 3 ratings

Perfect sipping rum to keep in the cabinet. This is my standard go to bottle. Excellent.

Posted over 4 years ago by cK from Canada with 60 ratings

Very versatile - is excellent on its own or with cola. A fantastic sipper that isn't too sweet. I find it of similar quality to Ron Zacapa 23 at almost half the price.

Posted over 4 years ago by Falcon91Wolvrn03 (PREMIUM) from United States with 424 ratings

I tried this side by side with the much more expensive Mount Gay 1703. I really struggled to pick a winner.

The 1703 was probably a little smoother and easier drinking, but I think it is borderline overaged. The XO had more a little more sweetness to it, and a tad more spiciness, and also slightly less bourbon flavor, making it just a bit better imho.

Notes of caramel, spice, bourbon, oak, and vanilla make this is a good rum. I would personally prefer a little more sweetness, but again to me, this just beats the 1703.

Posted over 4 years ago by Carl Saxmark from Sweden with 115 ratings

This one is the best mt gay i have tasted.. But it have some oak finish that allmost runs it over to the caronis disqgusting taste.. But it just balances out before.. So it´s clearly drinkable..

Posted over 4 years ago by Dan from Canada with 17 ratings

A bit less sweet than a Zacapa Solera 23 or an El Dorado 15, for example, but still has notes of burnt caramel, and an earthy, balanced flavors. I prefer more sweetness, but if you like drier rums, this would be good choice.

Posted over 4 years ago by Sam W from United States with 6 ratings

Mount gay was One of the first runs I tried long ago. I wanted to try the XO for some time so pulled the trigger and bought it.
Initially I was disappointed considering the $. I was expecting a sipper worthy deluge of mind blowing favors but what I got in reality was a lot of burn. But alas the investment was already paid. So after a little playing I think I found the perfect way to enjoy as an evening sipper. Pouring ahead of time and allowing the flavor so to warm with room.
The color in the glass is very pretty, a sparkling golden Amber tempts you.
The smell of caramalised sugar, butterscotch and vanilla greets your nose.
The taste warms your tongue immediately. A slight burn follows but is not of putting, followed in turn with sugar and velvety vanilla dancing on your tongue.

Posted over 4 years ago by Hornet from Germany with 18 ratings

I prefer it mixed rather than poor. Then again, it is quite expensive for that.

Posted over 4 years ago by Martino from Belgium with 61 ratings

Tres long et rond en bouche. Meilleur que le 1703. Assez fruité mais reste très equilibré.
Son caractère riche de chêne est équilibré à la perfection avec des notes de banane mûre et de pain grillé, suivis par la vanille, de la pâtisserie et épices chaudes.

Posted over 4 years ago by Patarum from France with 37 ratings

The nose is very dry, not very expressive. Taste is OK but without glitter (a bit of a shame for the price...). Not my favorite rum style anyway.

Posted over 4 years ago by HammerHead from Netherlands with 22 ratings

Had it in a bar in Southampton. Nice rum, very fruity in the nose, though not overly complex. Quite a dry finish.

Posted over 4 years ago by Erock from United States with 11 ratings

Nice bottle including official markings on bottle neck label. Can't totally say what I think yet. Stay tuned...

Posted over 4 years ago by IGT from United Kingdom with 20 ratings

It took me a few years to truly appreciate this rum. It really does measure up incredibly well, and it’s a great rum to give to whisky drinkers who can really appreciate it. I used to drink it with an ice cube but now tend to go for just a drop of water.

Posted over 4 years ago by Atom from France with 15 ratings

Toujours agréable grace ses notes fruités et sa persistance en bouche !

Posted over 4 years ago by Toast from United States with 39 ratings

Finished out the evening in Toronto with this gem. Good flavor but nothing that would led me to seek it out again.